如何多次销售同一产品:使用旋转门构建您的电子商务商店

成为百万富翁很容易。 在17时代,我把它推断为一门科学。 一个人只需敲一百万个门,就要求一美元。 这是2008 App Store淘金热的前提。

当它第一次向2008的开发者敞开大门时,App Store招手了大量的探矿者,迁移到这个新的狂野的西部,建立以简单软件为中心的卑微城镇。 它标志着一个独特的机会,只需要开发软件并将其上传到Apple神灵 - 从那里,应用程序列表毫不费力地传播到世界各地的数百万门。

这是一个百万门的敲门,并且要求换一个美元的计划。 猜猜它有用了。 百万富翁被制造出来了。 以胀气和假酒精消费为中心的应用程序引发了一类新的短暂成功故事。 但有一个问题:

您可以成功地为一个应用程序索取一次付款,然后开发另一个应用程序并成功征求同一客户的另一笔付款的可能性很小。

您是否有机会继续开展业务以开发另一款应用? 也很苗条。

总之,软件开发人员更多地关注开发一次性应用程序,而不是建立可持续发展的业务。 虽然书籍可能是关于商业长寿的主题,但我们可以说,如果不提及经常性收入,关于这个主题的论文就不会完整。

将你的手指捏在一起,睁开眼睛微笑,然后向外伸出你的手,好像你正在捏着缩放空气,然后深深地惊叹:经常性的收入。

自动化业务

从长远来看,客户需要回来让您的企业保持健康和成功。 对于经验丰富的电子商务企业家来说,这一课程已经根深蒂固,在他们的脑海中通过多年来一次性支付收入模式的苦恼风的不安侵蚀而刻画。 对于可能还没有获得这种基因的新企业家和建筑商而言,将网上销售减少到一百万门的计划可能是最快的方法。

但是当你匆忙挨家挨户挨家挨户奔跑时,你却无法建立真正重要的东西。 关系,使人们回归的产品,口碑宣传,真正的收入模式,最重要的是:企业。

因为虽然您可以成功地从一个客户那里获得一次性付款,并且对许多客户这样做,但这种资源的消耗将远远超出您的想象。 您将体验到疲劳已经做了这么多工作,以获得一个客户支付一次会如此巨大,你将不得不狂它又来了。 您需要自动化,或者您的业务将在哪里。

输入订阅收入。 订阅或经常性收入是敲门的自动化。 这听起来很棒,因为它确实很好,但在设计业务和产品时需要考虑一些因素。

相同的产品,很多次

一个是,您的产品,无论是数字还是实体,都需要保修退货业务。 一家咖啡店出售的饮料有点上瘾,所以你会多次回来。 你能想象一下,如果客户只进入一次门店,星巴克会多快停业吗?

对于数字商品来说,这很容易,因为订阅模式自然适合这种类型的产品。 软件非常明确地需要不断改进,修复错误,服务器空间以及昂贵的开发人员和设计人员。 软件中的订阅变得越来越普遍。 在这场运动中,消费者有很小的阻力(主要是他们的言论,而不是他们的钱包),但这种新的思维模式很快就会变成与生俱来的,因为“外行人”会更好地理解软件的底层性质。

在建设中 标准注释,一个私人的,加密的笔记应用程序,订阅模型毫无疑问。 作为一名软件开发人员,我是否真的希望每个月都能花费我所有的时间来寻找新客户,而不是改进我的产品? 我无法重温一次性购买的噩梦。 不 - 这一次,它将会正确完成。

对于实物商品来说,为一件商品的一次性货币交易征求重复付款似乎很疯狂。 “我为这个智能真空付了一次钱,现在我拥有了它。 我为什么要继续付钱给你呢?“但即使是非智能的物理制造商也已经想出如何保证重复业务。 简单的咖啡机有过滤器,你需要每隔几个月购买和更换一次(它们甚至包括一个小的模拟定时器,所以你不要忘记)。 像Eero这样的Wifi路由器公司提供$ 99 /年可选订阅,为您的设置添加额外的,但大部分是冗余的功能。 即使是简单的一次性购买安排,例如购买iPhone,现在也有订购版本 - 每年只需每月50即可自动获取最新的iPhone。

您的客户会感谢您

更重要的是,订阅收入模型使公司激励与用户激励相一致。 每月必须多次获得新客户以弥补他们的一击客户的公司必须偶尔屈服于令人讨厌的商业策略以保持门的旋转。 公司必须花费大量时间来获得新客户,这与改进产品所花费的时间是一致的。 当一家公司如此专注于下一季度如何支付账单时,它就失去了创新,创造力,愉快的客户支持和整体活力的能力。 它将在内部和外部向客户展示。

订阅模式不仅适用于企业,也适用于消费者。 公司将拥有更多的空间和自由来构建更好的产品,并在道德上建立它们,因为他们知道成功的关键在于保持每个用户的订阅,而不是诱使新的潜在客户相信他们的一次性销售宣传。 当公司对长期关系产生兴趣时,他们更有可能诚实地对待客户,并且不太可能放弃目前的未来。 订阅模型可以创建更健康的业务。 健康刺激了创造力和做正确的态度。

如果你在这个行业,你已经学到了这一课。 您已经知道订阅收入是不可阻挡的力量。 如果您刚开始创业,您可能错过了过去十年的行动。 虽然本文不是一个全面的概述,但我希望这将是您调查如何构建在线业务的起点。

打造优质产品,妥善对待客户,客户将马上回来。 这是旋转门业务,据我所知,这是建立健康业务的唯一途径。

莫比塔尔

我是一名全职软件开发人员,对产品设计和数字隐私充满热情。 我在一个名为Standard Notes的加密笔记应用程序上工作,该应用程序可在每个平台上免费使用。

How to Sell the Same Product More Than Once: Build Your Ecommerce Store With a Revolving Door

Being a millionaire is easy. At the age of 17, I had deduced it to a science. One simply need knock on one million doors and ask for a single dollar. This was the premise of the 2008 App Store gold rush.

