ما هو NFT؟ كل ما تحتاج لمعرفته حول الرموز غير القابلة للفطريات

مع تحول كل أخبار التغريدات والميمات والقطع الفنية إلى NFTs ، أصبح من المستحيل تقريبًا على أي شخص يستخدم الإنترنت تجنب المصطلح بعد الآن. بغض النظر عن اختيارك لمنصات التواصل الاجتماعي ومنافذ الأخبار ، فلا بد أن تصادف شيئًا يشير إلى NFT مرة واحدة على الأقل يوميًا (اجعلها مرة واحدة في الأسبوع ، إذا كنت محظوظًا)

هذا أيضًا يثير الكثير من الأسئلة في الذهن: ما هو NFT؟ كيف يمكن أن يتحول شيء ما على الويب إلى NFT؟ لماذا تعتبر NFTs باهظة الثمن؟ وماذا تفعل بالضبط مع NFT؟

الاستفسارات بعيدة وواسعة. لحسن الحظ ، من السهل اكتشاف الإجابات. إذا كان لديك دقيقتان في متناول اليد ، فيمكن لهذه المعلومات الداخلية حول كل شيء عن NFTs الإجابة على جميع أسئلتك الملحة.

ما هو NFT؟

NFT هو اختصار لرمز غير قابل للاستبدال يتم إنشاؤه من خلال تقنية blockchain. كما يوحي اسمها ، فإن الرمز غير القابل للاستبدال فريد في شكله ولا يمكن استبداله بوحدة مكررة أخرى. يمكنك أيضًا النظر إلى الرمز غير القابل للاستبدال باعتباره خاصية رقمية مميزة لا تحتوي على نسخة أخرى في العالم.

هذا يجعل NFT مختلفًا عن سلفه في blockchain المسمى cryptocurrency ، والذي يحمل القيمة الدقيقة مع الرموز المميزة للعملات المشفرة الأخرى بطريقة مشابهة للعملة الفعلية.

تبدو صعبة؟ هذا لأنه محير قليلاً في البداية. بعد كل شيء ، إذا لم يكن NFT موجودًا في شكل مادي ولا يمكن استبداله برمز مميز متطابق ، فكيف يتم بيع أصول العالم الحقيقي مثل القطع الفنية على أنها NFT؟

على الرغم من أن هذا سؤال جيد جدًا ، إلا أنه يحمل إجابة واضحة جدًا.

لا توجد NFT في شكل مادي ، ولكنها يمكن أن تمثل أصولًا ملموسة في قدرة رقمية. بأخذ المثال أعلاه لقطعة فنية من المفترض أنها تحولت إلى NFT ، فإن الأصل المادي نفسه لا يتم تشكيله في رمز ملموس في هذه الحالة. بدلاً من ذلك ، لديها تمثيل رقمي فريد في شكل رمز مميز غير قابل للاستبدال على blockchain.

عندما يتم عرض أو بيع أصل مادي باعتباره NFT ، فهذا يعني أن الرمز المميز المرتبط به يحمل سمات رقمية فريدة تمثل ذلك الأصل على blockchain. نظرًا لأن NFTs للأصول المادية تمر بامتثال صارم من خلال منصات موثوقة ، يمكن لأي شخص يمتلك NFT المعني تحديد ملكية الأصل ذي الصلة.

نتيجة لذلك ، يمكن للشخص الذي يمتلك أصلًا ماديًا وقام بتحويله إلى NFT بيعه من خلال blockchain. يمكن تحديد الشخص الذي يشتريه بعد ذلك مالك NFT بالإضافة إلى الأصول المادية المرتبطة به. وتنطبق هذه الملكية أيضًا في المواقف التي تنطوي على الأصول الرقمية ؛ هم فقط خالية من جزء الملكية المادية.

يأتي الآن الجزء المتعلق بالجودة التي لا يمكن الاستغناء عنها لـ NFT وقدرتها على البيع والشراء على الرغم من هذا التمييز.

كيف يمكنك شراء NFT؟

ربما لا تزال تتساءل عما إذا كان NFT هو رمز فريد من نوعه ، فكيف يمكن لأي شخص شرائه في المقام الأول؟

مرة أخرى ، الجواب ليس بهذه التعقيد.

