什么是商家服务提供商?

了解商家服务提供商

如果您通过此页面上的链接订阅服务,Reeves and Sons Limited 可能会赚取佣金。 查看我们的 伦理声明.

出于多种原因,开始在线业务是一个复杂的过程。

除了弄清楚您将要出售的产品以及将要出售给谁的产品之外,您还需要一个计划来将您的业务推向市场并发展品牌。 有设置结帐系统,需要考虑的交易费用以及需要考虑的广告费用。

最重要的是,您在电子商务领域中花费的时间越多,您在学习一种新语言的感觉就越多。 诸如“ POS系统”,PCI和商户帐户之类的术语可能会让任何企业家感到困惑。

商家服务提供商是您在建立业务时可能会遇到的常见术语之一。

要在线创建成功的策略,您需要一种付款处理解决方案,而商家服务提供商可以提供帮助。

今天,我们将帮助您一劳永逸地绕过商家服务提供商的困惑。 这是您对问题的回答:“什么是商家服务提供商?”

商家服务提供商定义

要了解商家服务提供商是什么,您首先需要了解以下术语 商户服务。 作为在线销售产品或服务的企业主,您是 商人。 商家服务是使您能够进行交易的硬件和软件解决方案。

例如,信用卡处理工具,接受借记卡的POS解决方案以及用于卡交易的在线表格都是各种商家服务。

在电子商务时代之前,商家服务是一种完全脱机的概念。 您曾经从带有硬件的卡上取钱,然后以这种方式跟踪购买情况。 您的POS可以将钱汇到您的银行帐户,并且不需要任何复杂的支付网关解决方案。

现在,如果您想接受来自世界各地的付款,则不仅需要销售点系统。 商户服务已在数字时代发展,允许虚拟终端产品和完全在线发生的信用卡付款。

有些人甚至在商家服务的总括定义下包括了库存跟踪工具,因为它们可以帮助公司管理其在线销售。

商家服务提供商或商家帐户提供商是使您能够访问处理所有重要交易所需的所有工具的公司或服务。 您的商家服务提供商负责从销售点到付款网关的所有事务。

定义不同类型的商家服务提供商

因此,商家服务提供商是可以帮助您在线或离线进行签证和信用卡付款的公司。 看起来很简单,对吧?

对于当今的企业主而言,事情开始变得复杂的地方是,存在各种不同类型的商人服务提供商。 不同的公司提供不同的解决方案。 有些是为小企业主设计的,而另一些则支持大公司和特许经营权。

最常见的商家服务提供商通常分为几个关键类别。 这些包括:

商家帐户提供商

商家帐户提供商通常会为您提供简单的信用卡处理服务,这样您就可以确保当客户在线或离线付款时都能赚钱。 这些公司通常提供与某些最大的信用卡网络(例如美国运通和万事达卡)合作的处理服务。 您在商户帐户提供商上花费的金额将取决于您要使用哪种处理服务。

支付服务提供商

支付服务提供商为想要接受各种支付方式的公司提供了替代解决方案。 较小的组织并不总是需要完整的商家服务提供商来接受信用卡或借记卡付款。 像这样的支付服务提供商 Square 或PayPal,无需专用帐户即可更轻松地接受在线付款。 取而代之的是,您的帐户已与其他许多商家合并在一起,并且您没有唯一的ID号。

PSP帐户非常适合希望降低成本和简化技术的公司。 但是,支付服务提供商也更有可能在没有警告的情况下冻结您的帐户。

支付网关提供商

随着在线销售和电子商务变得越来越流行,支付网关提供商也越来越受到关注。 这些解决方案使您可以接受在线支付。 您可能会获得商家帐户作为交易的一部分,也可能不会。 一些公司可以提供仅网关服务,这使公司可以更轻松地访问更灵活的在线支付管理解决方案。

商家服务提供商的功能是什么?

