Big Cartel评论:BigCartel是您最好的电子商务平台吗?

由Matt Wigham在2005创立, 大卡特尔 通过专门针对寻找在线销售产品的简单解决方案的艺术家,将自己与其他商业解决方案区分开来 该公司非常重视使他们的平台尽可能简单,同时他们提供了操作您自己的在线商店所需的所有功能,这些功能仍然非常基础。 今天,该公司拥有的不仅仅是250,000商店,来自世界各地的艺术家经营着大部分商店。 如果您只是想在网上销售一些产品而不介意基本功能(有些卖家必须切换到更强大的平台,就像我们在 Shopify评论)那么也许Big Cartel适合你,请继续阅读以了解更多信息。

查看比较图表

我们一直在努力提供最佳比较和最准确的评论,但我们也会更新 我们的比较图表 每周。

如果您不是100%确定哪个电子商务平台最适合您的特定需求, 检查出来!

我也创造了 一个超级简单的5步骤测验 这将帮助您确定满足您特定需求的最佳平台。

大卡特尔特色

从您与Big Cartel签约的那一刻起,很明显他们只是不想提供其他电子商务平台的所有花俏,他们并不是针对大型在线零售商店,而是专注于小公司。 通过提供的功能也非常明显。

我在Big Cartel看到的最大问题之一是商店不提供搜索选项,换句话说,您的客户无法输入搜索查询以查找产品。 如果你只销售一些产品,这似乎不是一个问题,如果你有一个超过20产品的商店,它很快就会成为一个很大的烦恼。

与其竞争对手类似,该公司提供不同的定价计划,当然您支付的更多功能可以解锁。 这些功能包括库存管理,访问者数量统计信息,人们用于访问您网站的链接以及用于查找您网站的搜索字词。

如果您只是在寻找一些功能,那么Big Cartel将足以满足您的需求,但随着您的商店变得越来越大,许多用户抱怨缺乏功能。

Big Cartel易于使用

如上所述,提供的功能数量 大卡特尔 是相当有限的,虽然这可能是好的和坏的,它肯定有一个很大的优势,易用性。

使用Big Cartel创建您的第一家商店非常容易,无论您以前没有经验或多年的编码经验都没关系; 有适合每个人的东西。

仪表板有时可能有点令人生畏,但Big Cartel的情况并非如此,因为它们的仪表板与它们的使用一样容易使用。 通过使用屏幕顶部的大按钮可轻松实现导航。 通过不同的区域,您可以查看最新订单,当前产品列表以及不同的促销选项。 其他人认为文本太小而且我必须承认我同意,现在当我有几乎完美的视力时,我的母亲将很难阅读仪表板上的文字。

完成商店的基本步骤后,您可以轻松地深入了解自定义过程。 即使没有编码经验,您也可以快速创建出色的在线商店。 如果您觉得更有冒险精神,您可以随时开始根据个人喜好修改HTML和CSS代码。

正如本节开头所提到的,通过Big Cartel创建和运营商店真的不容易,但我们还是会喜欢更多的功能和主题。

大卡特尔定价

Big Cartel提供 四种不同的定价计划,最便宜的计划实际上没有任何成本,而他们最昂贵的计划每月的成本低于30。 这些是我们从电子商务平台看到的一些最具竞争力的价格。 当然和(几乎)生活中的任何事情一样,“免费”确实带来一些缺点,在这种情况下,每个免费商店只允许您销售五种产品,附带最基本的定制选项,而不是您自己的域名,您被迫使用bigcartel.com网址。

如果您注册第二个最便宜的计划,您每月只需支付9.99,但与免费版本相比,您可以在设计商店时销售25产品并拥有完整的自定义选项,它还附带库存跟踪以及您自己的个人域名。

大卡特尔模板和设计

在本次审查时,Big Cartel共提供了六个不同的主题。 是的,你读了正确的六个主题。 即使主题是可单独定制的,您也很快意识到设计并不是Big Cartel或其客户的最大因素。

