什么是逗号分隔值(CSV)?

逗号分隔值(CSV)文件是什么意思?

CSV文件是包含一些数据的文本文件。 在通常情况下,CSV文件用于将数据从一个应用程序传输到另一个应用程序。 作为解释,CSV文件以纯文本形式存储数字和数据。 您可能知道,纯文本压缩信息并允许文本格式化。

通常,所有字段都以逗号分隔,而所有记录由精细的字符串分隔。 在Excel工作表中,所有带逗号的字段都嵌入在双引号内,通常称为文本限定符,即一个单独的绿色,蓝色和黄色单元格将被捕获为“绿色,蓝色和黄色”。

这听起来很简单。 毕竟,您不需要精通技术就能理解CSV文件的工作原理。 通常,使用具有CSV文件扩展名的文件,其中有一大块数据要发送到另一个应用程序。 另一方面,文件扩展名帮助操作系统识别哪个程序,特别是文件链接到哪个程序。

这是一个例子:

例如,我传输一个名为'的文件minutes.doc”, 以“.doc”结尾的扩展名表示应使用Microsoft Word打开该文件。 几乎总是,CSV文件由Microsoft Excel,Google docs和OpenOffice Calc等程序打开。

假设您已在计算机中安装了Microsoft Excel,则CSV文件应在用户单击后自动在Excel中打开。 有时,计算机会为您提供“打开方式”小部件的选项,以选择您最喜欢的应用程序。 除此之外,如果要直接访问CSV文件,则需要单击 文件, 然后 开放 并从该点选择CSV文件。

要将电子表格另存为CSV,

  1. 使用电子表格应用程序打开文件
  2. 单击文件,然后选择 另存为
  3. 选择要保存文件的位置。 下面,你会看到一个S.作为类型 选项,选择CSV(逗号分隔),最后单击 保存 按钮。
  4. 应用程序可能会显示一条消息,指出如果将其另存为CSV,工作簿中的某些功能可能会丢失。 也就是说,不会保存任何形式的格式,例如粗体文本。 只需点击 继续。

在创建CSV文件时,标准做法是将数据字段与a分开 分隔符, 它总是以逗号的形式出现。 请记住,它应该是一个字符,否则,您的数据将没有任何逻辑意义。 接下来,确保您的标题列表以与整个文件相同的方式分隔。 为什么这在整个CSV文件的创建中是不可或缺的? 当您键入查询时,它可以帮助您获得准确的结果。

如何打开CSV文件

电子表格程序主要用于打开CSV文件。 在这里阅读它们要容易得多。 电子表格程序通过列系统地对CSV文件中的数据进行排序。 这有助于过滤文件中的所有内容。 不要忘记用户可以充分利用免费的电子表格工具,例如Kingsoft Spreadsheets,或者非常常见的OpenOffice Calc。

如果你有 OpenOffice Calc 已经安装在您的计算机中,双击时,CSV文件应自动打开。 作为另一种选择,您的计算机将显示一个 打开方式 提示,您可以从中选择要打开CSV文件的程序。

或者,您可以使用具有突破性功能的在线电子表格程序,例如Google表格或Zoho Office。 这些工具允许多个用户实时访问单个文件。 更确切地说,Google表格更令人着迷的是,它可以让您将Excel文件转换为表格,反之亦然。

您可能需要使用Google云端硬盘来打开CSV文件。 这个过程非常简单。 只需按照这些简单的步骤;

  1. 打开Goog​​le云端硬盘并登录您的Google帐户。
  2. 找到包含要添加到Google云端硬盘的文件的文件夹
  3. 将文件从原始位置拖放到“我的云端硬盘”部分
  4. 您的浏览器会向您发出确认提示,告知您的文件已正确添加到Google云端硬盘中
  5. 现在,您可以双击该文件,以便在上载完成后将其打开。

A 文本编辑器 也用于打开CSV文件。 通常,Mac操作系统附带一个名为TextEdit的程序,而Windows使用记事本作为其预安装的应用程序。 不幸的是,这些程序没有能力处理包含大量数据的文件。 为解决这一障碍,每当用户想要处理复杂的CSV文件时,流行的显着第三方应用程序都会派上用场。

那么为什么文本编辑器常用于处理CSV文件呢?