您使用商家服务提供商帐户解锁的功能将取决于您选择的服务类型。 一些公司仅向您提供处理服务,而其他公司则提供诸如PCI合规性以及免于拒付费用之类的帮助。

大多数商家服务提供商将为您提供广泛的服务和产品选择,使您更轻松地在线运营商店。 所有企业都需要获取商户帐户或付款服务提供商帐户才能在线进行付款。 但是,由您决定哪种策略适合您。

商家服务提供商帐户的一些最常见功能包括:

  • 商家帐户: 商户帐户是必不可少的帐户,它们充当客户的银行帐户和企业银行帐户之间的中间人。 完整的商家帐户会为您提供一个ID号,以帮助您防止欺诈等问题。 如果您拥有付款服务提供商帐户,那么您也可以接受付款,但是您不会获得同等的支持或保护级别。 在您的商人帐户中,将存储客户付款卡中的款项,然后将其存入您的银行帐户。
  • 信用卡终端: 信用卡处理器可以采用物理或虚拟格式。 如果您是一家实体店的零售商,那么您可能需要可以亲自与客户一起使用的信用卡处理程序。 您可以从商家服务帐户提供商处获得读卡器。 但是,支付服务提供商有时也可以提供终端。 Square 例如,贝宝(PayPal)和贝宝(PayPal)都有自己的读卡器选项。 不同的终端具有各自独特的功能。 例如,有些将允许您进行非接触式或无密码支付。 其他将支持通过智能手机付款。
  • 销售点系统: 销售点系统与卡终端和支付处理硬件不同。 相反,这些解决方案将卡终端的功能与带有随附软件的计算机显示器结合在一起。 POS上的软件将帮助您管理库存和分析等内容。 您可以使用此技术监视销售情况,收集税收信息等。 许多领先的销售点系统都带有附加选项,例如收据打印机和专用扫描仪。
  • 支付网关: 支付网关是商家帐户和支付服务提供商帐户的另一个常见功能。 这些网关将您的服务提供商的处理网络与您的网站桥接在一起,以便您可以通过Internet进行付款。 有时,如果您想使用此功能,则需要每月为支付网关支付费用。 这是您还需要花费的所有处理费用的基础。

商家服务帐户的其他功能

商户服务提供商向希望在线销售产品和服务的企业提供安全性和便利性的结合。 没有合适的服务提供商,您将无法建立成功的商店,因为付款是不可能的。

一些领先的商家服务提供商通过提供更好的付款安全性,也为他们的客户提供了很多额外的安心。 您的商家服务提供商可以提供PCI合规性方面的帮助,使您的客户放心。 由于您的企业存储的持卡人数据是加密的,因此可以保持安全。

商户服务帐户还可以以退款保护的形式为您提供保护。 这意味着当对您出售给客户的东西产生争议时,交易被撤消,客户收回了他们的钱。 退款意味着您不必浪费时间与供应商或客户争论。

商家帐户的其他功能可能包括:

  • 虚拟终端: 这些是通过云交付的软件解决方案。 通常,他们可以将iPad,平板电脑或计算机变成便携式销售点系统。 您可以手动将交易输入系统,也可以使用USB连接的读卡器。 如果您倾向于参观节日或在弹出式商店出售产品,这可能会有所帮助。
  • 在线购物车: 一些商家服务提供商和支付服务提供商也可以为您的购物车软件提供帮助。 大多数时候,您的电子商务网站构建工具将是购买购物车软件的最佳去处。 但是,在进行投资之前,有必要确保您的购物车与商家服务提供商具有兼容性。
  • 商户预支现金: 如果您需要额外的资金来开展业务,那么有时商家服务提供商可以使您获得额外的现金。 作为回报,您可以将部分收入返还您所借的公司,直到您偿还欠款为止。 商户预付款与贷款不同,因为您不需要每个月偿还固定金额。

如何选择好的商家服务提供商

如果您正在寻找商户服务提供商或支付服务提供商来支持您的业务,则可能很难确定您的真正需求。 有很多不同的选择,以及不同类型的服务提供商可供选择。

理想情况下,您首先需要仔细考虑您要经营的业务类型。 如果您每个月只赚几千美元,那么与付款服务提供商合作可能比使用完整的商人服务提供商容易。

在检查您的选项时应考虑的几件事包括:

  • 费用和定价结构: 会员费,互通附加费和固定费用都是您需要考虑的所有事情。 一些服务提供商具有分层的定价结构和额外的交易费率。
  • 易于使用: 您需要自信地使用商户服务提供商提供的技术,以便充分利用该技术。
  • 特色: 您可以通过商家服务提供商解锁哪些额外功能? 是否有用于跟踪您的销售的报告工具以及各种支付网关选项?
  • 用户评论: 过去,其他公司对服务提供商有何反应? 公司在客户支持方面是否享有良好声誉。
  • 安全性: 您的商家服务提供商如何确保您的交易安全? 取钱并处理并发症有多容易?