所有定价计划都允许用户修改主题的CSS文件,但是如果您希望更改主题的HTML代码,则需要注册其中一个更昂贵的计划。

大卡特尔库存

如果您注册免费计划,请准备好它绝对没有库存管理。 对于所有其他计划,库存跟踪作为标准功能包含在内。

我与Big Cartel最大的抱怨之一是,一旦你给了你的产品一个名字并且创建了URL,就不会再回头了。 换句话说,您不能在以后编辑URL,这意味着您在创建新产品之前需要仔细考虑您的产品名称,因为一旦创建它们就会变得一成不变,或者至少设置在URL中。

大卡特尔SEO和营销

与竞争对手不同,Big Cartel具有非常简单的功能,可以帮助您的营销工作。 其中包括提供时间敏感折扣的选项。

您还可以将您的商店与Facebook连接。 感谢Big Cartel的Facebook应用程序,您可以轻松地直接从Facebook页面开始销售您的产品,尽管我还没有在Facebook页面上看到成功的在线购物用户体验。

不幸的是,当你真正打破它时,与一些功能更丰富的电子商务平台不同,在营销你的商店时,你真的会独自离开。

大卡特尔付款

类似于他们没有多余的设计和功能方法Big Cartel只提供两种付款选择,您可以使用Stripe接受信用卡,或者您的客户可以通过PayPal完成订单。

在Big Cartel上使用PayPal进行交易时,每次交易都会自动收取2.9%+ 30¢的费用。 这与Shopify对信用卡付款的收费完全相同。

大卡特尔安全

每个在线店主都知道安全的重要性,如果您的客户对其信息的安全性感到不确定,那么他们很有可能在其他地方完成购物。

该公司提供一流的行业标准SSL加密,以确保客户信息的安全。 这意味着无论您使用哪个连接进入仪表板,所有发送和接收的信息都将被加密。

Big Cartel客户支持

如果你需要任何形式的 支持 然后Big Cartel在周一至周五从9AM到6PM EST提供电子邮件支持。 但是,他们不提供任何形式的电话或聊天支持。

该公司确实提供访问其帮助网站的权限,该网站编写得非常好,并且内容和常见问题解答都很丰富。 他们还上传了几个视频,以帮助简化商店创建过程。 另一个很好的信息来源是他们的推特网站。

虽然我注意到他们及时回复了电子邮件,但我担心他们缺乏电话支持可能会吓跑一些潜在的客户。 至少他们应该为那些注册更昂贵的套餐的客户提供某种形式的现场支持。

总结

大卡特尔评论

大卡特尔最大的优点之一就是你可以在没有支付一分钱的情况下建立商店,尽管这是一家只有五种产品但仍然免费的小商店。 即使您确定仅仅销售五种产品还不够,提供的定价计划仍然非常实惠。

大卡特尔 可能不会提供更大的竞争对手的所有功能,但实际上感觉好像他们不是迎合大型数十亿美元的企业客户,而是在艺术和手工艺社区找到了一个舒适的利基,其中一些从Etsy毕业到独唱生涯。

如果您想要销售一些产品并且不需要大量不同的主题或奢侈的搜索引擎优化功能,那么Big Cartel可能是适合您的电子商务平台,否则您可能希望查看来自不同公司的优惠,例如 Shopify or 的Bigcommerce.

大卡特尔 评分: 4.5 - 审查

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

The Ultimate Big Cartel Ecommerce Review 2016

Bigcartel ecommerce platform review

Founded by Matt Wigham in 2005, Big Cartel sets itself apart from other commerce solutions by specifically targeting artists looking for easy solutions to sell their products online. The company has placed a great emphasis on making their platform as easy as possible, while they provide all the necessary features to operate your own online store the features remain pretty basic. Today the company hosts more than 250,000 stores, with artists from around the globe run most of these shops. If you are just looking to sell a few products online and don't mind the basic features (some sellers had to switch to a more powerful platforms as you can see in our Shopify reviews) then perhaps Big Cartel is the right fit for you, read on to find out more.

