Revolut vs Monzo(2021 年 XNUMX 月):哪个网上银行最好?

银行之战

RevolutMonzo 是两种创新的金融服务,可提供各种个人和企业帐户以满足多种需求。 它们都为忙碌的人们提供了一系列服务,可以通过他们的移动银行应用程序方便地访问它们。

由于Revolut和Monzo提供了类似的服务,这就引出了一个问题,它们有何不同? 他们提供什么帐户计划? 它们提供什么功能? 我们将在下面回答所有这些问题,以帮助您确定适合您的数字银行。

让我们开始吧!

Revolut vs Monzo:他们的计划和费用

以上皆是 RevolutMonzo 提供几种费用不同的计划。 两者都提供了一个免费增值包,该增值包本身提供了大量的特权和服务。 两家公司均不向您收取开设或持有标准帐户的费用,并且都不允许您向国际汇款。

让我们一起比较两家银行的标准免费计划:
Monzo往来帐户 Revolut标准帐户
开通费/月租费 £0 £0 / 0€
卡交付费 £0 £4.99 / 5.50€
可定制卡 没有 即将上线
ATM取款

首0英镑为200%

每30天,此后3%

首0欧元为200%

每月,此后为2%

国际汇款 0.35%-2.85%(取决于外币)

第一次为0-2%

€6,000,之后为2%

如果您的卡被盗怎么办?

如果您的卡被盗,已过期或您是欺诈的受害者,Monzo将免费更换您的卡。 出于其他任何原因,Monzo都需要支付5英镑的更换费。

如果您需要补发卡,Revolut将收取5英镑或等值的货币费用。 您还必须另外支付运费。

Revolut vs Monzo:整体数字银行服务

由于Monzo和Revolut都是在线银行,因此提供出色的移动应用程序(Android和iOS)也就不足为奇了。 从这里,您可以访问许多功能来帮助跟踪支出和预算。 其中一些功能包括财务计划,预算和多币种汇总。

Revolut 提供万事达卡和维萨卡-这些都是根据位置分配的,因此,您无法选择要获得的卡。 您可以在线使用Revolut的Mastercard和Visa卡,也可以在全球范围内亲自使用。 Revolut还提供国际汇款,以及使用加密货币进行交易的能力。

相比之下,Monzo是万事达卡借记卡,可以再次在线或亲自使用。 Monzo已与Transferwise合作,通过其应用程序提供国际汇款。 您也可以在海外使用借记卡而无需支付佣金,Monzo还与Coinbase等平台合作,使Cryptocurrency交易成为可能。

Revolut vs Monzo:国际银行

在国外使用借记卡

Monzo 在海外使用借记卡方面具有优势。 如果您使用国外的Monzo卡付款,他们不收取任何外汇服务佣金。 另一方面,Revolut如果您一个月内收入超过6,000美元,则需要支付交易费用的XNUMX%。

国际汇款

Monzo通过其TransferWise集成提供了透明的货币兑换服务。 这是一种备受推崇的汇款方式,因为它具有极高的汇率和低廉的费用。 根据所用货币的不同,您将支付转帐金额的0.35%至2.85%。

使用Monzo,您只能在银行帐户中保留一种货币。 但是,在国外使用银行卡时,您无需支付任何兑换费用。 相反,Monzo确保您支付的批发价尽可能便宜。

Revolut的定价更为复杂。 它不仅取决于货币,还取决于交易量,以及您是否在市场交易时段内或交易时段进行交易。 例如,Revolut的货币兑换服务通常在周末更加昂贵。 就是说,我们喜欢Revolut允许您最多容纳24种不同的货币,并且可以在它们之间立即进行兑换。

Revolut vs Monzo:您的卡片-接收卡片及其功能

说到拿到借记卡,Monzo赢了,请放手。 他们不向您收取发送借记卡的费用。 最多可能需要两周的时间才能收到,但是许多客户报告说会在几天之内得到它。

Revolut另一方面,会在4.99天内提供一张信用卡,交付费用为£5.50或€19.99。 如果您很忙,Revolut提供了一种快递选择,可以在三到四天内将您的卡寄给您。 不过,您仍然必须支付XNUMX欧元的特权。

Revolut和Monzo的标准卡的功能几乎相同。 它们都提供非接触式支付,并且可以使用Google Pay和Apple Pay进行支付。 如果借记卡因其应用的方便性而丢失,您还可以阻止和取消阻止借记卡。