从这一点开始,您可以使用CSS或HTML等编程语言从方形文件创建文件。 此外,用户可以编辑以TXT,XML,CSV或PHP等扩展名结尾的文件,仅举几例。

转换CSV文件

如果您要不时地与CSV文件进行交互,那么这一步是非常必要的。 只需单击一下按钮,即可将任何CSV文件转换为Microsoft Excel格式。 用户只需点击即可 文件, 和去 除上文所 按钮。 这里有可用的格式,包括XLS,TXT,XML,SQL等等。 值得注意的是,Google文档也有助于文件转换。

如果您的计算机没有文件转换程序,您可以直接在浏览器中跳转并充分利用免费文件转换软件。 您可以在线完成,无需经历下载程序的繁琐过程。

除了普通的CSV(逗号分隔)之外,还有其他格式可以发挥作用;

  1. CSV(Macintosh) - 用于将Excel工作表保存为使用Mac操作系统的计算机的逗号分隔文件。
  2. Unicode文本(* txt) - 这是一种通用格式,大多数操作系统都使用它,包括Linux,Windows和Macintosh。 关于这种格式的最好的部分是它读取所有最近的语言。

那么如何将我的Excel文件导出为CSV?

实际上,使用UTF-8或UTF-16编码将数据从Excel文件导出为CSV。 所以让我解释一下这些差异。 使用UTF-8,编码更加压缩,因为它对每个符号使用1到4字节之间的任何内容。 这种类型的编码与基于ASCII(美国信息交换标准码)的所有字符格式兼容。

UTF-16在2中将一个符号存储为4个字节。 当您的数据包含日语和中文等亚洲字符时使用它。

CSV文件在很多领域都得到了很好的应用。 如果我们把电子商务行业放到这个等式中,实际上我们可以与之相关。 您可以导入和导出文件以更新库存和产品信息。 添加新产品或现有产品是非常可行的。 在线商店所有者可以使用此策略来传输新客户的数据并进行无缝库存管理。 您可以使用这些文件导入所有正在运送给买方的产品的跟踪号。

CSV结构

CSV文件中使用的所有结构都易于创建,并且需要较少的工作量,因为它们都遵循类似的格式。 如果你想手动完成,那么你可以使用文本编辑器,如Notepad ++,它支持几个显性 编程 语言。 或者,使用电子表格程序可以更好地满足用户的需求,因为它具有按行和列排序数据的单元格。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is Comma Separated Values (CSV)?

What does the Comma Separated Values (CSV) File mean?

A CSV file is a text file which contains some data. In ordinary circumstances, a CSV file is used to transfer data from one application to another. By way of explanation, a CSV file stores data, both numbers and text in a plain text. As you may know, a plain text compresses the information and allows text formatting.

Customarily, all fields are separated by commas while all records are separated by an elaborate line of characters. In Excel sheets, all fields which have a comma, are embedded inside double quotes which are commonly known as text qualifiers i.e one single cell with green, blue, and yellow, will be captured as “green, blue, and, yellow”.

 

It's as simple as it sounds. After all, you don't need to be a tech-savvy to comprehend how CSV files work. Typically, a file which has CSV file extension is used where there's is a chunk of data to be sent to another application. The file extension, on the other hand, helps an operating system identify which program, in particular, the file is linked to.

Here's an illustration:

If for instance, I transfer a file with the name ‘minutes.doc', the extension which ends with ‘.doc' means that the file should be opened with Microsoft Word. Almost always, a CSV file is opened by programs such as Microsoft Excel, Google docs, and OpenOffice Calc.

Suppose you already have Microsoft Excel installed in your computer, the CSV file should automatically open in Excel once clicked by the user. Sometimes, the computer gives you options with an ‘Open with' widget to choose your most preferred application. Aside from that, if you want to access the CSV file directly, you need to click File, then Open and choose the CSV file from that point.

To save your spreadsheet as a CSV,

  1. Open your file using the spreadsheet application
  2. Click File, then choose Save As
  3. Choose the location where you want to save your file. Below, you'll see a Save as type option, choose CSV(Comma delimited), and finally, click Save button.
  4. The application may show a message stating that some of the features in your workbook might be lost if you save it as CSV. That is to say, any form of formatting such a bold text will not be saved. Just click Yes to continue.