最佳商户服务提供商中的6家

为了帮助您与商家服务提供商一起做出正确的决定,我们搜索了一些市场领先者,以带给您这些杰出的业绩。

1. Square

Square 是想要在线上和线下销售产品的零售商的最佳商户服务提供商之一。 和 Square,您将获得付款处理器,以及一系列工具来帮助您快速开始销售,甚至可以访问硬件(例如销售点系统)。

Square 非常适合刚起步的小型公司,因为它具有快速简便的设置,无大量合同且无大量月租费用的特点。 您甚至可以免费获得磁条阅读器进行离线销售。 当您在线销售时, Square 可以帮助您通过 免费网站建设者 了。

定价

定价 Square 很简单,每个人只有一个层次。 对于任何刷卡,支票或水龙头付款,费用为交易的2.75%。 键入的交易有时会更昂贵,最多花费您收入的3.5%。

优点

  • 免费网站建设者
  • 非常适合离线和在线销售
  • 处理贷记和借记付款的简便方法
  • 简单的定价结构

缺点

  • 某些信用卡交易的交易费用较高。

2. 贝宝

贝宝 是当今市场上最受欢迎的支付服务提供商之一。 无论您经营的企业规模或风格如何,每个人都能找到适合自己的东西。 借助PayPal,您可以进行在线,离线或移动支付。 您还可以访问PayPal硬件(例如,刷卡系统)以在旅途中进行付款。

贝宝(PayPal)提供的基本服务对于支付需求最少的公司来说更好。 即使有商户帐户和销售点系统可供探索,PayPal也特别适合电子商务公司。

定价

PayPal体验的价格将取决于您要使用的功能类型。 交易费起价为2.9%加30美分,这使PayPal成为在线支付和交易的竞争选择。

优点

  • 没有月租费
  • 非常适合在线交易
  • 非常适合从世界各地获取付款
  • 知名品牌提供信誉

缺点

  • 有限的离线功能

3. Payline Data

有大量不同的商人服务提供商可供选择。 Fattmerchant,付款站和TSYS等公司使您的业务起步变得容易得多。 Payline Data 是一项商户服务,承诺简化您的信用卡和借记卡交易。

有多种计划可供选择 Payline data,包括那些特别适合某些行业的。 例如,您可以获得医疗保健领域的 Payline Medical。 支付线网关可作为 plugin 用于基本的商业网站功能。

公司还可以使用Payline访问虚拟终端。

定价: Payline为公司提供透明的定价和具有竞争力的价格。 刷卡交易属于Payline Start类别,每月收费10美元,每笔交易收取2%的费用。 在Payline Connect下,键入和在线交易的费用为每月10美元,交易费为3%,每次付款为20美分。

优点

  • 快速批准
  • 透明的定价结构
  • 灵活友好的设计
  • 综合商业贷款服务

缺点

  • 月费

4.

是一家领先的商家服务公司,为成长中的公司提供大量强大的功能。 如果您正在寻找一家方便,可靠的信用卡处理公司,那么这可能是您的理想品牌。

Dharma适用于大型公司,其定价结构适用于每月处理约10,000美元销售额的公司。 该商家服务提供商始终提供公平合理的价格,并在网站上提供了所有标准费率信息。

但是,如果您经营的是高风险企业,Dharma可能不是适合您的MSP。 除商户帐户外,Dharma还提供支付网关和信用卡终端。

定价

Dharma Merchant 服务提供最透明的定价结构之一,包括互换加定价。 零售,电子商务和餐馆公司的月租费为20美元。 零售和饭店转乘价格为0.15%,每笔交易加7美分。 虚拟费率为0.20%,每笔交易加10美分。 如果您每个月的销售额超过100,000美元,则您的费用仅为每月15美元,并且交换加价为10%加上每笔交易5美分。