في حين أن NFTs مميزة للغاية ولا يمكن استبدالها مباشرة برمز مميز متطابق ، يمكن لمالك NFT أن يقرر بيعها مقابل عملة مشفرة عادية. يشبه هذا شراء عنصر نادر قابل للتحصيل من خلال العملة العادية. بينما لا يمكنك إكمال معاملتك من خلال إعطاء البائع نسخة من العنصر المحدد ، يمكنك دفع السعر الذي حدده مقابل ذلك لتصبح مالكًا للتحصيل.

بسبب هذه الآلية ، يتم بيع NFTs يسارًا ويمينًا ووسطًا من خلال معاملات العملة المشفرة. إذا تطابق السعر المعروض للمشتري المحتمل مع توقعات البائع ، فيمكن للأخير قبوله واستلام المبلغ المعني بالعملة المشفرة. يكتمل البيع بمجرد قيام البائع بتحويل NFT إلى محفظة blockchain الخاصة بالمشتري.

إذا كان NFT هو تمثيل لأصل رقمي مثل تغريدة أو meme ، فيمكن للمالك الجديد المطالبة به كعنصر قابل للتحصيل. الآن ، لنفترض أن NFT يمثل أصلًا ماديًا موجودًا في العالم الحقيقي ، فقد يختار المشتري الجديد أيضًا استخدام الأصل في وضعه المادي.

ما هي منصة Blockchain التي يتم تداولها في NFT؟

على عكس المفهوم الخاطئ لبعض الناس ، لم تكتسب NFT شعبيتها من خلال blockchain Bitcoin. في حين أن Bitcoin هي العملة المشفرة الأولى والأكثر شهرة في العالم ، إلا أنها لا تتميز بجلب NFT إلى السوق السائد.

بدلاً من ذلك ، اكتسبت NFT زخمًا من خلال سلسلة Ethereum blockchain ، والتي تصادف أنها موطن لثاني أكبر عملة مشفرة في العالم من حيث القيمة. ولكن نظرًا لأن Ethereum ليس مجرد مولد للعملات المشفرة ولكنه أيضًا نظام أساسي لتطبيق blockchain ، فإنه يجعل من السهل إنشاء رموز غير قابلة للاستبدال فريدة للغاية. تتيح المنصات الأخرى مثل Tezos أيضًا إمكانية إنشاء NFTs لمجموعة متنوعة من الأصول الرقمية والمادية.

هناك بعض الأسواق التي تتعامل في قوائم NFT. يمكن لأي شخص مهتم ببيع NFT الخاص به متابعة العملية لإدراج أصوله في شكل رمز مميز غير قابل للاستبدال على النظام الأساسي. إذا كان المشتري يحب العرض ، فيمكنه شراء NFT ، وتحويل الرمز المميز إليه ، وسداد مدفوعاته بالعملة المشفرة المطلوبة والمحددة للبائع.

ما نوع الأصول التي يمكن تحويلها إلى NFT؟

كما ذكر أعلاه ، يمكن تحويل الأصول الرقمية والمادية المختلفة إلى NFTs. الخيارات لا حصر لها تقريبًا وتعتمد على دعم النظام الأساسي المعني والمبادئ التوجيهية لإنشاء وبيع وشراء NFTs.

فيما يتعلق بالأصول الرقمية ، تتضمن بعض العناصر التي يمكن نظريًا تحويلها إلى NFTs ما يلي.

  • منشورات مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي
  • الميمات
  • موسيقى
  • ألعاب
  • الفن الرقمي
  • بطاقات التداول الرقمية
  • مقالات رقمية

من حيث الأصول المادية ، يمكن أيضًا أن تحتوي أجزاء مختلفة من الممتلكات على NFT يُنسب إلى أسمائها. تشمل هذه الخيارات على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ما يلي.

  • العقارات السكنية
  • العقارات التجارية
  • لوحات
  • اسكالبتشرس
  • سجلات الفينيل
  • مجوهرات
  • الأحجار الكريمة
  • التحف

كما هو موضح سابقًا ، فإن خيارات تحويل أي خاصية رقمية أو مادية إلى NFTs تكاد لا تنتهي. طالما يمكن تتبع العنصر إلى المنشئ أو المالك الأصلي ، فهناك فرص كبيرة في إمكانية تمثيله من خلال NFT عبر منصة blockchain ذات مصداقية. ومع ذلك ، فإن دعم الأصول المادية NFTs هو خدمة متخصصة تمامًا مقارنة بمعاملات NFT للأصول الرقمية الأكثر انتشارًا.