但是,Monzo在其标准帐户上不提供虚拟卡,而Revolut提供。 相比之下,Revolut不提供储蓄利息,而Monzo提供的储蓄账户利率高达1.63%。 您还可以每天以50便士的费用与Monzo建立透支。 最重要的是,Monzo是“经常帐户切换服务”的一部分,可轻松将您现有的帐户转移到这些帐户。 Revolut目前不属于该计划。

Revolut不提供透支服务,但提供其他服务,例如自动捐赠,汇总交易和交易加密货币。 Monzo还可以让您汇总交易记录以放在硬币罐中,但是它不会自动捐赠这笔钱。 正如我们已经提到的那样,Monzo还没有原生的交易加密货币的方法,但是您可以通过其Coinbase集成来实现。

Revolut vs Monzo:充值您的帐户

患有 Monzo,您可以通过现金,支票和银行转帐充值。 与其他银行一样,您可以将薪水直接存入您的帐户,也可以设置常规。

如果您通过PayPoint将现金存入您的帐户,Monzo会为您的每次存款收取1英镑的费用。 因此,如果您投入150英镑,他们就会在您的帐户中投入149英镑。 这是因为PayPoint向Monzo收取服务费用。 您也只能一次性支付5-300英镑,并通过PayPoint每六个月最多存入1,000英镑。

相比之下,Revolut允许您通过银行转账,关联帐户,借方或信用卡充值。 但是,如果您使用卡充值,他们会收取费用。 仅当您使用EEA内发行的卡或商业卡充值时才适用。 但是,这是一笔很小的费用,旨在支付Revolut的费用。 在完成交易之前,系统会通知您这笔费用是多少。 与Monzo不同,您无法通过支票或现金存款将资金添加到您的帐户中。

Revolut vs Monzo:保护您的钱

如上所述,如果您的卡丢失了,您可以通过他们方便的应用程序对其进行阻止和解锁。 这是许多人都将不胜感激的安心功能。

Monzo通过金融服务补偿计划(FSCS)提供最高85,000英镑的全面保护。 相反,Revolut不提供这种保护,而是声明它们为客户提供“保护”。

Revolut 会根据您注册到的Revolut实体来确定他们如何保护您的资金。 例如,假设您已在Revolut LTD实体中注册。 在这种情况下,您已在电子货币机构中注册,他们通过将其存入客户货币银行帐户来保护您的货币。 这些帐户用于偿还Revolut破产后的费用。

如果他们破产了怎么办?

如上所述,您的Monzo帐户中的合格存款受FSCS的保护,最高为£85,000。 这意味着,如果Monzo破产,您的存款将在20个工作日内偿还(如果有资格)。

FSCS不保证英国的Revolut。 尽管如此,它还是由英国FCA监管为授权的电子货币机构。 Revolt通过将资金与自有资金分开来保护您的资金。 这意味着如果Revolut破产,您应该可以要求全额退款。

如果丢失手机会怎样?

使用Revolut,即使没有智能手机,您的卡仍然可以使用。 但是,建议您在购买新智能手机后立即下载Revolut应用。 只需输入您的电话号码,然后选择“我尚未收到验证码”,您将需要验证短信。 这将使您与支持代理交流。 如果丢失手机,这是客户管理帐户的唯一方法,与Monzo不同,Revolut不为用户提供Web应用程序。

患有 Monzo,如果您丢失了手机,则可以使用其网站寻求帮助。 转到“紧急情况”,登录到您的帐户并冻结您的卡。 在他们的网站上,您还可以跟踪交易,以查看是否有任何可疑活动。 在这种情况下,请通过电话或电子邮件与Monzo联系以寻求帮助。

Revolut vs Monzo:他们的高级帐户功能

革命vs蒙佐

如果您想要的不仅仅是Revolut或Monzo的Standard计划,请考虑使用其Premium套餐。 有趣的是,Monzo的保费账户是该银行在2020年发布的一段相当合理的近期冒险,而Revolut的Premium则有几年的领先优势。

Revolut的高级帐户功能

  • 英镑6.99每月
  • 该卡可在180-1个工作日内运送到3多个国家/地区。
  • 您将从Revolut的独家Premium卡设计中受益。
  • 您可以免费订购备用卡。