优点

  • 非常适合大批量销售
  • 互换加定价
  • 某些非营利公司的折扣价
  • 良好的透明度和客户支持
  • 按月计费

缺点

  • 对于小型公司而言并不理想
  • 不支持高风险公司

5. 付款仓库

寻找合适的商家服务帐户提供商很像寻找支付卡行业中最好的提供商。 每个人都有自己的需求。 付款站 是提供会员定价模式的商家服务提供商。 您只需支付固定的月费,即可在每笔交易中获得具有竞争力的价格。

Payment Depot可让公司轻松接​​受所有主要信用卡,以及Apple Pay,Google Pay,MasterCard,discover等。 这项服务最适合每月处理大量交易(通常约为20,000美元或更多)的公司。

定价

Payment Depot的会员模式带有一系列定价选项。 最低费用为每月49美元,根据公司的规模和所需功能,费用可能高达199美元/月。 设定好计划后,您无需支付交易费用即可支付交易的交换费。 唯一的额外费用是固定费用,可能是5美分到15美分。

优点

  • 没有百分比加价
  • 多种收费选择
  • 接受所有主要付款方式
  • 方便易用
  • 很好的客户支持

缺点

  • 对于小型公司而言并不理想

6. Quickbook付款

QuickBooks的 最著名的是发票和会计服务。 但是,使用QuickBooks付款,您也可以在线和离线处理交易。 有面向初学者的免费试用版,您还可以添加其他Quickbooks功能来管理您的销售和财务状况(出于税收目的)。

通过QuickBooks付款,您可以轻松地从一个空间管理企业财​​务方面的所有事务。 您甚至可以通过ACH接收现金转帐。 QuickBooks与PayPal和 Square 在其定价结构中,因为没有每月最低费用,您可以根据需要立即开始使用付款处理服务。

定价

QuickBooks Payments提供了一种简单直接的付款结构。 您支付的费率取决于您要处理的销售类型。 对于简单的开始,您每月在交易上花费约12英镑,并有一笔基本交易费。 如果您每月处理的费用超过$ 7,500,Quickbooks还可以为您自定义交换计划。

优点

  • 提供多种奖励功能
  • 便捷的每月定价
  • 一站式轻松管理您的整个财务策略
  • 没有每月最低
  • 小型或大型企业就绪

缺点

  • 昂贵的附加功能

了解商家服务提供商

从EMV到收单方和商家服务提供商,在商业世界中有很多术语可能会令人困惑。 但是,一旦您掌握了什么是商家服务提供商,以及它对于您的公司如此重要的原因,您就可以开始寻找适合您的解决方案。 从Authorize.net和第一批数据到PayPal和 Square。 您选择的服务将取决于您的业务需求以及您管理的交易类型。

请记住,并非每个公司都需要一个完整的商家服务帐户。 仅零售业务可能只需要可靠的信用卡终端。 电子商务公司可能需要没有终端的支付网关。 每个业务都是不同的。 成功的关键是找出对您的公司有效的方法。

What is a Merchant Service Provider?

Understanding Merchant Service Providers

Starting your online business is a complicated process for a lot of reasons.

Aside from figuring out what you’re going to sell and who you’re going to sell it to, you also need a plan for taking your business to market and growing your brand. There are checkout systems to set up, transaction fees to think about, and advertising costs to consider too.

On top of all that, the more time you spend in the eCommerce landscape, the more it can feel like you’re learning a new language. Terms like “POS systems”, PCI, and merchant account can leave any entrepreneur in a spin.

One of the common terms that you’re likely to come across as you build your business, is a merchant service provider.

To create a successful strategy online, you’re going to need a payment processing solution, and a merchant service provider can help with that.

Today, we’re going to help you bypass the confusion around merchant service providers once and for all. Here’s your no-nonsense answer to the question: “What is a Merchant Service Provider?”

Merchant Service Provider Definition

To know what a merchant service provider is, you first need to understand the term merchant services. As a business owner that sells products or services online, you’re a merchant. Merchant services are the hardware and software solutions that enable your transactions.

For instance, credit card processing tools, POS solutions that accept debit cards, and online forms for card transactions are all kinds of merchant services.

Before the age of eCommerce, merchant services were an exclusively offline concept. You used to take money from a card with a piece of hardware, and you would track your purchases that way. Your POS would send money to your bank account, and there was no need for any complicated payment gateway solutions.

Now, if you want to accept payments from around the world, you need more than just a point of sale system. Merchant services have evolved for the digital age, allowing for virtual terminal products, and credit card payments that happen entirely online.