Check Out The Comparison Chart

We're constantly trying to offer the best comparisons and most accurate reviews, but we also update our comparison chart on a weekly basis.

If you're not 100% sure which ecommerce platform is best for your specific needs, check it out!

I've also created a super simple 5 steps quiz which will help you identify the best platform for your specific needs.

Big Cartel Video Overview

My colleagues Stephanie recorded a short video overviewing the most important topics I cover here so if you'd rather listen than read give it a go.

Big Cartel Features

From the very moment you sign up with Big Cartel it becomes apparent that they just aren’t interested in offering all the bells and whistles of other ecommerce platforms, they are not aiming for the large online retail stores but instead they are focused on smaller companies. This is also very visible through the features offered.

One of the biggest problems I see with Big Cartel is the fact that the stores do not offer a search option, in other words your customers cannot enter a search query in order to find a product. While this might not seem like a problem if you are only selling a few products, it quickly become a great annoyance if you have a store with more than 20 products.

Similar to their competitors the company offers different pricing plans, and of course the more you pay the more features you can unlock. These features include things such as inventory management, stats about the number of visitors, which links people use to access your site, as well as what search terms are being used to find your site.

If you are just looking for a few features then Big Cartel will have enough to meet your needs, however as your store grows bigger many users are complaining about the lack of features.

Big Cartel Ease of Use

As mentioned above, the number of features offered by Big Cartel is rather limited, while this can be both good and bad it certainly comes with one big advantage, ease of use.

Creating your first store with Big Cartel is extremely easy, whether you have zero previous experience or years of coding experience it doesn’t matter; there is something for everyone.

The dashboard can sometimes be a bit daunting, however this isn’t the case with Big Cartel as their dashboard is about as easy to use as they come. Navigation is easily achieved through the use of large buttons at the top of the screen. The different areas allow you to see your latest orders, a list of your current products as well as different promotion options. Others have argued that the text is too small and I must admit I agree, now while I have almost perfect vision my mother would have a hard time reading the text on the dashboard.

Big Cartel review - Dashboard

Once you have completed the basic steps of your store you can easily delve right into the customization process. Even with no coding experience you can quickly create a great online store. Should you feel more adventurous you can always start modifying the HTML and CSS codes to your personal liking.

As mentioned at the beginning of this section, it really couldn’t be easier to create and run a store through Big Cartel, still we would have liked a few more features and themes.

Big Cartel Pricing

Big Cartel offers four different pricing plans, the cheapest plan actually costs nothing, while their most expensive plan costs less than $30 per month. These are some of the most competitive prices we have ever seen from an ecommerce platform. Of course as with (almost) anything in life “free” does come with a few drawbacks, in this case each free shop only allows you to sell five products, comes with the most basic customization options and instead of your own domain you are forced to use a bigcartel.com URL.

Big Cartel review - Pricing

Try-Shopify

If you sign up for the second cheapest plan you only pay $9.99 a month but compared to the free version you can sell 25 products and have full customization options when designing your store, it also comes with inventory tracking as well as your own personal domain.

Big Cartel Templates and Design

At the time of this review Big Cartel offered a total of six different themes. Yes you read that right six themes. Even though the themes are individually customizable you quickly become aware of the fact that design just isn’t the biggest factor for Big Cartel or their customers.

All pricing plans allow users to tinker with the CSS files for the themes, however if you wish to change the HTML code of the theme then you need to sign up for one of the more expensive plans.

Big Cartel Inventory

If you sign up for the free plan be prepared that it comes with absolutely no inventory management. With all other plans inventory tracking is included as a standard feature.

One of the biggest gripes I have with Big Cartel is the fact that once you have given your product a name and the URL has been created there is no going back. In other words you cannot edit the URL at a later time, and this means you really need to consider your product names carefully before you create a new product, because once created they become set in stone, or at least set in URL.