旅游特色:

  • 全球旅行保险:这为您提供全球紧急医疗和牙科治疗。 它还提供Revolut Travel Ltd的旅行保险,打折的设备保险以及延迟航班和行李的赔偿。
  • 明智的延误:如果您的航班延误超过一小时,Revolut会为您和一位朋友发送免费的机场通行证。
  • 汇款:您可以使用银行同业拆借利率在世界各地转帐。 您的款项应在1-2个工作日内到帐。
  • 无限外汇:您可以使用银行间汇率兑换,转移和兑换无数的金额
  • ATM取款:您可以使用全球的ATM每月免费提取高达400英镑的费用。 之后,您需要支付2%的费用。
  • 盗窃保险:如果手机被盗,您可以通过Revolut索赔。

其他功能:

  • 事件的报销:如果发生无法控制的意外事件,而您错过了某个事件,Revulot将向您报销高达1,000英镑的门票。
  • 储蓄和利息:尽管Revolut本身不提供储蓄帐户,但它们有一个叫做Vaults的东西。 这些保管库基本上是储蓄帐户。 如果您节省11,100英镑,则每年将获得75英镑的利息。 您可以随时拿出您的钱-无论是第二天还是将来。
  • 一次性虚拟卡:此处,每次在线交易后都会自动清除详细信息,并自动生成新的详细信息。 这是防止欺诈的极佳保护。
  • 每年最高保额2,500英镑:这是针对被盗或意外损坏的购买。
  • 屏幕破裂?:您将获得Revolut的意外保护罩退款。
  • 90天的有效期:如果零售商不收回您的物品,Revolut将退还50英镑至300英镑之间的物品。

Monzo的高级帐户功能

革命vs蒙佐

  • 英镑15每月
  • 六个月最低合约
  • 您必须年龄在18-69岁之间才能申请。
  • 访问Monzo的白色金属卡片设计

保险功能:

  • 电子产品:Monzo提供由Assurant提供的电话保险。 这包括损失,意外损坏,屏幕破裂和盗窃。 它还包括高达2,000英镑的电话覆盖范围和高达300英镑的配件(例如充电器,耳机)。 超出部分为£75。
  • 全球家庭旅行:由AXA提供,该保险涵盖高达5,000英镑的取消费用,高达10万英镑的医疗费用,高达750英镑的贵重物品遗失等。 这将扩展到您的伴侣和家人,超出部分为£50。

其他功能:

  • 利息:在您的帐户余额和常规彩池(不包括储蓄彩池)中,最高1.50英镑可赚取1.49%/ 2,000%AER /总(可变)利息。
  • 查看财务状况:您可以将其他银行帐户和信用卡连接到Monzo,以便可以从一个集中位置查看财务状况。
  • 折扣机场贵宾室使用权:为您和您的朋友提供全球1,000多个机场贵宾室的折扣。
  • £600英镑的免费在国外取款:您每600天最多可以免费在国外提取£30英镑。 (这是标准Monzo帐户的三倍左右)。
  • 高级汇总:您可以选择让Monzo在每次消费时自动预留2、5或10倍的备用零钱。

Revolut vs Monzo:他们的其他付费帐户

在介绍了Revolut和Monzo的免费和高级帐户之后,让我们快速浏览一下这些银行从Revolut开始提供的其他帐户。

Revolut Plus:

在Revolut的免费,标准计划和其6.99英镑的高级计划之间,是Revolut Plus。 每月收费2.99英镑,并提供以下功能:

  • 盗窃保险
  • 90天的窗口
  • 屏幕破裂
  • 活动报销
  • 当您在储蓄仓中存入10,000英镑时,每年将获得30英镑的利息。

旋转金属:

如果您想要一个计划,提供更多 Revolut的保费计划,请考虑使用金属包装。

每月只需​​支付12.99英镑,您将获得由单张钢筋制成的非接触式金属卡(因此得名)。 您可以免费订购一个备用零件。

您可以在Revolut的较低层计划中获得所有东西,此外:

  • 现金返还:以任何一种货币(包括加密货币)赚取高达1%的现金返还。
  • 自动柜员机提款:每月可从全球范围内的自动柜员机免费提款800英镑。 之后,您需要支付2%的交易费用。
  • 储蓄和利息:当您每年在储蓄金库中节省18,500英镑时,每年将获得120英镑的利息。
  • 承保范围:如果您的商品被盗或意外损坏,您将获得全年最高10,000英镑的保险。