Some people even include inventory tracking tools under the umbrella definition of merchant services because they help companies with managing their online sales.

A merchant service provider or merchant account provider is a company or service that gives you access to all the tools you need to handle those all-important transactions. Your merchant service provider is responsible for everything from your point of sale, to your payment gateway.

Defining the Different Types of Merchant Service Provider

So, merchant service providers are companies that help you take visa and credit card payments online or offline. Seems simple enough, right?

Where things start to get complicated for today’s business owners, is that there are various different kinds of merchant service provider. Different companies offer different solutions. Some are designed for small business owners, while others support larger companies and franchises.

The most common kinds of merchant service provider often fall into a few key categories. These include:

Merchant account providers

A merchant account provider generally offers you simple credit card processing services so you can ensure that you’re getting money when a customer pays you online or offline. These companies often provide processing services that work with some of the largest credit card networks, like American Express, and Mastercard. The amount you spend on your merchant account providers will depend on what kind of processing services you want to use.

Payment Service Providers

Payment service providers offer an alternative solution for companies that want to accept various payment methods. Smaller organizations don’t always need a full merchant service provider to accept credit or debit card payments. Payment service providers like Square or PayPal make it easier to accept online payments without a dedicated account. Instead, your account is aggregated with a number of other merchants, and you don’t get a unique ID number.

PSP accounts are excellent for companies that want to keep costs low and technology simple. However, payment service providers are also more likely to freeze your account without warning.

Payment Gateway Providers

As online sales and eCommerce have become more popular, payment gateway providers are also gaining more traction. These solutions allow you to accept online payments. You may get a merchant account as part of the deal, or you might not. Some companies can offer gateway-only services which make it easier for companies to access more flexible solutions for online payment management.

What are the Features of Merchant Service Providers?

The features that you unlock with a merchant service provider account will depend on the kind of service you choose. Some companies only offer you processing services, while others help with things like PCI compliance and protection from chargeback fees.

Most merchant service providers will give you a wide selection of service and products that make it easier to run your store online. All businesses need to acquire either a merchant account or a payment service provider account to take payments online. However, it’s up to you to determine which strategy is the bet for you.

Some of the most common features of a merchant service provider account include:

  • A merchant account: Merchant accounts are essential accounts that act as a middleman between your customer’s bank account, and your business bank account. Full merchant accounts give you an ID number that help you to protect against issues like fraud. If you have a payment service provider account, then you can also accept payments, but you don’t get the same level of support or protection. Your merchant account is where the money from your customer’s payment card will be stored before they’re deposited into your bank account.
  • Credit card terminals: Credit card processors can come in physical, or virtual format. If you’re a retailer with a brick and mortar store, then you may need credit card processors that you can use with customers in person. You can get a card reader from your merchant services account provider. However, payment service providers can sometimes offer terminals too. Square and PayPal have their own card reader options, for instance. Different terminals come with their own unique features. For instance, some will allow you to take contactless or pin-free payments. Others will support payments from smartphones.
  • Point of Sale systems: Point of sale systems aren’t the same as card terminals and payment processing hardware. Instead, these solutions combine the functions of your card terminal with a computer display with included software. The software on your POS will help you to manage things like inventory, and analytics. You can monitor your sales, gather information for tax purposes, and more with this technology. Many leading point of sale systems come with add-on options, like receipt printers and dedicated scanners.
  • Payment gateways: Payment gateways are another common feature for both merchant accounts and payment service provider accounts. These gateways bridge your service provider’s processing networks with your website so that you can take payments over the internet. Sometimes, you’ll need to pay a monthly fee for your payment gateway if you want to access this feature. This is on top of any processing fees that you need to spend too.

Other Features of Merchant Service Accounts

Merchant service providers offer a combination of security and convenience to businesses looking to sell products and services online. Without the right service provider, you wouldn’t be able to build a successful store, because taking payments would be impossible.

Some of the leading merchant service providers offer a lot of extra peace of mind for their customers too, by allowing for better payment security. Your merchant service provider can help with things like PCI compliance, which puts the minds of your customers at ease. Because the cardholder data stored by your business is encrypted, it stays secure.

