什么是商家类别代码?

商家类别代码商家类别代码是什么意思?

信用卡公司指定的代码是4数字长。 该代码列出了服务,业务线或商家的产品。 在美国,商家类别代码可用于检测是否已出于税务目的报告销售。 商家类别代码由IRS在2004中开发,作为简化商业卡持有者的1099报告的一种方式。

一旦他开始接受信用卡付款,商家将被指定为四位数代码。 该号码将由Visa,MasterCard或商家选择使用的任何其他信用卡提供商指定。 从给出的代码中,税务局可以看到所销售产品的性质,因为代码将特定于某类商品。

商家类别代码现在被各种组织用于多种目的。 您可以看到卡网络,商家,消费者和支付服务提供商都使用商家类别代码来实现自己的特定目的。 以下是各方使用MCC的原因:

  • 收单方使用商家类别代码来识别被禁止的业务类型。 他们还会在与商家合作之前衡量风险。
  • Visa,MasterCard,American Express和Discover使用商家类别代码来确定 交换费 商家被指控。
  • 具有某些商家类别代码的商家将被拒绝来自某些支付服务提供商的服务。
  • 商家收取便利费和其他类似选项的能力取决于他们的商家类别代码。
  • 只有分类有医疗保健商家类别代码的商家才能接受HSA和FSA卡。
  • 消费者在特定类别购买时累积的信用卡奖励或积分通常使用商家类别代码来计算。
成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is a Merchant Category Code?

Merchant category codeWhat does merchant category code mean?

A code that a credit card company designates that is 4 digits long. The code lists the service, line of business, or product of the merchant. Within the United States, the merchant category code can be used to detect whether or not a sale has been reported for tax purposes. Merchant category codes were developed by the IRS in 2004 as a way to streamline 1099 reporting for commercial card holders.

The merchant will be designated the four-digit code once he starts to accept payments by credit card. The number will be designated by Visa, MasterCard, or by any other credit card provider that the merchant has chosen to work with. From the code given, the tax office can see the nature of the products that are being sold as the code will be specific to a certain class of goods.

Merchant category codes are now used by a variety of organizations and for several purposes. You can see card networks, merchants, consumers and payment service providers all using the merchant category codes for their own specific purposes. Here are some reasons why each party uses MCCs:

  • Acquirers use merchant category codes to identify prohibited business types. They also measure the risk before working with a merchant.
  • Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover use merchant category codes to determine the interchange fees merchants are charged.
  • Merchants with certain merchant category codes will be denied services from some payment service providers.
  • A merchant’s ability to charge convenience fees and other similar options is based on their merchant category code.
  • Only merchants classified with healthcare merchant category codes are allowed to accept HSA and FSA cards.
  • Credit card rewards or points accumulated by consumers on specific category purchases are typically calculated using merchant category codes.
Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started