金库

革命vs蒙佐

正如我们已经暗示的那样,Revolut的“ Savings Vaults”相当于Revolut的一个储蓄帐户。 您可以设置一个divi双保险库或“ Group Vault”。 Revolut的“ Group Vault”是它提供给联名账户的最接近的东西。 基本上,这是共享相同财务目标的家人,朋友,同事等的储蓄帐户。 例如,如果您和您的伴侣想一起去度假,则可以创建一个团体保险库以保存在一起。

设置输入时divi双保险库,您可以设置自己的财务目标和截止日期,并凑整零用钱以节省资金。

Revolut的初级帐户

革命vs蒙佐

这是一个出色的功能,它使它与Monzo脱颖而出。 在这里,您可以为孩子开设一个帐户,但仍然拥有完全控制权。 它的明确设计旨在鼓励孩子养成健康的财务习惯。 借助该应用程序,孩子们可以保存,跟踪和花费金钱。

使用Revolut的Junior帐户,您可以获得(当您购买标准计划时):

  • 您孩子的帐户,卡和应用
  • 对孩子的非接触式和在线消费的自定义控制。
  • 大多数有年龄限制的商人的卡块。
  • 您可以冻结和解冻孩子的卡,以管理他们的支出。
  • 孩子们可以从Revolut的产品系列中选择自己的卡片。
  • 背面贴有数字,以尽可能保护他们的帐户隐私。

升级到Revolut的付费计划之一时,初级帐户的功能:

  • 您可以设定目标和任务。 如果您想激发孩子分配杂务来赚钱,这将很方便。
  • 另外,高级帐户持有人可解锁两个初级帐户,金属版可解锁五个。

您的孩子可以在没有智能手机的情况下使用此帐户。 但是,要使用帐户的所有功能,建议他们安装该应用程序。

蒙佐加

现在,概述Monzo提供的其他计划。

与Revolut一样,Monzo的Plus帐户位于其经常帐户和Premium帐户之间。 每月费用为5英镑,您的合同必须至少租用18个月,而且您必须年满XNUMX岁。

它具有以下功能:

  • 全面了解您所有银行帐户的财务状况
  • 虚拟卡:
  • 在线订阅管理。
  • 通过给它们命名并从多种颜色中进行挑选,您最多可以个性化五张卡片。
  • 您可以创建自定义类别以对支出进行分组并个性化支出明细。
  • 帐户余额和常规彩池(不包括储蓄彩池)中的最高1.00英镑可赚取2,000%AER /总(可变)利息。
  • £400国外免费取款
  • 高级综述:与Monzo Premium相同。
  • 您可以通过Monzo应用程序跟踪您的信用评分。
  • 您可以访问Monzo Plus客户独有的优惠:通过充分利用Monzo Plus合作伙伴提供的以下优惠来对待自己:补丁程序; 你好新鲜; 裸酒; 巴比伦卫生; Fiit; 布苏

Monzo联名帐户

与Revolut不同,Monzo提供了一个联合帐户。

它的一些功能包括:

  • 你们两个的共同账户卡
  • 轻松跟踪谁在为您的钱和钱去付款的能力
  • 如果支出太快,您可以一起设定支出预算并实时获得即时通知。
  • 分别获取帐单摘要,帐户概述和其他“承诺支出”,以便您可以快速查看还剩多少钱。

Monzo 16-17帐户

革命vs蒙佐

与Revolut不同,Monzo不提供儿童帐户,但他们提供16-17帐户。 这几乎包含了Monzo标准帐户提供的所有功能。 但是,根据年龄段,Monzo禁止将钱花在18岁以下的非法活动上,例如赌博。

另外,如果您想通过PayPoint将现金支付到该帐户,则该限额低于18岁以上的经常帐户。 每六个月最多只能存入500英镑。

Revolut vs Monzo:哪个更好?