Merchant service accounts can also offer protection for you in the form of chargeback protection. This means that when a dispute is made about something you sold to a customer, the transaction is reversed, and the customer gets their money back. Chargeback means that you don’t have to waste time on arguments with suppliers, or customers.

Other features of merchant accounts might include:

  • Virtual terminals: These are software solutions delivered over the cloud. Often, they can turn iPads, tablets, or computers into portable point of sale systems. You can enter transactions into the system manually, or use a USB connected card-reader. If you tend to visit festivals or sell your products with pop-up shops, this can be helpful.
  • Online shopping carts: Some merchant service providers and payment service providers can help with your shopping cart software too. Most of the time, your eCommerce site building tool will be the best place to go for shopping cart software. However, it’s worth making sure that your cart has compatibility with your merchant service provider before you invest.
  • Merchant cash advances: If you need extra money to launch your business, then a merchant service provider can sometimes give you access to extra cash. In return, you might give a portion of your earnings back to the company that you borrow from until you repay what you owe. Merchant advances are different to loans because there isn’t a set amount you need to repay every month.

How to Choose a Good Merchant Service Provider

If you’re on the hunt for a merchant service provider or payment service provider to support your business, it can be difficult to determine what you really need. There are a lot of different options out there, and different kinds of service provider to choose from.

Ideally, you’ll want to start by thinking carefully about the kind of business you want to run. If you’re only making a few thousand dollars in sales every month, then working with a payment service provider might be easier for you than using a full merchant service provider.

A few things to consider when examining your options may include:

  • Fees and pricing structure: Membership fees, interchange plus, and flat-rate fees are all things that you’ll need to think about. Some service providers have tiered pricing structures and extra transaction rates to consider.
  • Ease of use: You need to feel confident using the technology available from your merchant service provider so that you can get the most out of it.
  • Features: What kind of extra features can you unlock with your merchant service provider? Are there reporting tools for tracking your sales, and various payment gateway options?
  • User reviews: How have other companies responded to the service provider in the past? Does the company have a good reputation for customer support.
  • Security: How does your merchant service provider keep your transactions secure? How easy is it to access your money and deal with complications?

6 of the Best Merchant Service Providers

To help you make the right decision with your merchant service provider, we’ve searched through some of the market leaders to bring you these top performers.

1. Square

Square is one of the best merchant services providers for retailers who want to sell their products online and offline. With Square, you get a payment processor, a range of tools to help you start selling quickly, and even access to hardware, like point of sale systems.

Square is perfect for smaller companies who are just starting out, because it comes with a quick-and-easy set-up, no massive contracts, and no extensive monthly fees. You can even get a free mag stripe reader for your offline selling. When you’re selling online, Square can help you to build an engaging presence with a free website builder too.

Pricing

Pricing for Square is simple, with a single tier for everyone. For any swipe, dip or tap payments, the cost is 2.75% of your transactions. Keyed-in transactions are sometimes more expensive, costing up to 3.5% of your revenue.

Pros

  • Free website builder
  • Great for offline and online selling
  • Easy way to process credit and debit payments
  • Simple pricing structures

Cons

  • Higher transaction fees for some credit card transactions.

2. PayPal

PayPal is one of the most popular payment service providers on the market today. There’s something for everyone, no matter the size or style of business that you run. With PayPal, you can take online, offline, or mobile payments. You can also access PayPal hardware such as swiping systems for taking payments on the move.

The basic service available from PayPal is better for companies with minimal payment needs. PayPal is particularly well suited to eCommerce companies, even though there are merchant accounts and point of sale systems to explore.

Pricing

The price of your PayPal experience will depend on the kind of features you want to access. Transaction fees start at 2.9% plus 30 cents, which make PayPal a competitive option for online payments and transactions.

Pros

  • No monthly fees
  • Excellent for online transactions
  • Great for getting payments from around the world
  • Well-known brand offers credibility

Cons

  • Limited offline features

3. Payline Data

There are tons of different merchant service providers out there to choose from. Companies like Fattmerchant, payment depot, and TSYS make getting started with your business a lot easier. Payline Data is a merchant service that promises to simplify your credit and debit card transactions.

There are a variety of plans available from Payline data, including those specifically suited to certain industries. For instance, you can get Payline Medical for the healthcare field. The Payline gateway is available as a plugin for basic business website functionality.

Companies can also access virtual terminals with Payline.