When it first opened its doors to developers in 2008, the App Store had beckoned vast quantities of prospectors to migrate to this new wild west and establish humble towns centered around simple software. It marked a unique opportunity where one need only develop the software and upload it to the Apple gods—from there, app listings propagated effortlessly to millions of doors around the world.

This was the knock-on-one-million-doors-and-ask-for-a-dollar scheme turned true. And guess what—it worked. Millionaires were made. Apps centered around flatulence and fake alcohol consumption had given rise to a new class of ephemeral success stories. But there was one problem:

The odds that you would successfully solicit a payment once for one app, then develop another app and successfully solicit another payment from the same customer, were slim.

Your chances of staying in business to develop yet another app? Also slim.

In a word, software developers had focused more on developing single-use applications than on building a sustainable business. And while books may be written on the topic of business longevity, let us say that no thesis on the topic would be complete without the mention of recurring revenue.

Pinch your fingers together, burst your eyes open smiling, and explode your hand outwards as if you were pinching-to-zoom the air, and say with deep wonderment: recurring revenue.

An Automated Business

Customers need to come back for your business to be healthy and successful in the long run. For experienced ecommerce entrepreneurs, this lesson has already been deeply ingrained, carved in their mind through years of restless erosion by the distressful wind of one-time-payment revenue models. For new entrepreneurs and builders who may not have yet acquired this gene, it may be tempting to reduce online sales to a one-million-door scheme as the quickest way to a buck.

But while you are hurriedly running door to door, you’re failing to build things that actually matter. Relationships, products that make people come back, word-of-mouth advocacy, a real revenue model, and most importantly: a business.

Because while you may successfully solicit a one time payment from one customer once, and do so for many customers, this resource will deplete far quicker than you can imagine. The fatigue you will experience from having done so much work to get one customer to pay once will be so overwhelming, that you would have to be mad to go at it again. You need to automate, or your business will whither.

Enter subscription revenue. Subscription or recurring revenue is the automation of knocking on doors. It sounds great, because it is, but it does warrant some consideration in how you design your business and product.

Same Product, Many Times

One is, your product, whether it be digital or physical, need warrant return business. A coffee shop sells beverages that are somewhat addicting in nature, so you come back many, many times. Can you imagine how quickly Starbucks would go out of business if a customer only came through their doors once?

For digital goods, it’s quite easy, because the subscription model naturally lends itself to this type of product. Software very clearly requires constant improvement, bug-fixing, server space, and expensive developers and designers. Subscriptions in software are becoming more and more commonplace. There is small resistance from consumers in this movement (mostly with their speech and not with their wallets), but this new mode of thinking is quickly becoming innate as the “layman” comes to better understand the underlaying nature of software.

In building Standard Notes, a private, encrypted note-taking app, a subscription model was of no question. Was I, a software developer, really expected to spend all my waking time finding new customers every single month, rather than on improving my product? I couldn't relive the nightmare of one-time purchases. No—this time, it was going to be done right.

For physical goods, it seems madness to solicit repeat payment for a one-time trade of currency for an item. “I paid for this smart vacuum once, and now I own it. Why should I keep paying you?” But even non-smart physical good manufactures have figured out how to warrant repeat business. Simple coffee machines have filters that you need to buy and replace every few months (they even include a small little analog timer so you don’t forget). Wifi router companies like Eero offer a $99/year optional subscription to add additional, but mostly redundant, features to your setup. Even simple one-time purchase arrangements like buying an iPhone now come in a subscription variant—get the newest iPhone every year automatically for just $50 a month.

Your Customers Will Thank You

More importantly, subscription revenue models align company incentives with user incentives. Companies that must repeatedly acquire new customers every month to make up for their one-hit customers last month must occasionally stoop to unsavory business tactics to keep the doors spinning. The unspeakable amounts of time that companies must spend on acquiring new customers is shared with the time spent on improving the product. When a company is so focused on how it will pay its bills next quarter, it loses its capacity for innovation, creativity, delightful customer support, and overall vigor. And it will show, both internally, and outwardly to customers.

Subscription models are great not just for businesses, but for consumers as well. Companies will have more space and freedom to build better products, and build them ethically, knowing that their key to success is keeping every user subscribed, and not tricking new prospects into believing their one-time sales pitch. When companies become interested in long-term relationships, they're more likely to act honestly with their customers, and less likely to forgo the future for the present. Subscription models create healthier businesses. And health spurs creativity and a do-it-right attitude.

If you’re in the industry, you’ve already learnt this lesson. You already know that subscription revenue is an unstoppable force. If you’re new to starting a business, you might have missed out on the last ten years of action. While this article isn’t a comprehensive overview, it is what I hope will be the starting point in your investigation towards how you should structure your online business.

Build good products and treat your customers well, and customers will come right back. This is the revolving door business, and is, as far as I know, the only way to build a healthy business.

Mo Bitar

I'm a full-time software developer with a passion for product design and digital privacy. I work on an encrypted notes app called Standard Notes, which is available for free on every platform.