Revolut和Monzo都提供了卓越的功能,并且是传统银行的替代选择。

如我们所见, Revolut 提供初级帐户和组保险库。 但是,他们没有提供像Monzo这样的实际联名帐户。 Revolut还以较低的成本提供了更多的账户计划-他们的顶级计划Metal比Monzo的最昂贵的套餐便宜-但实际上,Monzo的整体费用可能要少一些,因为Revolut的费用结构有些复杂。

Monzo 目前仅在英国提供,而Revolut的使用范围更广。 也就是说,两者都提供可比且具有竞争力的国际价格和出色的客户服务。 尽管Monzo在这方面略有优势,但通过其网站和应用程序访问帮助更为容易。

在客户保护方面,Monzo也获得了胜利,因为FSCS保护可以保护他们。

这个决定是艰难的决定,最终取决于您。 希望本文能帮助您了解每个公司可以为您提供的服务,以及它是否满足您的需求。 或者,您是否正在考虑其他挑战者银行,例如Starling银行? 让我们知道您在下面的评论框中做出的决定!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 for more information.

Revolut vs Monzo (June 2021): Which Online Bank’s Best?

The Battle of The Banks

Revolut and Monzo are two innovative financial services that offer various personal and business accounts to suit multiple needs. They both provide a range of services designed for busy people that can be conveniently accessed via their mobile banking apps.

With Revolut and Monzo providing such similar services, this begs the question, how do they differ? What account plans do they offer? What features do they provide? We'll answer all these questions below to help you decide on the right digital bank for you.

Let’s get started!

Revolut vs Monzo: Their Plans and Fees

Both Revolut and Monzo offer several plans, with differing fees. Both provide a freemium package that in itself offers plenty of perks and services. Neither company charges you for opening or holding a standard account, and both allow you to send money internationally.

let’s compare both banks' standard, free plan side by side:
Monzo Current Account Revolut Standard Account
The fee to open/monthly fee £0 £0/€0
Card delivery fee £0 £4.99/€5.50
Customizable card No Coming soon
ATM cash withdrawals

0% on the first £200

every 30 days, 3% thereafter

0% on the first €200

per month, 2% thereafter

International money transfers 0.35%-2.85% depending on the foreign currency

0-2% on the first

€6,000, 2% thereafter

What If Your Card Is Stolen?

If your card has been stolen, it’s expired, or you're a victim of fraud, Monzo will replace your card for free. For any other reason, Monzo requires a replacement fee of £5.

Revolut charge £5 or the equivalent currency fee if you need a replacement card. You also have to pay the delivery cost on top of that.

Revolut vs Monzo: Overall Digital Banking Service

As Monzo and Revolut are online banks, it's no surprise both provide great mobile apps (Android and iOS). From here, you can access many features to help track your spending and budgeting. Some of these features include financial planning, budgeting, and multi-currency summaries.

Revolut offers both Mastercard and Visa cards- these are assigned based on location, and as such, you can't choose which card you get. You can use both Revolut's Mastercard and Visa cards online and in-person worldwide. Revolut also offers international money transfer, as well as the ability to trade using cryptocurrencies.

In contrast, Monzo is a Mastercard debit card, which again can be used online or in-person. Monzo has teamed up with Transferwise to offer international money transfers from within their app. You can also use your debit card overseas without being charged commission, and Monzo also works with platforms like Coinbase to make trading Cryptocurrency possible.

Revolut vs Monzo: International Banking

Using Your Debit Card Abroad

Monzo has the edge when it comes to using their debit card overseas. They don’t charge any commission for FX services if you pay with your Monzo card abroad. Revolut, on the other hand, if you go over $6,000 in a month, you're charged two percent on your transactions.

International Money Transfers

Monzo provides a transparent currency exchange service via its TransferWise integration. This is a highly regarded way of sending money abroad, as it boasts superb exchange rates and low fees. Depending on the currency, you'll pay between 0.35% to 2.85% of the amount you’re transferring.

With Monzo, you can only hold one currency in your bank account. However, you won’t be charged a markup on exchange when you use your card abroad. Instead, Monzo ensures you pay a wholesale rate that works out as cheap as possible.

Revolut's pricing is more complicated. It depends not only on the currency but also on trade volume and whether you’re exchanging during or outside market hours. For example, Revolut’s currency exchange service is usually more expensive over weekends. That said, we like that Revolut allows you to hold up to 24 different currencies and that money can be exchanged instantly between them.

Revolut vs Monzo: Your Card- Receiving It and Its Features

When it comes to getting your debit card, Monzo wins, hands down. They don’t charge you for sending their debit card. It can take up to two weeks to receive, but many customers report getting it within days.

