Comment migrer votre boutique de BigCommerce à Shopify (étape par étape)

BigCommerce est un endroit merveilleux pour commencer avec votre activité en ligne, en considérant les options pour des produits et une bande passante illimités, ainsi que les vitrines élégantes. Cependant, la prochaine étape naturelle de l'expansion consiste à migrer votre boutique Bigcommerce vers Shopify. La plupart des magasins en ligne vont avec Shopify, et cela est principalement dû au jeu de fonctionnalités et à l’évolutivité intégrées de la plate-forme.

La meilleure chose à propos de la migration de votre site de Bigcommerce vers Shopify est qu’elle devrait durer moins d’une heure et que vous ne perdez aucune des précieuses informations telles que les détails des produits, les images et les commandes.

Cela dit, jetons un coup d’œil à un didacticiel détaillé, étape par étape, sur la migration de votre boutique de Bigcommerce vers Shopify.

Étape 1: créer un compte et un magasin Shopify

Il peut sembler naturel de se lancer dans le tableau de bord Bigcommerce, mais vous devez d'abord créer un compte Shopify. Accédez à la page d'accueil de Shopifyet cliquez sur le bouton Get Started. Cela révèle une page contextuelle dans laquelle vous pouvez saisir votre adresse e-mail, le mot de passe souhaité et le nom du magasin. Cela vous met sur un essai gratuit de jour 14, alors cliquez sur le bouton Créer votre magasin après cela.

S'inscrire à Shopify

Step 2: Dites Shopify à propos de vous

Shopify offre deux options pour vous: une boutique en ligne ou un magasin de détail (pop-up). Nous couvrons une migration dans ce didacticiel, vous devez donc sélectionner la case Online Store et cliquer sur le bouton Suivant.

En ligne ou hors ligne

Sur la page suivante, remplissez vos informations d’adresse pour configurer vos taux d’imposition et vos devises. Cette page nécessite votre nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone. Une fois terminé, cliquez sur le bouton Suivant pour continuer.

Ajoutez vos coordonnées

Étape 3: Spécifier à quoi ressemble votre magasin pour la migration

Shopify veut en apprendre le plus possible sur vous. De cette façon, ils peuvent vous aider avec la migration et même vous envoyer des conseils sur la manière de gérer la nouvelle plate-forme. Cette nouvelle page vous demande de leur dire si vous vendez déjà sur une autre plateforme, ce que vous faites.

La plateforme Bigcommerce est une option, mais vous pouvez sélectionner l'option Autre au bas du menu déroulant. Indiquez combien d'argent vous prévoyez gagner chaque année et cliquez sur le bouton Enter My Store.

Un peu de vous

Step 4: Sélectionnez un plan de paiement dans Shopify

Étant donné que la migration de votre boutique entière avec un compte d'essai n'est pas la meilleure idée, je vous recommande de sélectionner un plan Shopify pour terminer le processus. Dans le tableau de bord, choisissez le bouton Sélectionner un plan pour afficher toutes les solutions disponibles.

Si vous souhaitez simplement tester cette migration, optez pour le plan de démarrage. Vous avez également quelques autres plans, y compris les options de base, professionnelles et illimitées. Cliquer ici pour les détails de prix et des informations sur ce que vous recevez avec chaque plan.

Sélectionnez le plan qui vous convient le mieux

Une fois que vous avez décidé de votre plan, vous pouvez aller à la page suivante pour remplir tous vos détails de paiement. Après avoir saisi vos informations de carte de crédit et à quelle fréquence vous souhaitez que Shopify vous facture, cliquez sur le bouton Confirmer les modifications dans le coin inférieur droit.

détails du paiement

Step 5: choisissez un thème pour que votre site soit cool

Bien qu'il ne soit pas possible de migrer la conception exacte de votre magasin BigCommerce, Shopify propose divers thèmes que vous pouvez parcourir pour garder votre image de marque intacte. Accédez à la page d'accueil du tableau de bord Shopify, puis cliquez sur le bouton «Sélectionner un thème». Ceci est situé dans la zone Personnaliser l'aspect de votre site Web.

Personnalisez l'apparence de votre magasin

Gardez à l'esprit que vous pouvez choisir un thème après la migration, mais il est souvent plus facile de visualiser le fonctionnement de la migration si vous disposez d'une présentation réelle pour le site Web. Cela dit, si vous décidez de mettre en œuvre un thème, faites défiler la boutique Shopify et envisagez d'ouvrir le magasin entier pour voir toutes les options disponibles. Certains d'entre eux sont fournis gratuitement, tandis que d'autres exigent des frais.