ماذا يحدث عند شراء NFT؟

بمجرد شراء NFT ، يحتفظ المشتري الجديد بحقوق ملكية الرمز المميز وكذلك الأصل الذي يمثله. ولكن هذا هو المكان الذي يأتي فيه جزء صعب آخر.

في حالة NFTs التي تمثل ملكية رقمية مثل تغريدة أو meme ، فإن الرمز غير القابل للاستبدال يمنح المشتري عادةً حقوق التفاخر بامتلاك الملكية الرقمية لمنشور الوسائط الاجتماعية أو meme. لكن هذا لا يعني أنه يتعين على المرء حذف التغريدة أو الميم وإخفائها عن الرأي العام. وبالمثل ، فإن أي شخص يعيد تغريد المنشور أو يشارك الميم لا ينتهك حقوق الطبع والنشر الخاصة به.

هذا يجعل معظم NFTs الرقمية مشابهة للعناصر القابلة للتحصيل التي لا تتطلب تدمير الممتلكات الفعلية أو تقييدها من الاستخدام العام. على هذا النحو ، يمكن للمرء أن يجد فن التشفير ، والمقتنيات مثل التشفيرkitالعلاقات ، والأعمال الفنية الرقمية ، والمقتنيات الرقمية المختلفة من بين العناصر الأخرى الموجودة في سوق NFT. يمكن للمرء أن يجد أن أول تغريدة أو فن NFT أو صور متحركة أو مقطع فيديو أو عروض من ألعاب الفيديو أو حتى قطة نيان يمكن أن تجلب قدرًا كبيرًا من المال في أماكن تتراوح من نيويورك إلى دلهي.

قد يكون لجنون شراء التغريدة نقطة أصل مع دورسي. في الواقع ، يتم تمثيل هذه الظاهرة من قبل NFT من Twitter CEO تغريدة جاك دورسي 2006.

بعد أن تحولت إلى NFT ، كانت تغريدة دورسي تباع في مزاد لأكثر من 2.9 مليون دولار تم دفعها في Ether (ETH) ، عملة Ethereum المشفرة. تلقى المشتري NFT يمثل التغريدة مع توقيع دورسي. ومع ذلك ، بينما تمت الصفقة في مارس 2021 ، لا تزال التغريدة قيد التشغيل Twitter ويمكن الإعجاب بها أو إعادة تغريدها.

بطريقة مماثلة ، كانت الفتاة الكارثية الشهيرة - حيث يمكن رؤية فتاة صغيرة بابتسامة ساخرة على خلفية منزل محترق - بيعت مقابل 500,000 دولار. اكتملت تلك المعاملة الخاصة بالنسخة الأصلية من الميم في أبريل 2021. ولكن لا تزال الميم مشتركة على منصات لا حصر لها من قبل مستخدمين مختلفين دون انتهاك حقوق النشر. احتفظ البائع بحقوق الطبع والنشر وجعلها أيضًا نقطة لتلقي 10 بالمائة من المبيعات المستقبلية.

بيعت Banksy NFT بأكثر من 400,000 دولار كجزء من جنون العناصر الرقمية وحفظها في محفظة رقمية.

ثم هناك NFTs الرقمية التي تفرض بالفعل ملكية حقوق النشر. ذلك لأنه ما لم يتم ذكر هذه الحقوق صراحةً داخل NFT ، المشتري لا تحصل على ملكية حقوق التأليف والنشر الأساسية بشكل افتراضي. نتيجة لذلك ، يقوم العديد من مشتري NFT ببساطة بشراء NFTs من أجل الملكية مثل التحصيل. بينما ، قد يرغب الآخرون في أن تكون حقوق النشر الأساسية مصاحبة لعملية الشراء. في هذه الحالات ، قد تظهر في الصورة شهادة رقمية أو شهادة أصالة.

فيما يتعلق بالأصول المادية مثل اللوحات أو بطاقات البيسبول أو العناصر الأخرى ، قد تتطلب العملية المزيد من الإجراءات القانونية للانتهاء من نقل الملكية بالكامل. أولاً وقبل كل شيء ، يحتاج منشئ NFT إلى إظهار أنه بالفعل مالك الأصل الذي يتم بيعه. بمجرد إجراء عمليات التحقق هذه ، يمكن نقل حقوق ملكية حقوق النشر والملكية الفكرية (IP) إلى المشتري النهائي لـ NFTs.