Pricing: Payline offers transparent pricing and competitive rates for companies. A swiped transaction falls under the category of Payline Start, which has a fee of $10 per month, and 2% per transaction. Keyed in and online transactions cost $10 per month under Payline Connect, with a 3% transaction fee and 20 cents for every payment.

Pros

  • Quick same-say approvals
  • Transparent pricing structure
  • Flexible and friendly design
  • Integrated business loan service

Cons

  • Monthly fees

4. Dharma

Dharma is a leading merchant services company offering plenty of great functionality to growing companies. If you’re looking for a convenient and reliable credit card processing company then this could be the perfect brand for you.

Dharma is intended for larger companies, with a pricing structure that’s suitable for companies processing around $10,000 in sale per month. This merchant services provider offers constantly fair and predictable pricing, with all standard rate information provided on the website.

Dharma probably isn’t the right MSP for you if you’re running a high-risk business, however. Along with merchant accounts, Dharma also offers payment gateways, and credit card terminals.

Pricing

Dharma Merchant Services offers one of the most transparent pricing structures, with interchange-plus pricing. There’s a $20 monthly feel for retail, ecommerce, and restaurant companies. Retail and restaurant interchange prices are 0.15% plus 7 cents for every transaction. Virtual rates are 0.20% plus 10 cents for each transaction. If you sell more than $100,000 per month, your fee is only $15 per month, and the interchange plus is 10% plus 5 cents for every transaction.

Pros

  • Excellent for high-volume sells
  • Interchange plus pricing
  • Discounted pricing for certain nonprofit companies
  • Good transparency and customer support
  • Month-to-month billing

Cons

  • Not ideal for smaller companies
  • No support for high-risk companies

5. Payment Depot

Finding the right merchant service accounts provider is a lot like looking for the best provider in the payment card industry. Everyone has their own needs. Payment Depot is a merchant service provider that offers a membership pricing model. You pay a flat monthly fee and get competitive rates on every transaction.

Payment Depot allows companies to easily accept all of the major credit cards, as well as apple pay, Google pay, MasterCard, discover, and more. This service is best suited to companies that process a significant amount of transactions each month – usually around $20,000 or more.

Pricing

Payment Depot’s membership model comes with a range of pricing options. The lowest fee is $49 per month, and the cost can go up to $199 per month depending on the size of your company and the features that you want. When you’re set up with your plan, you pay the interchange fees for your transactions without a markup. The only extra expense is a flat fee that could be 5 cents to 15 cents.

Pros

  • No percentage markup
  • Wide range of fee options
  • Accepts all major payment methods
  • Convenient and easy to use
  • Very good customer support

Cons

  • Not ideal for small companies

6. Quickbooks Payments

QuickBooks is best known for its invoicing and accounting services. However, with QuickBooks payments, you can also handle your transactions online and offline too. There’s a free trial for beginners, and you can also add in other Quickbooks functionality to manage your sales and finances for tax purposes.

QuickBooks payments makes it easy to manage everything from the financial side of your business in one space. You can even receive cash transfers through ACH. QuickBooks is very similar to PayPal and Square in its pricing structure, because there are no monthly minimums and you can start using the payment processing services as soon as you like.

Pricing

QuickBooks Payments offers a simple and straightforward payment structure. The rate you pay depends on the type of sale you’re processing. For simple start, you spend around £12 per month on your transactions, and there’s a basic transaction fee. Quickbooks can also customize an interchange plus plan for you if you process more than $7,500 per month.

Pros

  • Great range of bonus features available
  • Convenient monthly pricing
  • Easy to manage your whole financial strategy in one place
  • No monthly minimum
  • Small or large business ready

Cons

  • Expensive with extra features

Understanding Merchant Service Providers

There a lot of terms that can be confusing in the business world, from EMV to acquirer and merchant service provider. However, once you get to grips with what a merchant service provider is, and why it’s so essential for your company, you can begin to look for the solution that’s right for you. There are tons of options out there, from Authorize.net and first data, to PayPal and Square. The service that you choose will depend on your business needs, and the kind of transactions you manage.

Remember, not every company will need a full merchant services account. Retail-only businesses might just want a reliable credit card terminal. eCommerce companies might need a payment gateway without the terminals. Every business is different. The key to success is figuring out what works for your company.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started