Sélectionnez un thème

Étape 6: installez l'application de migration appelée Cart2Cart

La plupart des clients Bigcommerce utilisent l'application Cart2Cart, qui se trouve dans l'App Store de Shopify. Cliquez ici pour trouver Cart2Cartet cliquez sur le bouton Obtenir pour l'ajouter à votre boutique.

Installez cette application

Le bouton Cart2Cart l'application coûte au moins $ 69 pour une migration, mais cela en vaut vraiment la peine, compte tenu de la facilité de transfert des outils par-dessus tout.

  • Vos détails et images de produits.
  • Les catégories dans votre boutique Bigcommerce.
  • Données client et informations d'expédition.
  • Toutes les commandes, fabricants et produits de commande.

Après avoir appuyé sur le bouton Get, le système vous ramène au tableau de bord de Shopify, où vous pouvez cliquer sur le bouton Installer Cart2Cart: Shopify Migration Module. Ceci est totalement gratuit à ce stade, mais ils vous demandent des détails de paiement une fois que vous souhaitez exécuter la migration.

C'est là que vous utilisez le module de migration

Cliquez sur l'onglet Nouvel utilisateur Cart2Cart, et entrez votre nom complet, votre adresse électronique et le mot de passe souhaité. N'oubliez pas qu'il s'agit d'un compte Cart2Cart complètement différent, il n'a donc aucun lien avec vos informations de connexion Shopify.

Nouvel utilisateur

Étape 7: configurez les chariots source et cible

La configuration du panier source est l'endroit où vous spécifiez d'où proviennent toutes vos données. Dans ce cas, il s'agit de Bigcommerce, alors choisissez le menu déroulant. Vous devez également coller l'URL principale (nom de domaine) de votre site Bigcommerce.

Capture d'écran à 2015 08-04-10.19.42 PM

La migration Bigcommerce nécessite également que vous récupériez le chemin API et le jeton API de votre compte Bigcommerce. Suivez les étapes de la capture d'écran ci-dessous une fois que vous vous êtes connecté à votre magasin Bigcommerce.

Capture d'écran à 2015 08-04-10.19.53 PM

Une fois que vous avez trouvé le chemin d'accès et le jeton de l'API, collez-les dans les champs requis, puis cliquez sur le bouton Passer à l'étape suivante.

La configuration du panier cible est assez simple, car il vous suffit de coller l'URL de votre nouveau magasin Shopify. Après cela, cliquez sur le bouton Passer à l'étape suivante.

Capture d'écran à 2015 07-26-9.33.25 PM

Étape 8: commencez votre migration

Une fois que vous êtes prêt à passer de Bigcommerce à Shopify, cliquez sur le bouton Démarrer la migration.

Capture d'écran à 2015 07-26-9.33.31 PM

Étape 9: choisissez les entités que vous souhaitez migrer

Vous devez être transféré vers une page Cart2Cart, où vous pouvez sélectionner les entités que vous souhaitez déplacer, telles que les produits, les catégories, les clients et les commandes. Cliquez sur le bouton Procéder à l'étape suivante pour passer cette étape. Toutes les options supplémentaires de la page peuvent être ignorées. Cependant, certains magasins peuvent aimer l'idée de conserver les identifiants de commande, alors prenez cette décision à votre discrétion.

Capture d'écran à 2015 07-26-9.33.37 PM

Étape 10: attribuer des devises pour la migration

Bigcommerce et Shopify ayant des paramètres de devise différents, le programme de transfert veut s'assurer que vous transférez tous vos prix dans la même devise. Vous devrez peut-être simplement sélectionner la devise par défaut, mais vous devrez peut-être également parcourir la liste pour voir quelles sont les devises qui fonctionnent pour votre pays. Appuyez sur le bouton Procéder à l'étape suivante pour continuer.

Capture d'écran à 2015 07-26-9.33.53 PM

Etape 11: Gestion de la cartographie et de la migration de votre statut de commande

Chaque commande qui passe par votre magasin Bigcommerce se voit attribuer un tag pour mieux les gérer. Par exemple, une commande peut être étiquetée comme étant en attente, tandis qu'une autre peut être étiquetée comme étant expédiée.

Shopify veut s'assurer que la migration les garde bien organisées. Cependant, Shopify a des noms différents pour ces balises d'état. Par conséquent, vous devez parcourir tous les statuts de commande pour spécifier les statuts cibles sur lesquels vous souhaitez les convertir. Certains d'entre eux sont identiques, comme Pending et Pending, mais d'autres nécessiteront un peu de réflexion.

Capture d'écran à 2015 08-04-10.22.11 PM

Après cela, cliquez sur le bouton Procéder à l'étape suivante et exécutez la migration de démonstration si nécessaire. Ignorez l'assurance de migration et accédez à l'onglet Confirmer la migration.