Big Cartel SEO & Marketing

Unlike competitors Big Cartel comes with very simple features that can help your marketing efforts. These include among other things the option of offering a time sensitive discount.

You can also connect your store with Facebook. Thanks to the Big Cartel’s Facebook app is it easy to start selling your products directly from your Facebook page, although I have yet to see a successful online shopping user experience on a Facebook page.

Unfortunately when you really break it down, unlike some of the more feature rich ecommerce platforms you are really left on your own when it comes to marketing your store.

Big Cartel Payments

Similar to their no frills approach to design and features Big Cartel only offers two choices for payments, you can either use Stripe for Credit Card acceptance or your customers can complete their orders through PayPal.

When using PayPal for transactions on Big Cartel you are automatically charged 2.9% + 30¢ for each transaction. This is exactly comparable to what Shopify charges for credit card payments.

Big Cartel Security

Every online storeowner knows the importance of security, if your customers feel uncertain about the security of their information then chances are they will complete their shopping elsewhere.

The company provides top-notch industry standard SSL encryption to keep customer information secure. This means that no matter which connection you use to enter your dashboard all information sent and received will be encrypted.

Big Cartel Customer Support

If you need any form of support then Big Cartel offers email support Monday – Friday from 9AM to 6PM EST. However, they do not offer any form of phone or chat support.

Big Cartel review support

The company does offer access to their help site, which is very well written and filled with helpful content and FAQs. They has also uploaded several videos to help make the store creation process easier. Another good source of information is their Twitter site.

While I noticed they respond to emails in a timely manner I am just worried that their lack of phone support might scare some potential clients away. At the very least they should offer some form of live support for those clients signing up for the more expensive packages.

Conclusion

Big Cartel review

One of the biggest pluses Big Cartel has is the fact that you can set up a store without paying a dime, albeit a small shop with only five products but still free. Even if you do decide that selling five products just isn’t enough the pricing plans offered are still very affordable.

Big Cartel might not offer all the features of bigger competitors, but truthfully it feels as if they are not catering towards the large multibillion-dollar corporate clients but rather have found a comfortable niche in the arts and crafts community, some of them graduating from Etsy to a solo career.

If you are looking to sell a few products and do not need a ton of different themes or extravagant SEO features then Big Cartel might be the right ecommerce platform for you, otherwise you might want to look at offers from different companies, like Shopify or Bigcommerce.

Big-Cartel Rating: 4.4 - Review by

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

8 Responses

  1. I’m an artist who really only foresees selling 10-15 products at a time. These features seemed really limited, and I’m not crazy about not being able to edit my product names. Does that mean I can’t rotate my products if I want to sell different ones? Is it worth the money saving, or should I anti-up for a better platform?

  2. I loved Big Cartel, but was just too difficult managing online inventory alongside brick and mortar inventory. They don’t integrate with anyone, not Stitch Labs, not Square – huge PITA. I’m using Square because they have a nice inventory feature, but am not thrilled with their online shop – no site analytics, limited flexibility, and a few other major missing features. Wish there was an all-in-one solution that kicked ass or that Big Cartel would just integrate already.

  3. What do you mean by n-products? E.g., I sell Widget A, Widget B, and Widget C.

    Each Widget Category has several different items within. For example:
    Rubber Balls Gloves
    Red Balls Leather Gloves
    Blue Balls Cloth Gloves
    Green Balls Plastic Gloves

    Is that two products or six?

    Peace,
    j

  4. I love Big Cartel but it lack better analytics… I use Google Analytics as well but it’s not enough because I started using Facebook and Twitter for marketing and GA can’t handle the data. I need to check stats regarding likes, follows, etc. Also any mailing stats would be helpful. Is there a way to link it to the store data?

  5. you can make your big cartel store pretty nice with some basic coding and html.. im sure you can add a search if you like.. i have customized my store on some decent levels all DIY..

    Also is nice to use your own URL to make things more profess..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *