什么是独资企业?

独资独资企业意味着什么?

独资企业是最简单的业务结构形式。 任何人都可以是独资经营者,这种业务形式没有法律依据。 独资企业一词仅指从事某种形式业务的人,并负责该企业的债务。 您可以以自己的名义经营独资企业,或以“做生意”(DBA)名称经营,例如Manny's Sandwiches。 DBA名称只是一个商品名称,不会创建与独资经营者分开的法人实体。

独资企业仍然是一种非常受欢迎的商业形式,因为它简单,易于创建,并且成本最低。 所需要的只是注册您的姓名并且您的DBA适用,并在必要时支付任何本地许可。 一旦完成,你就做好了准备。 独资企业的不利之处在于,独资经营者应对所有的商业债务负责,并且没有法律保护措施来防止诉讼。 如果独资经营者失去诉讼,他或她有责任用自己的钱支付判决,这可能会使储蓄甚至家庭陷入危险境地。

由于独资企业不是法人实体,因此订立的任何合同通常由独资企业的所有者以自己的名义签署。 即使他们使用商品名开展业务,也以所有者的名义支付业务费用。 独资经营者所有者将商业资产及其个人资产混为一谈并不罕见,这是传统公司和有限责任公司所禁止的。 许多企业以独资企业的身份开始,后来转变为更复杂的业务结构之一。

由于独资企业与所有者无法区分,税收仍然是一件简单的事情。 独资企业的任何收入都只是作为所有者的收入纳税,收入和损失使用附表C以及标准表格1040提交。 损益按附表C计算,然后作为常规收益转入1040表格。 这可能很有吸引力,因为企业遭受的任何损失都可以用来抵消其他来源的收入。

独资企业的一个缺点是业主还需要提交一份附表SE,其中计算了自营职业税的欠款。 业主不需要为自己支付失业税,但他们负责对总收入征收全部15%社会保障税。 在传统的就业情景中,员工仅支付社会保障要求的一半,因此对于一些新的独资经营者来说,这可能会让他们感到意外。

作为独资经营者的另一个可能更大的缺点是,企业主个人对企业产生的任何债务负责。 如果业主要拿出贷款并且由于某种原因后来有业务折叠,这可能会变得非常令人担忧。 解散业务并不意味着债务负债的终止。 相反,企业主将被要求从他或她的个人资产中偿还贷款。

更可能出现灾难性的情况。 假设涉及业务所有人或其雇员之一的事故。 可能会对独资经营者提起诉讼,甚至他们的个人资产也会面临风险。 你可能会失去所有的积蓄甚至是你的家!

任何考虑独资企业的人在继续之前都应仔细考虑前两段。 企业倒闭,事故确实发生。 看到所有个人资产被这种情况所消耗,可能会令人心碎。

另外,独资企业的一个优点是可以轻松创建一个独资企业。 真正需要的是购买和出售商品或服务。 没有必要提交任何特殊的文书工作,只是进行商业活动的行为使一个人成为唯一的所有者。

成为电子商务专家

输入您的电子邮件以开始派对

What is Sole Proprietorship?

Sole ProprietorshipWhat does sole proprietorship mean?

A sole proprietorship is the simplest form of business structure. Anyone can be a sole proprietor and there is no legal basis for this business form. The term sole proprietorship simply refers to someone who is engaged in some form of business, and who is responsible for the debts of that business. You can run a sole proprietorship under your own name, or under a “doing business as” (DBA) name, such as Manny’s Sandwiches. The DBA name is just a trade name and does not create a legal entity separate from the sole proprietor.

A sole proprietorship remains a very popular business form because it is simple, easy to create, and has minimal costs. All that is needed is to register your name and your DBA is applicable, and pay for any local licenses if necessary. Once that’s done you’re ready for business. The downside of a sole proprietorship is that the sole proprietor is responsible for all the business debts, and there is no legal shield against lawsuits. If a sole proprietor loses a lawsuit he or she is responsible to pay the judgment from their own money, which could put savings or even their home in jeopardy.

Because the sole proprietorship is not a legal entity, any contracts entered into are typically signed by the owner of the sole proprietorship in their own name. Payments to the business are made in the name of the owner as well, even if they are using a trade name to conduct business. It is not unusual for sole proprietor owners to comingle the business assets and their personal assets, something that is forbidden with traditional corporations and LLCs. Many businesses begin as sole proprietorships and later transform into one of the more complex business structures.

Since the sole proprietorship is indistinguishable from the owner, taxation remains a simple matter. Any income from the sole proprietorship is simply taxed as earnings of the owner, with income and losses filed using Schedule C along with a standard Form 1040. Profits and losses are calculated on Schedule C and are then transferred to the Form 1040 as regular earnings. This can be attractive as any losses suffered by the business can be used to offset income from other sources.

One downside to the sole proprietorship is the need for the owner to also file a Schedule SE, which calculates how much self-employment tax is owed. The owner does not need to pay unemployment tax on themselves, but they are responsible for the full 15% social security tax on gross earnings. In a traditional employment scenario an employee pays just half of the social security requirement, so this can come as a surprise to some new sole proprietors.

Another, and potentially larger downside to being a sole proprietor is that the business owner is responsible personally for any debts the business incurs. This could become quite concerning if an owner were to take out a loan and later have the business fold for some reason. The dissolution of the business would not mean an end to the debt liability. Instead the business owner would be required to pay back the loan from his or her personal assets.

An even more catastrophic scenario is possible. Suppose there is an accident involving the business proprietor or one of their employees. A lawsuit could be brought against the sole proprietor, and even their personal assets would be at risk. You could lose all your savings and even your home!

Anyone considering a sole proprietorship should carefully consider the two preceding paragraphs before continuing. Businesses go out of business, and accidents do occur. It could become heartbreaking to see all your personal assets consumed by such an occurrence.

Still, one of the upsides to a sole proprietorship is the ease with which one can be created. Really all that is needed is the buying and selling of a good or service. There is no need to submit any special paperwork, just the act of conducting a business activity makes one a sole proprietor.

Become an ecommerce expert

Enter your email to get the party started