في بعض الحالات ، يمكن للمشتري أيضًا اتخاذ قرار بشأن ما سيحدث للعمل الفني الأصلي. شوهدت هذه الظاهرة في بيع NFT المحتمل الذي شارك فيه الفنان الموقر جان ميشيل باسكيات "Free Comb With Pagoda".

في حين ذكر المزاد أن المشترين سيحصلون على حقوق الطبع والنشر وحقوق الملكية الفكرية لقطعة باسكيات الشهيرة ، فقد ذكر أيضًا أنه سيتم تدمير العمل الفني الأصلي للحفاظ على تفرد NFT. ومع ذلك ، فإن تم سحب البيع بعد رد فعل عنيف من مجتمع الفن.

أما بالنسبة للعقار ، فإن القدرة على بيع NFTs حقيقية جدًا. A معاملة رقمية للمنزل NFT قد مر بالفعل بمبلغ 500,000 دولار في أبريل 2021. ولكن بسبب نقل الملكية ، فإن القدرة على التعامل مع العقارات في العالم الحقيقي هي عملية معقدة وطويلة لم يعد عالم العقارات جاهزًا بعد لاعتمادها في جميع المجالات. مع ذلك ، يدعو العديد من خبراء blockchain والمهنيين العقاريين إلى استخدام NFTs في هذه المعاملات.

من يحدد قيمة NFT؟

هذا جزء مثير للاهتمام للغاية يشير مباشرة إلى الإثارة التي تحيط بـ NFT ، خاصة تلك الموجودة في السعة الرقمية.

فيما يتعلق بالأصول الرقمية NFTs مثل الميمات أو الأعمال الفنية ، فإن القيمة تخضع للمضاربة والضجيج. يمكن للبائع تحديد أي سعر يبدأ يريده. الأمر متروك للمشترين فيما إذا كانوا يريدون دفع هذا السعر للأصل.

على سبيل المثال، Twitter بدأ المؤسس جاك دورسي وتغريدته التي انتهى بها الأمر بجلب عدة ملايين من الدولارات عرضه على دولار واحد. ولكن مع مرور الأيام ، بدا أن مقدمي العروض يفتنون بالتغريدة التي رفعت قيمتها إلى مستويات لم يكن من الممكن تصورها من قبل. يمكنك أيضًا تطبيق ظاهرة القيمة التخمينية هذه على ميم الفتاة الكارثية ، وكذلك على المنزل الرقمي الذي حصد نصف مليون دولار.

ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بالممتلكات المادية ، غالبًا ما يتم تحديد القيمة من خلال التقييم والعرض والطلب في العالم الحقيقي. هذا يجعل المشترين يبتعدون عن أي لبس. مع ذلك ، لا يزال بإمكان بعض القطع المادية مثل الأعمال الفنية أن تسلك طريق دار المزاد وتصل إلى أعلى ما قد يسمح به المهلة الزمنية للإجراء.

هذا مرة أخرى يجعل NFTs تشبه إلى حد كبير المقتنيات الملموسة ، حيث يعتمد سعر الأصل بشكل أساسي على ما قد يرغب المشتري الفعلي في دفعه مقابل ذلك. هذا يخلق شريحة مربحة خاصة لمنشئي المحتوى الرقمي ، الذين يمكنهم الآن تحويل جهودهم إلى شيء يترجم إلى مبلغ كبير من المال.

أنها تمكن فيdiviالثنائيات لكسب المال من ملف رقمي في بعض الحالات التي قد تحتوي على الحد الأدنى من حالات الاستخدام إلى جانب القيمة المرئية.

بينما فيdiviيمكن أن تتساءل الثنائيات عما إذا كانت بدعة ، فقد ظهرت العديد من التطبيقات ذات العقود الذكية أثناء الوباء. من المنصات النادرة إلى المشاركين مثل الفنان Beeple ، يمكن للمرء أن يجد أن أعضاء فئة الفنانين الرقميين سيختارون تقديم أحد العناصر المحتملة لتزويد معجبيهم بالبهجة الرقمية.