Revolut, on the other hand, provides a card within nine days and charges £4.99 or €5.50 for delivery. If you’re in a rush, Revolut provides an express delivery option that will get your card to you within three to four days. Still, you’ll have to pay €19.99 for the privilege.

The features of Revolut's and Monzo's standard cards are pretty much identical. They both offer contactless payments and the ability to pay using Google Pay and Apple Pay. You can also block and unblock your debit card if it goes missing from their apps' convenience.

However, Monzo doesn’t offer a virtual card on its standard account, whereas Revolut does. In contrast, Revolut doesn’t provide interest for savings, whereas Monzo offers saving accounts at a rate of up to 1.63 %. You can also set up an overdraft with Monzo at the cost of 50p per day. On top of that, Monzo's part of the “Current Account Switching Service,” making it easy to move your existing account to them. Revolut isn’t currently part of this scheme.

Revolut doesn’t offer overdrafts but does provide other services such as automatic donations, rounding up transactions, and trading cryptocurrencies. Monzo also lets you round up your transactions to put aside in a coin jar, but it doesn’t automatically donate this money. As we’ve already touched on, Monzo also doesn’t have a native way to trade cryptocurrency, but you can do so via its Coinbase integration.

Revolut vs Monzo: Topping Up Your Account

With Monzo, you can top up your account via cash, cheque, and bank transfers. As with other banks, you can get your salary paid straight into your account, and you can also set up standing orders.

If you pay cash into your account via a PayPoint, Monzo charges £1 for every deposit you make. So, if you put in £150, they’ll put £149 into your account. This is because PayPoint charges Monzo for the service. You can also only pay between £5-300 in one go and deposit a maximum of £1,000 every six months via a PayPoint.

In contrast, Revolut allows you to top up your account via bank transfer, linked accounts, debit, or credit card. However, they charge a fee if you top up using a card. This only applies if you add money with a card issued within the EEA or a commercial card. However, it’s a small fee intended to cover Revolut’s costs. You’ll be notified how much this fee is before completing the transaction. Unlike Monzo, you can't add money into your account via cheque or cash deposits.

Revolut vs Monzo: Protecting Your Money

As stated above, you can block and unblock your card if it goes missing via their handy apps. This is a peace-of-mind feature that many will be grateful for.

Monzo offers full protection up to £85,000 via the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS). In contrast, Revolut doesn’t provide such protection and states that they offer “safeguarding” to customers instead.

Revolut bases how they safeguard your money according to the Revolut entity you’re registered to. For example, suppose you’re registered with the Revolut LTD entity. In that case, you’re registered with an electronic money institution, and they safeguard your money by depositing it into a client money bank account. These accounts are used to reimburse you should Revolut ever become insolvent.

What Happens If They Go Insolvent?

As stated above, eligible deposits in your Monzo account are protected by the FSCS up to £85,000. This means if Monzo goes insolvent, your deposits will be reimbursed (if eligible) within 20 working days.

The FSCS doesn’t guarantee Revolut in the UK. Still, it's regulated by FCA in the UK as an authorized Electronic Money Institution. Revolt safeguards your money by keeping it separate from its own funds. This means that if Revolut becomes insolvent, you should be able to claim a full refund.

What Happens If You Lose Your Phone?

With Revolut, your card will still work even without your smartphone. However, downloading the Revolut app is recommended as soon as you get a new smartphone. Just enter your phone number and select “I haven’t received a code yet”- you'll need a validation SMS. This will lead you to speak with a support agent. This is the only way customers can manage their account if they lose their phone, as unlike Monzo, Revolut doesn’t provide users with a web app.

With Monzo, if you lose your phone, you’re able to use their website to seek help. Go to “Emergencies,” log into your account and freeze your card. From their website, you’re also able to track your transactions to see if there’s any suspicious activity going on. If this is the case, contact Monzo over the phone or email for help.

Revolut vs Monzo: Their Premium Account Features

Revolut vs Monzo

If you want something more than Revolut’s or Monzo’s Standard plans, consider their Premium packages. It may be interesting to note that Monzo’s premium account is a reasonably recent adventure for the bank, released in 2020, while Revolut’s Premium has had a few years’ head start.

