电子商务安全要点

当您开始在Web上开展业务时,您将遇到三种特定类型的人:

•想要向您购买的人
•那些想要偷你的人
•那些想要从那些向你购买的人那里偷窃的人

每个网站所有者面临的悖论是,你想要张开双臂欢迎第一类人,但是你想要试图拒绝的其他人。 在传统的离线商店中,通常很容易发现问题的来源。 然而,在线开展业务意味着你失去了所有重要的直觉。

如果您通过自己的网站在线销售,则安全性必须始终是您的首要任务。 还有一种情况是,您无法通过反复试验来计算您的在线安全性。 你必须在第一时间做到正确,因为从错误中恢复对于大企业来说是困难的,对于小企业来说几乎是不可能的。 如果您确实设法搞砸了安全性并且了解它,那么您将不得不从头开始重建您的业务和声誉。 在本文的其余部分,我们将为您提供一些如何避免命运的指示。

1。 不要存储超出实际需要的信息

在客户进行最基本的购买之前,许多网站都有复杂的表格。 这些表格通常要求提供与销售无关的各种信息。 这通常是营销部门试图获取多余人口统计数据的错误 CRM信息。 问题是预售通常不是请求这种数据的正确位置。

从法律上讲,您有责任保护您存储的有关客户的数据。 甚至某些类型的数据也不是法律允许存储的(例如,CVS编号)。 即便如此,许多网站确实存储了他们不应该存储的信息。

你不要那样做会好得多。 在预售阶段,您实际上可以通过询问太多信息来失去客户。 他们将去一些购买更简单的地方,他们不会觉得他们正面对大宗教裁判所。

人们越来越关注他们在线共享的信息,因此您的目标应该始终是收集尽可能少的信息,因为这有助于建立信任。 如果您使用PayPal或类似服务处理付款,您可能不必从客户那里收集任何信息,因为PayPal会为您提供完成订单所需的一切信息。

您存储的信息越多,窃取和利用的可能性就越大。 如果他们的盗窃被发现并追溯到你,那么后来会出现更多的问题。

2。 如果您正在收集敏感信息,则需要SSL

理想情况下每个网站都应该有 默认情况下为SSL但不幸的是,将SSL整理出来是一件非常麻烦的事情,甚至有些主要的互联网公司都错了(为了他们的利益,我们不打算给他们命名)。

SSL为您提供加密,使得某人劫持或以其他方式干扰交易更加困难(但并非不可能)。 它还在某种程度上保护了中继的信息。

SSL最重要的特性 - 可能比加密更重要 - 是它可以肯定地识别您的网站。 即使这并不完美,但它总比没有好。

3。 有意识地决定您是否正在处理自己的交易

在内部处理交易可以为您节省一点钱。 如果您进行小批量高价值交易,则节省的费用可能会很高。 例如,PayPal处于最差状态,将向您收取至少4.5%的交易价值(交易量越高,金额就越低)。

尽管如此,使用外部还有很多优点 支付系统 像PayPal, 的Skrill和WorldPay。 主要优点是您不再直接从客户那里收集财务信息,理想情况下根本不收集任何信息。 这意味着PCI合规性和消费者数据保护的所有责任都落在了支付服务的肩上而不是您的肩上。 对于中小企业来说,这是一个巨大的负担,严重降低了您的潜在责任,并简化了您的交易流程。

另一方面,一些商人有恐怖故事。 PayPal是干涉别人业务的罪魁祸首。 PayPal尽职尽责地保护世界免受洗钱侵害,他们会冻结一个帐户,只是暗示有什么奇怪的事情发生,解除冻结可能会非常麻烦。

PayPal问题的一个重要部分是很难与他们联系。 另一个并不完全局限于PayPal的令人愤怒的事情是过度热心的手持,他们试图过多地保护你,并且没有你的要求他们这样做。 这意味着如果您尝试从PayPal无法识别的设备登录您的帐户,或者如果您在向他们注册手机号码时犯了愚蠢的错误,您只需前往您的帐户即可将自己锁定在帐户之外另一个国家或更改您的电话服务。 在一个商业日益全球化,人们经常出国旅游的世界里,这是不可接受的。

这个问题可能会影响您的业务所依赖的其他事情。 Facebook,Twitter,雅虎,GMail以及其他许多服务都会让您在通常的区域外旅行并且手机上没有启用全球漫游时会感到非常头痛。 从您所在国家/地区以外的地方登录不熟悉的设备(或熟悉的SIM卡设备)可能会让您感到困惑,但至少这些服务都无法直接控制您的现金流。 付款服务,如果他们阻止你,后果更严重。

让其他人为您处理交易的最大理由是什么? 客户因未正确填写表格而臭名昭着。 当你因此无法运送产品时,他们会责怪你。 这可能导致诸如退款等令人讨厌的事情,并且随着时间的推移,这可能会影响您的业务,也可能影响您的声誉。 将所有信息收集交给第三方,从技术上讲,你已经摆脱困境。

4。 在发货之前,请检查所有交易详情

对于某些企业来说,这可能有点复杂。 例如,如果您销售电子书等数字产品,客户通常会希望几乎立即收到他们的产品。 如果您正在销售实体商品,那么您有更多时间来检查所有商品,您应该使用它。

确保数量,价格和产品描述与他们应匹配的内容相匹配。 还要检查任何折扣或优惠券代码是否有效。

如您所见,保持安全并不需要花费太多精力或费用。 它基本上意味着放弃大公司的习惯。 换一种说法:
•不要窥探您的客户
•不要收集您不严格需要的信息
•保护您收集的信息
•如果可能,使用第三方事务处理委派合规责任
•在发运产品之前查看订单

您应该经常做的另一件事是检查退款请求是否与原始交易金额相符。 众所周知,人们以特价购买并以全价退款,工作人员并不总是注意到。

特色图片 Fireart Studio

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

Essentials of Ecommerce Security

As you set about doing business on the Web, you're going to encounter three specific types of people:

• Those who want to buy from you
• Those who want to steal from you
• Those who want to steal from those who buy from you

The paradox that every website owner faces is that you want to welcome the first type of person with open arms, but the others you'll want to try to shut out. In a traditional offline store, it's usually easy to sense where trouble is going to come from. Doing business online, however, means you lose that all important intuition.