كيف يمكنك إنشاء NFT؟

لنفترض أن لديك جزءًا من المحتوى الرقمي قد ترغب في بيعه ، يمكنك التوجه إلى منصات مثل OpenSea أو Valuables by Cent. بعد إجراء عملية بسيطة ، يمكنك إنشاء NFT الخاص بك وبيعه للمشترين المهتمين.

تعتبر عملية إنشاء NFTs للممتلكات المادية أكثر تعقيدًا بعض الشيء. ولكن هناك بعض المنصات المتخصصة التي تعمل حاليًا على تسهيل هذه المعاملات من خلال رمز ERC721 من Ethereum ، وهو المعيار الأكثر شيوعًا لـ NFTs. منصات أخرى لديها معايير مماثلة المخططة لبيع الممتلكات الرقمية والمادية حيثما أمكن ذلك.

إن NFTs رائعة ومن المحتمل أن تبقى في شكل أو شكل ما

في الوقت الحالي ، تحظى NFT بشعبية كبيرة في بيع الأصول الرقمية. نظرًا للضجة التي تحيط بهم ، فقد قاموا أيضًا بإنشاء سوق مرغوب فيه للغاية حيث يمكن لبعض الأشخاص الذين يبيعون NFT جمع عروض ذات قيمة عالية.

مع مزيد من التطور في مبيعات الأصول المادية ، تم تعيين NFTs لجذب المزيد من الاهتمام في المستقبل القريب. ولكن لا يزال يتعين معرفة ما إذا كانت هذه الرموز المميزة غير القابلة للاستبدال ستحل بشكل ملحوظ محل استخدام معاملات العملات التقليدية.

في الوقت الحالي ، يبدو أن هذا الجزء من NFTs جديد مثل العديد من الاتجاهات الموجودة في blockchain. في حين أن المضاربين سيشاركون دائمًا بطريقة مسعورة ، فإن أولئك الذين يراقبون على الهامش قد يرون أن هناك عددًا قليلاً من عناصر الجواهر والإبداع والابتكار الموجودة داخل هذا القطاع والتي ستستمر لفترة من الوقت.

أصبح خبير التجارة الإلكترونية

أدخل بريدك الإلكتروني لبدء الحفلة

What is NFT? Everything You Need to Know About Non-Fungible Tokens

With all the news of tweets, memes, and pieces of art turning into NFTs, it is virtually impossible for anyone using the Internet to avoid the term anymore. Regardless of your choice of social media platforms and news outlets, you are bound to run into something that refers to an NFT at least once a day (make it once a week, if you are lucky).

This also brings about a lot of questions to mind: What is an NFT? How can something on the web turn into an NFT? Why are NFTs so expensive? And what exactly do you do with an NFT?

The inquiries are far and wide. Thankfully, the answers are easy to discover. If you have a couple of minutes at hand, this lowdown on everything about NFTs can answer all your burning questions.

What is an NFT?

NFT is an acronym for a non-fungible token that is created through blockchain technology. As its name suggests, the non-fungible token is unique in its form and not replaceable by another duplicate unit. You can also look at the non-fungible token as a distinctive digital property that does not have another copy in the world.

This makes an NFT different from its blockchain predecessor called cryptocurrency, which holds the exact value with other identical cryptocurrency tokens in a manner similar to actual currency.

Sounds tricky? It’s because it is a bit confusing at first. After all, if an NFT does not exist in physical form and cannot be replaced by an identical token, how are real-world assets such as art pieces sold as NFTs?

While that’s a very good question, it holds a significantly straightforward answer.

An NFT does not exist in physical form, but it can represent tangible assets in a digital capacity. Taking the above example of an art piece that has supposedly been turned into an NFT, the physical asset itself isn’t molded into a tangible token in that case. Instead, it just has unique digital representation in the form of a non-fungible token on the blockchain.

When a physical asset is offered or sold as an NFT, it means that the associated non-fungible token holds unique digital attributes that represent that asset on the blockchain. Since NFTs for physical assets go through rigorous compliance by credible platforms, anyone who holds the respective NFT can determine ownership of the related asset.

As a result, the person who owns a physical asset and has turned it into an NFT can sell it through blockchain. The person who buys it next can be determined the owner of the NFT as well as its associated physical asset. This ownership also holds true in situations where digital assets are involved; they are just void of the physical ownership part.

Now comes the part about the irreplaceable quality of NFTs and their ability to be bought and sold despite this distinction.

How Can You Buy an NFT?

You might still be wondering that if the NFT is such a unique token, how is someone able to buy it in the first place?

Once again, the answer is not that complex.

While NFTs are highly distinctive and not directly replaceable with an identical token, the owner of an NFT can decide to sell it against regular cryptocurrency. This is similar to buying a rare collectible item through regular currency. While you cannot complete your transaction by giving the seller a copy of the exact item, you can pay the price they have set against it to become the owner of the collectible.

Due to this mechanism, NFTs are being sold left, right, and center through cryptocurrency transactions. If the potential buyer’s offered price matches the seller’s projection, the latter can accept it and receive the respective amount in cryptocurrency. The sale completes once the seller has transferred the NFT to the buyer's blockchain wallet.

If the NFT is the representation of a digital asset such as a tweet or a meme, the new owner can lay claim to it as a collectible item. Now, suppose the NFT is representing a physical asset that exists in the real-world, the new buyer may also choose to utilize the asset in its physical setting.

Which Blockchain Platform Trades in NFT?

Contrary to the misconception of some people, NFTs did not gain their popularity through the Bitcoin blockchain. While Bitcoin is the world’s first and most popular cryptocurrency, it does not hold the distinction of bringing NFTs to the mainstream market.

Instead, NFTs gained momentum through the Ethereum blockchain, which happens to be home to the world’s second-largest cryptocurrency in value. But given that Ethereum is not just a cryptocurrency generator but also a blockchain application platform, it makes it easy to create non-fungible tokens that are highly unique. Other platforms such as Tezos also make it possible to create NFTs for a wide variety of digital and physical assets.

There are certain marketplaces that deal in NFT listings. Anyone interested in selling their NFT can go through the process to list their asset in the form of a non-fungible token on the platform. If a buyer likes the offering, they can purchase the NFT, have the token transferred to them, and make their payment in the seller’s required and specified cryptocurrency.

What Type of Assets Can Be Turned Into an NFT?

As mentioned above, various digital and physical assets can be turned into NFTs. The choices are virtually endless and depend upon the respective platform’s support and guidelines for creating, selling, and buying NFTs.

In terms of digital assets, some items that can theoretically be turned into NFTs include the following.

  • Social Media Posts
  • Memes
  • Music
  • Games
  • Digital Art
  • Digital Trading Cards
  • Digital Articles

In terms of physical assets, various pieces of property can also have an NFT attributed to their name. These options include but are not limited to the following.

  • Residential Real Estate
  • Commercial Real Estate
  • Paintings
  • Sculptures
  • Vinyl Records
  • Jewelry
  • Gemstones
  • Antiques

As described earlier, the options to turn any digital or physical property into NFTs are virtually endless. As long as the item can be traced back to the creator or original owner, there are high chances that it can be represented through an NFT via a credible blockchain platform. However, support for physical asset NFTs is quite a niche service as compared to the more widespread digital asset NFT transactions.

What Happens When You Buy an NFT?

Once an NFT is bought, the new buyer holds ownership rights to the token as well as the asset that it represents. But that’s where another tricky part comes in.

In case of NFTs representing a digital property such as a tweet or a meme, the non-fungible token typically gives the buyer bragging rights of holding digital ownership of the social media post or meme. But it doesn’t mean that one has to delete the tweet or meme and hide it from public view. Similarly, anyone who is retweeting the post or sharing the meme is not infringing the copyright to it.

This makes most digital NFTs similar to collectible items that do not require the actual property to be destroyed or restricted from public use. As such, one can find crypto art, collectibles like cryptokitties, digital artwork, and various digital collectibles among other items found on a NFT marketplace. One can find that a first tweet, NFT art, gifs, a video clip, representations from video games or even a nyan cat can fetch quite a bit of money in places ranging from New York to Delhi.

The tweet buying frenzy may have an origin point with Dorsey. Indeed, this phenomenon is represented by the NFT of Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey’s 2006 tweet.

After being turned into an NFT, Dorsey’s tweet was sold in an auction for over $2.9 million that was paid in Ether (ETH), Ethereum’s cryptocurrency. The buyer received an NFT representing the tweet along with Dorsey’s autograph. However, while the transaction took place in March 2021, the tweet is still up on Twitter and can be liked or retweeted.

In a similar fashion, the famous disaster girl meme – where a small girl with a wry smile can be seen with the background of a burning house – was sold for a jaw dropping $500,000. That transaction for the original copy of the meme was completed in April 2021. But the meme is still shared on countless platforms by various users without copyright infringement. The seller retained the copyright and also made it a point to receive 10 percent of future sales.

A Banksy NFT sold for over $400,000 as part of the craze for digital items and preservation in a digital wallet.

Then there are digital NFTs that actually enforce copyright ownership. It’s because unless these rights are explicitly mentioned within the NFT, the buyer doesn’t get underlying copyright ownership by default. As a result, many NFT buyers simply purchase NFTs for the sake of ownership like a collectible. Whereas, others may want the underlying copyright to accompany their purchase. In these cases, a digital certificate or certificate of authenticity may come into the picture.

In terms of physical assets such as paintings, baseball cards, or other items, the process may require more legal processes to finalize for complete ownership transfer. First and foremost, the creator of the NFT needs to show that they are indeed the owner of the asset being sold. Once these verifications are made, the copyright ownership and intellectual property (IP) rights can be transferred to the NFTs eventual buyer.

In some cases, the buyer also gets to make the decision about what happens to the original artwork. This phenomenon was seen in a would-be NFT sale involving revered artist Jean-Michel Basquiat’s artwork ‘Free Comb With Pagoda.’

While the auction mentioned that the buyers will receive copyright and IP rights to Basquiat's famed piece, it also stated that the original artwork will be destroyed to preserve the uniqueness of the NFT. However, the sale was pulled after backlash from the art community.

As for real estate, the ability to sell NFTs is very real. A digital home NFT transaction has already gone through for $500,000 in April 2021. But due to ownership transfer, the ability to transact real-world properties is a complex and lengthy process that the real estate world is not yet ready to adopt across the board. With that being said, many blockchain experts and real estate professionals are advocating for the use of NFTs in these transactions.

Who Sets the Value of an NFT?

This is a very interesting part that directly refers to the excitement that surrounds an NFT, especially those in a digital capacity.

In terms of digital asset NFTs such as memes or artwork, the value is subject to speculation and hype. The seller can set any starting price that they want. It’s up to the buyers whether they want to pay that price for the asset.

For instance, Twitter founder Jack Dorsey and his tweet that ended up fetching multi-million dollars started its bid on $1. But as the days went by, the bidders seemed to harbor a fascination for the tweet that took its value to previously-unimaginable heights. You may also apply this speculative value phenomenon to the disaster girl meme, as well as the digital house that snagged half a million bucks.

But when it comes to physical property, the value is often set by real-world valuation and supply and demand. This makes the buyers steer clear of any confusion. With that being said, some physical pieces such as artwork can still take the auction house route and go as high as the time-limit of the action may allow.

This once again makes NFTs hugely similar to tangible collectibles, where the price of the asset mainly depends on what an actual buyer would be willing to pay for it. This creates a lucrative segment especially for digital content creators, who can now monetize their efforts into something that translates to a significant amount of money.

It enables individuals to make money from a digital file in some instances that could have minimal use cases besides visual value.

While individuals can wonder if it is a fad, various applications with smart contracts have come to the fore during the pandemic. From platforms like rarible to participants like the artist Beeple, one can find that members of the digital artist category will choose to present potential one of a-kind items to provide their fans with digital joy.

How Can You Create an NFT?

Suppose you have a piece of digital content lying around that you may want to sell, you can head to platforms such as OpenSea or Valuables by Cent. After going through a simple process, you can create your own NFT and sell it to interested buyers.

The process to create NFTs for physical property is a bit more complex. But there are some specialized platforms that are currently working to facilitate these transactions through Ethereum’s ERC721 token, which is the most popular standard for NFTs. Other platforms have similarly-planned standards to sell digital as well as physical property wherever possible.

NFTs Are Fascinating and Are Likely Here To Stay In Some Shape or Form

For now, NFTs are hugely popular for the sale of digital assets. Due to the buzz around them, they also create a highly sought after market where some people selling an NFT can amass high value offers.

With further evolution into physical asset sales, NFTs are set to attract more attention in the near future. But it still remains to be seen whether these non-fungible tokens will noticeably replace the usage of traditional currency transactions.

At the present moment, this segment of NFTs seem to be a novelty much like many of the trends present within blockchain. While speculators will always participate in a frenzied way, those who are watching on the sidelines may see that there are a few gems, creativity, and innovation components that are present within this sector that will last for a while.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started