Revolut’s Premium Account Features

  • £6.99 per month
  • The card is shipped to over 180 countries within 1-3 business days.
  • You benefit from Revolut’s exclusive Premium card design.
  • You can order a spare card for free.

Travel features:

  • Worldwide travel insurance: This covers you for worldwide emergency medical and dental treatment. It also offers Revolut Travel Ltd’s travel insurance, discounted device insurance, and compensation for delayed flights and luggage.
  • Smart delay: If your flight is delayed by more than one hour, Revolut will send you free airport passes for you and one friend.
  • Money transfers: You can transfer money around the world using the interbank rate. Your money should arrive within 1-2 business days.
  • Unlimited foreign exchange: You can spend, transfer and exchange endless amounts of money using the interbank exchange rate
  • ATM Withdrawals: You can withdraw up to £400 per month for free using ATMs worldwide. After this, you’re charged a 2% fee.
  • Theft insurance: If your phone’s stolen, you’re able to claim for it through Revolut.

Other features:

  • Reimbursements for events: If something unexpected happens that’s out of your control, and you miss an event, Revulot will reimburse your ticket up to £1,000.
  • Savings and interest: Though Revolut doesn’t offer a savings account per se, they have something called Vaults. These Vaults are basically savings accounts. If you save £11,100, you’ll earn £75 in interest per year. You can take your money out whenever- whether that be the next day or far into the future.
  • Disposable virtual cards: Here, the details are automatically cleared after every online transaction, and new details automatically generated. This is excellent protection against fraud.
  • Up to £2,500 a year covered: This is for purchases that are stolen or accidentally damaged.
  • Cracked screen?: You’ll get refunded with Revolut’ss accident protection cover.
  • 90-day cover window: If retailers don’t take back your items, Revolut will refund items between £50 and £300.

Monzo’s Premium Account Features

Revolut vs Monzo

  • £15 per month
  • A 6-month minimum contract
  • You must be aged 18-69 to apply.
  • Access to Monzo’s white metal card design

Insurance features:

  • Electronics: Monzo offers phone insurance, provided by Assurant. This covers loss, accidental damage, cracked screens, and theft. It also includes phone coverage of up to £2,000 and accessories up to £300 (chargers, headphones, for example). The excess is £75.
  • Worldwide family travel: Provided by AXA, this insurance covers cancellation costs up to £5,000, medical bills up to £10m, lost valuables up to £750, and more. This extends to your partner and family, and the excess is £50.

Other features:

  • Interest: Earn 1.50%/1.49% AER/Gross (variable) interest on up to £2,000 in your account balance and regular Pots (excludes Savings Pots).
  • See your finances: You can connect your other bank accounts and credit cards to Monzo so you can view your finances from one centralized place.
  • Discount airport lounge access: Get a discount on over 1,000 airport lounges worldwide for you and your friends.
  • £600 fee-free withdrawals abroad: You can take up to £600 for free abroad every 30 days. (This is about three times more than a standard Monzo account).
  • Advanced roundups: You can opt for Monzo to automatically put aside 2, 5, or 10 times as much spare change every time you spend.

Revolut vs Monzo: Their Other Paid-For Accounts

After covering Revolut and Monzo’s free and Premium accounts, let’s take a quick look at the other accounts these banks offer, starting with Revolut.

Revolut Plus:

In-between Revolut’s Free, Standard plan and their £6.99 Premium plan is Revolut Plus. This costs £2.99 per month and offers the following features:

  • Theft insurance
  • 90-day window
  • Cracked screen
  • Event reimbursement
  • When you save £10,000 in your Savings Vault, you get £30 in interest per year.

Revolut Metal:

If you want a plan that offers more than Revolut’s Premium plan, consider the Metal package.

For £12.99 per month, you’ll get a contactless, metal card (hence the name) made from a single sheet of reinforced steel. You can order a spare one for free.

You get everything in Revolut’s lower-tier plans, plus:

  • Cashback: Earn up to 1% cashback in any currency, including cryptocurrencies.
  • ATM withdrawal: Withdraw up to £800 per month from ATMs worldwide for free. After that, you’re charged a 2% transaction fee.
  • Savings and interest: When you save £18,500 each year in your Savings Vault, you’ll get £120 in interest per year.
  • Coverage: You get up to £10,000 with insurance for the whole year on purchases that have been stolen or accidentally damaged.

Vaults

Revolut vs Monzo

As we’ve already hinted at, Revolut’s “Savings Vaults” are Revolut’s equivalent of a savings account. You can set up an individual vault or a “Group Vault.” Revolut’s “Group Vault” is the closest thing it offers to a joint account. This is basically a savings account for family, friends, coworkers, etc., that share the same financial goal. For example, if you and your mates want to go on holiday together, you could create a group vault to save up together.

When setting up an individual vault, you can set your own financial goals and deadlines and round up your spare change to fund your savings.

Revolut’s Junior Account

Revolut vs Monzo

This is a brilliant feature and something that sets it apart from Monzo. Here, you can open an account for your children but still retain full control. It’s explicitly designed to encourage children to develop healthy financial habits. With the app, children can save, track and spend money.

With Revolut’s Junior account, you get (when you take out the Standard plan):

  • An account, card, and app for your child
  • Custom controls over your child’s contactless and online spending.
  • Card blocks on most age-restricted merchants.
  • You can freeze and unfreeze your child’s card, to manage their spending.
  • Children can choose their own cards from Revolut’s range.
  • A number is put on the back to protect their account privacy as much as possible.

Features on the Junior account when you upgrade to one of Revolut’s paid plans:

  • You can set goals and tasks. This comes in handy if you want to motivate your children to earn money by assigning them chores.
  • Plus, and Premium account holders unlock two Junior accounts, and Metal unlocks five.

Your child can use this account without a smartphone. However, to use all the account’s features, it’s recommended they have the app.

Monzo Plus

Now, for an overview of the other plans that Monzo offers.

Like Revolut, Monzo has a Plus account that sits between their Current account and their Premium account. This costs £5 per month, you’re contracted to three months minimum, and you must be over 18.

It offers the following features:

  • Full financial visibility over all your bank accounts
  • Virtual cards:
  • Online subscription management.
  • You can personalize up to five cards by giving them names and picking from a range of colors.
  • You can create custom categories to group your spending and personalize your spending breakdown.
  • Earn 1.00% AER/Gross (variable) interest on up to £2,000 in your account balance and regular Pots (excluding Savings Pots).
  • £400 fee-free withdrawals abroad
  • Advanced roundups: the same as Monzo Premium.
  • You can track your credit score via the Monzo app.
  • You get access to offers exclusive to Monzo Plus customers: Treat yourself by making the most of the following offers from Monzo Plus partners: Patch; Hello Fresh; Naked Wines; Babylon Health; Fiit; Busuu.

Monzo Joint Account

Unlike Revolut, Monzo provides a joint account.

Some of its features include:

  • A joint account card for both of you
  • The ability to easily keep track of who’s paying for what and where your money is going
  • You can set spending budgets together and get instant notifications in real-time if you’re spending too much too fast.
  • Get a summary of your bills, an overview of your account, and other “committed spending” separately so you can quickly see how much you’ve got left.

Monzo 16-17 Accounts

Revolut vs Monzo

Unlike Revolut, Monzo doesn’t offer a kids account, but they provide a 16-17 account. This comes with pretty much everything Monzo’s standard account offers. However, in line with the age range, Monzo has blocked spending money on things illegal for under 18s, such as gambling.

Also, if you want to pay cash into this account via PayPoint, the limit is lower than the 18+ current account. You can only deposit a maximum of £500 every six months.

Revolut vs Monzo: Which is Better?

Both Revolut and Monzo provide exceptional features and a welcome alternative to traditional banks.

As we’ve seen, Revolut offers Junior accounts and group vaults. However, they don’t provide an actual Joint account like Monzo. Revolut also presents more account plans at a lower cost- their top plan, Metal, is cheaper than Monzo’s most expensive package-, but you may actually pay a little less with Monzo overall, as Revolut’s fee structure is a bit more complicated.

Monzo is currently only available in the UK, whereas Revolut has much wider availability. That said, both offer comparable and competitive international rates and excellent customer service. Though Monzo has the slight edge here, it’s easier to access help via their website and app.

Monzo also wins when it comes to customer protection, as the FSCS protection protects them.

The decision is a difficult one and ultimately down to you. Hopefully, this article has helped you see what each company can offer you, and whether it suits your needs or not. Or, are you considering other challenger banks like Starling bank? Let us know in the comments box below what you decide!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Reader's Digest, G2, and Judicious Inc. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.