While creating a CSV file, it's standard practice to separate the data fields with a delimiter, which is always in the form of a comma. Keep in mind, it should be one character or else, your data won't make any logical sense. What follows, is to make sure that your header list is delimited in the same manner as the entire file. And why is this integral in the entire creation of a CSV file? It helps you get accurate results when you key in a query.

How to open a CSV file

Predominantly, spreadsheet programs are widely used to open CSV files. It's pretty much easier to read them here. A spreadsheet program sorts the data in a CSV file systematically via columns. This helps to filter all the contents in the file. Not forgetting that a user can make the most out of free spreadsheet tools such as Kingsoft Spreadsheets, or the very common OpenOffice Calc.

If you have OpenOffice Calc already installed in your computer, a CSV file should open automatically when you double click it. As another option, your computer will show an Open with prompt, from where you can choose the program to open your CSV file with.

Alternatively, you can use online spreadsheet programs such as Google Sheets or Zoho Office which have groundbreaking features on board. These tools allow more than one user to gain access to a single file in real-time. What's more fascinating about Google Sheets, to be precise, is that it lets you convert your Excel files into sheets and vice versa.

You may want to use Google Drive to open your CSV file. The process is pretty much simple. Just follow these easy steps;

  1. Open Google Drive and login into your Google account.
  2. Find the folder which has the file you want to add to Google Drive
  3. Drag and Drop the file from its original location to ‘My Drive' section
  4. Your browser will give you a confirmation prompt that your file has been properly added to Google Drive
  5. You can now double-click the file to open it once the upload is complete.

A text editor is also used to open a CSV file. Generally, Mac operating systems come with a program called TextEdit while Windows uses Notepad as its pre-installed application. Unfortunately, such programs don't have the capacity to handle a file with huge amounts of data. To resolve this impediment, there's the prevalence of notable third-party applications which come in handy whenever a user wants to deal with complex CSV files.

So why are text editors commonly used to handle a CSV file?

From this point, you can create a file from square one, by use of a programming language such a CSS or HTML. Also, the user gets to edit files which end with extensions like, TXT, XML, CSV, or PHP, just to name a few.

Converting the CSV file

This step is so imperative if you're going to interact with CSV files every now and then. Any CSV file can be converted into a Microsoft Excel format in just a click of a button. A user needs to just click File, and go to Save as button. Here, there are formats available which include, XLS, TXT, XML, SQL, among many others. It's worth noting that Google docs also helps with the file conversion.

If your computer doesnt have a program for file conversion, you can jump right in your Browser and make good use of free file converter software. You can do it online without having to go through the tedious process of downloading the program.

Other than the ordinary CSV(Comma delimited), there are other formats which come into play;

  1. CSV(Macintosh)- It's used to save your Excel worksheet as a comma-separated file for computers which use the Mac operating system.
  2. Unicode Text(*txt)- It's a universal format which is used by most operating systems including Linux, Windows, and Macintosh. The best part about this format is that it reads all recent languages.

So how do I export my Excel file into a CSV?

Practically speaking, data is exported from an Excel file to a CSV either with UTF-8, or UTF-16 encodings. So let me explain the differences. With the UTF-8, the encoding is more compressed since it uses anything between 1 to 4 bytes for each symbol. This type of encoding is compatible with all character formats based on the ASCII(American Standard Code for Information Interchange).

UTF-16 stores one symbol in 2 to 4 bytes. It's used when your data has Asian characters like Japanese and Chinese.

A CSV file is remarkably used in so many fields. If we put the e-commerce industry into the equation, there's actually so much we can relate to. You can import and export files to update your inventory and product information. Adding new or existing products is quite feasible. An online store owner can use this strategy to transfer data of new customers and do seamless stock management. You can use the files to import tracking numbers for all products which are on transit to the buyers.

CSV Structuring

All structures used in a CSV file are easy to create and require less effort since they all follow a similar format. If you wish to do it manually, then you can use a text editor such as Notepad++ which supports a couple of dominant programming languages. Alternatively, using a spreadsheet program can serve a user's needs better since it has cells where data is sorted in rows and columns.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started