Security must always be your highest priority if you are selling online through your own website. It is also the case that you can't work out your online security by trial-and-error. You have to get it right the first time, because recovering from mistakes is difficult for big business, and virtually impossible for a small business. If you do manage to screw up on security and it gets known about, expect to have to rebuild your business and your reputation from scratch. In the rest of this article, we'll give you some pointers on how to avoid that fate.

1. Don't store more information than you actually need to

Many websites have complicated forms to be filled in before a customer can make even the most basic of purchases. Often these forms are requesting all kinds of information that is not relevant to the sale. This is usually the fault of the marketing department trying to obtain superfluous demographic or CRM information. The problem is that pre-sale is not usually the correct place to be requesting that kind of data.

Legally you have a responsibility to protect the data that you store about your customers. There's even certain types of data that you're not legally permitted to store (CVS numbers, for example). Even so, many websites do store that information that they are not supposed to be storing.

It's much better for you not to do that. In the pre-sale phase, you can actually lose customers by asking for too much information. They will go some place where purchasing is simpler and where they don't feel like they're facing the Grand Inquisition.

People are becoming more concerned about the information they share online, so your goal should be always to collect the minimum amount of information possible, as that helps to build trust. If you're using PayPal or a similar service to process your payments, you probably don't have to collect any information from your customer, because PayPal supplies you with everything you need to know to complete the order.

The more information you store, the more there is potentially available for somebody to steal and exploit. If their theft is discovered and traced back to you, there will be a lot more problems arising out of that later on.

2. If you're collecting sensitive information, you need SSL

Ideally every site should have SSL by default, but unfortunately it's quite a hassle to get SSL sorted out, and there are even major internet companies that get it wrong (for their sake, we're not going to name them).

SSL gives you encryption that makes it more difficult (but not impossible) for somebody to hijack or otherwise interfere with the transaction. It also to some extent protects the information that is relayed.

The most important feature of SSL—maybe even more important than the encryption—is that it positively identifies your site. Even this isn't perfect, but it's better than nothing at all.

3. Make a conscious decision about whether you're processing your own transactions

Processing transactions in-house can save you a little money on each one. If you make low volume high value transactions, the savings could be significant. PayPal at their worst, for example, will charge you at least 4.5% of the value of a transaction (the amount reduces with higher transaction volumes).

Try-Shopify

Still, there are a lot of advantages to using external payment systems like PayPal, Skrill, and WorldPay. The primary advantage is that you're no longer directly collecting financial information from your customer, and ideally not collecting any information at all. This means all the onus for PCI compliance and consumer data protection falls on the shoulders of the payment service and not on your shoulders. For the SME, this is a huge burden lifted, seriously reduces your potential liability, and simplifies the flow of your transactions.

On the other hand, there have been horror stories for some merchants. The main culprit when it comes to meddling in other people's business is PayPal. Taking their duty to protect the world from money laundering extremely seriously, PayPal will freeze an account at the slightest hint that there's anything odd going on, and getting the freeze lifted can be quite a hassle.

A big part of the PayPal problem is that it is quite difficult to contact them. Another infuriating thing that is not entirely limited to PayPal alone is the over-zealous hand holding, where they try to protect you way too much and without your request for them to do so. This means if you attempt to log in to your account from a device that PayPal doesn't recognize, or if you have made the foolish mistake of registering a cell phone number with them, you can lock yourself out of your account merely by traveling to another country or changing your phone service. In a world where business is becoming increasingly global and people travel internationally much more often, this is unacceptable.

That problem can affect other things your business relies on too. Facebook, Twitter, Yahoo, GMail, and scores of other services can all make really big headaches for you when you travel outside your usual area and don't have global roaming enabled on your phone. Logging in from an unfamiliar device (or a familiar device with an unfamiliar SIM card) from a location outside your home country can really screw things up for you, but at least none of those services has direct control over your cash flow. Payment services do, so if they block you, the consequences are more serious.

The greatest reason to let somebody else handle the transactions for you? Customers are notorious for not filling in forms correctly. When you're unable to ship their product because of this, they will blame you. That can result in nasty things like charge-backs, and over time this can affect your business, and possibly also your reputation. Hand over all the information collection to a third party, and technically you're off the hook.

4. Before shipping products, check all transaction details

For some businesses this can be a bit complex. If you sell digital products such as eBooks for example, customers usually expect to receive their product almost instantly. If you are selling physical merchandise, you have a little more time to check everything, and you should use it.

Make sure the quantities, prices, and product descriptions match what they should be matching. Also check that any discount or coupon codes are valid.

As you can see, staying secure does not take much effort or expense. It basically means dropping the habits of big corporations. In other words:
• Don't spy on your customers
• Don't collect information you don't strictly need
• Protect the information you do collect
• Delegate compliance responsibility, if possible, by using third party transaction processing
• Review orders before you ship products

The one other thing you should always do is check that refund requests match the amount of the original transaction. It has been known for people to purchase at sale price and refund for full price, and staff don't always notice.

Feature image curtsey of Fireart Studio

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *