什么是信用卡交换?

信用卡交换

信用卡交换意味着什么?

收单银行或收单方将提交代表商家批准的卡交易的过程。 信用卡交易中有若干方,包括发行方,处理方和收单方。

信用卡交易涉及的过程包括评估以及各方之间的费用收集和/或分配。 信用卡交换通常也称为交换,并且交易中涉及的所有过程都已到位,以确保交易安全可靠,并且可以完成购买所需的资金。

交换最初是为了让银行能够收回因信用卡宽限期偿还债务而导致的利息损失。 事实上,Visa至今仍将交换费称为“交换报销费”。 Visa继续说“交换的主要作用是在持卡人的金融机构(向Visa向消费者发放Visa卡)和零售商招募零售商并为他们处理Visa交易的金融机构之间建立公平的激励平衡。”

交换费不是一成不变的,两个最大的信用卡品牌Visa和Mastercard的交换费可以在4月和10月每年更换两次。

每笔交易按卡品牌(Visa,Mastercard)分类,交换费取决于此分类。 每笔交易的这种分类称为交换资格,并且有几个因素可用于确定交易在交换时的资格。 一些因素可由商家控制,而其他因素则无法控制。

商家可控制的因素包括交易是卡存在还是卡不存在,卡存在的交易具有较小的费用。 交易提供的数据也会对交换费产生影响,具有完整数据的交易将收取较小的费用。 商家类别代码(MCC)也会影响费用,因为某些商家代码会自动支付更高的费用。

商家控制之外的因素包括卡类型(信用卡与借记卡),卡品牌(具有某种类型奖励的卡通常具有更高的费用),以及卡所有者(个人,企业,公司或政府)。

由于交换费用是商家信用卡处理费用的大部分,因此商家确保每项交易符合可能的最低类别以最小化所收取的费用是至关重要的。 降低处理成本的过程称为交换优化。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is Credit Card Interchange?

Credit Card Interchange

What does credit card interchange mean?

The process by which an acquiring bank or acquirer will submit card transactions that have been approved on behalf of the merchant. There are several parties in a credit card transaction including the issuer, the processor, and the acquirer.

The processes involved in a credit card transaction include the assessment as well as the collection and or the distribution of fees between the different parties. A credit card interchange is also commonly known as an Interchange and all the processes involved in a transaction are put in place to ensure that the transaction is safe and secure and that the necessary funds are available for the purchase to be completed.

Interchange originally came about as a way for banks to recover the lost interest that results from credit card grace periods for repaying debt. In fact, Visa still refers to interchange fees as “interchange reimbursement fees” to this day. Visa does go on to say that “the primary role of interchange is to create an equitable balance of incentives between the cardholder’s financial institution – which issues Visa cards to consumers – and a retailer’s financial institution that enrolls retailers and processes Visa transactions for them.”

Interchange fees are not static, and interchange fees for Visa and Mastercard, the two largest credit card brands, can be changed twice a year in April and October.

Each transaction is categorized as dictated by the card brand (Visa, Mastercard), and the interchange fee is dependent on this categorization. This categorization of each transaction is known as interchange qualification, and there are several factors that go into determining where a transaction will qualify at interchange. Some factors are controllable by the merchant, while others cannot be controlled.

The factors that are controllable by merchants include whether the transaction is card present or card not present, with card present transactions having smaller fees. The data supplied with the transaction also has an impact on the interchange fees, and transactions with complete data will see smaller fees. The merchant category code (MCC) also impacts the fees, as certain merchant codes automatically pay higher fees.

The factors which are out of the merchants control include the card type (credit vs debit), the card brand (cards with some type of reward usually have higher fees), and the card owner (individual, business, corporate or government).

Because the interchange fees are the majority of credit card processing expense for merchants, it is crucial that a merchant ensures each transaction qualifies for the lowest categories possible to minimize the fees being charged. The process of lowering processing costs is known as interchange optimization.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started