Une fois cette étape franchie, tous les détails dont nous avons parlé ci-dessus auront été transférés dans votre nouveau magasin Shopify.

Étape 12: Gérer votre nom de domaine

Il y a de bonnes chances que vous souhaitiez votre ancien nom de domaine sur le nouveau site Shopify. Pour cela, accédez à l'onglet Boutique en ligne du tableau de bord Shopify. Sélectionnez l'option Domaines, puis cliquez sur le bouton Ajouter un domaine existant dans le coin supérieur droit.

Capture d'écran à 2015 07-26-9.34.14 PM

Ce processus est assez simple, considérant que Shopify vous guide à travers les étapes nécessaires. Suivez le guide Shopify et assurez-vous de coller le domaine souhaité à leur demande.

Capture d'écran à 2015 07-26-9.34.21 PM

Vous pouvez rencontrer des problèmes avec votre compte d'hébergement ou votre fournisseur de domaine. Dans ce cas, apprenez à modifier vos paramètres DNS pour s'assurer que tout fonctionne correctement.

Étape 13: rediriger vos liens

Le dernier domaine avec lequel les propriétaires de magasins ont du mal à effectuer une migration sont les anciens liens. Vous avez d'anciens liens utiles vers vos produits et vos pages, et ils ont probablement développé une certaine puissance de référencement pour vous. Que se passe-t-il si quelqu'un navigue vers l'un de ces anciens liens?

Capture d'écran à 2015 07-26-9.34.26 PM

Vous ne voulez certainement pas qu'ils voient une page d'erreur, vous avez donc besoin d'une redirection afin d'envoyer les utilisateurs à la page correspondante ou de poster sur votre boutique Shopify.

Heureusement, Shopify App Store fournit une solution $ 39 appelée Contrôle du trafic - Redirection en vrac. Il vous permet de rediriger vos liens manuellement ou de télécharger une liste des liens pour une redirection groupée. Installez simplement l'application et suivez les étapes pour vous assurer que vos liens sont définis et que vous ne perdrez aucun jus de lien SEO.

Btw, avez-vous lu mon plein Shopify la revue?

À vous…

Êtes-vous prêt à migrer votre boutique de BigCommerce vers Shopify? Envoyez-nous une ligne dans la section des commentaires ci-dessous si vous avez des questions sur l'ensemble du processus.

Avatar

Catalin Zorzini

Je suis un blogueur en conception de sites Web et j'ai lancé ce projet après quelques semaines de difficultés à trouver la meilleure plateforme de commerce électronique pour moi-même. Découvrez mon courant top Constructeurs de sites de commerce électronique 10.

How to Migrate Your Shop from Bigcommerce to Shopify (Step-by-Step)

Bigcommerce is a wonderful place to get started with your online business, considering the options for unlimited products and bandwidth, along with the sleek storefronts. However, the natural next step for expanding is to migrate your Bigcommerce shop to Shopify. Most online solid shops go with Shopify, and it’s primarily because of the platform’s robust feature set and built-in scalability.

The coolest thing about migrating your site from Bigcommerce to Shopify is that it should take less than an hour, and you don’t lose any of the valuable information like product details, images and orders.

With that said, let’s take a look at an in-depth, step by step tutorial on how to migrate your shop from Bigcommerce to Shopify.

Step 1: Make a Shopify Account and Store

It may feel natural to get started in the Bigcommerce dashboard, but you actually need to create a Shopify account first. Go to the Shopify homepage, and click on the Get Started button. This reveals a popup page where you can type in your email address, desired password and store name. This puts you on a 14-day free trial, so click the Create Your Store button after that.

Sign up for Shopify

Step 2: Tell Shopify About Yourself

Shopify offers two options for you: An online store or a retail store (pop up shop). We’re covering a migration in this tutorial, so you would select the Online Store box and click on the Next button.

Online or Offline

On the next page, fill in your address information to setup your tax rates and currencies. This page requires your name, address and phone number. Once complete, click on the Next button to proceed.

Add your contact Information

Step 3: Specify What Your Store is Like for the Migration

Shopify wants to learn as much about you as they can. This way, they can assist with the migration and even send you tips as to how you should handle the new platform. This new page asks for you to tell them if you are already selling on another platform, which is what you’re doing.

The Bigcommerce platform is an option, but you can select the Other option at the bottom of the drop down menu. Mark how much money you plan on making per year, and click on the Enter My Store button.

A bit about you

Step 4: Select a Payment Plan from Shopify

Since it’s not the greatest idea to migrate your entire shop with a trial account, I recommend selecting a Shopify plan to complete the process. In the dashboard, choose the Select a Plan button to see all of the solutions available.

If you just want to test this migration out, go with the Starter Plan. You also have a few other plans including the Basic, Professional and Unlimited options. Click here for pricing details and information about what you receive with each plan.

Select the plan that works best for you

After you decide on your plan, you can go to the next page to fill in all of your payment details. After typing in your credit card information, and how often you would like Shopify to bill you, click on the Confirm Changes button in the bottom right hand corner.

Payment details

Step 5: Choose a Theme So Your Site Looks Cool

Although it’s not possible to migrate the exact design of your Bigcommerce store, Shopify offers various themes that you can browse through to keep your branding intact. Go the the Shopify dashboard homepage, and click on the button that reads Select a Theme. This is located under the Customize the Look of Your Website area.

Customize how your store looks

Keep in mind that you can choose a theme after the migration, but it’s often easier to visualize how the migration worked if you have an actual layout for the website. That said, if you do decide to implement a theme, scroll through the Shopify Store, and consider opening up the entire store to see every option available to you. Some of them are provided for free, while others require a fee.

Select a theme

Step 6: Install the Migration App Called Cart2Cart

Most Bigcommerce customers use the Cart2Cart app, which can be found in the Shopify App Store. Click here to find Cart2Cart, and click on the Get button to add it to your shop.

Install this app

The Cart2Cart app costs at least $69 for a migration, yet it’s definitely worth it, considering the handy tool transfers over everything below.

  • Your product details and images.
  • The categories in your Bigcommerce shop.
  • Customer data and shiping information.
  • All orders, manufacturers and order products.

After pressing the Get button, the system brings you back to the Shopify dashboard, where you can click on the Install Cart2Cart: Shopify Migration Module button. This is completely free at this point, but they ask you for payment details once you want to run the migration.

This is where you use the migration module

Try-Shopify

Click on the New Cart2Cart User tab, and fill in your full name, email and desired password. Remember that this is a completely different Cart2Cart account, so it has no relation to your Shopify login information.

New User

Step 7: Configure the Source and Target Carts

The Source Cart Setup is where you specify where all your data is coming from. In this case, it’s Bigcommerce, so go through the drop down menu to choose that. You must also paste in the main URL (domain name) of your Bigcommerce site.

Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 10.19.42 PM

The Bigcommerce migration also requires you to retrieve the API Path and API Token from your Bigcommerce account. Follow the steps in the screenshot below once you login to your Bigcommerce store.

Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 10.19.53 PM

Once you find the API Path and Token, paste them into the fields required, and click on the Proceed to the Next Step button.

The Target Cart Setup is fairly simple, since all you need to paste in is the URL of your new Shopify store. After that, click on the Proceed to the Next Step button.

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 9.33.25 PM

Step 8: Begin Your Migration

Once you are ready to make the move from Bigcommerce to Shopify, click on the Start Migration button.

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 9.33.31 PM

Step 9: Choose the Entities You Would Like to Migrate

You should get transferred to a Cart2Cart page, where you can select the entities you want to move over, such as products, categories, customers and orders. Click the Proceed to Next Step button to move past this step. All the additional options on the page can be skipped; however some stores may like the idea of preserving order IDs, so make that decision at your own discretion.

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 9.33.37 PM

Step 10: Assign Currencies for the Migration

Since Bigcommerce and Shopify have varying currency settings, the transfer program wants to ensure that you are moving all of your prices over in the same currency. You might just have to select the Default Currency, but you may also have to scroll through the list to see which of the currencies work for your country. Push the Proceed to Next Step button to move on.

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 9.33.53 PM

Step 11: Managing Your Order Status Mapping and Migrating

Each order that comes through your Bigcommerce store is assigned a tag for you to better manage them. For example, one order may be tagged as Pending, while another may be tagged as Shipped.

Shopify wants to ensure that the migration keeps these nice and organized. However, Shopify has different names for these status tags. Therefore, you must walk through all of the order statuses to specify which of the Target Statuses you would like to convert them to. Some of them are the same, like Pending and Pending, but others will require a little thought.

Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 10.22.11 PM

After that, click on the Proceed to Next Step button and run the Demo Migration if needed. Skip the migration insurance and go to the Confirm Migration tab.

Once you walk through this step, all of the details we talked about above will have been transferred to your new Shopify store.

Step 12: Managing Your Domain Name

There’s a good chance you want your old domain name on the new Shopify site. For this, navigate to the Online Store tab in the Shopify dashboard. Select the Domains option, and click on the Add an Existing Domain button in the upper right hand corner.

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 9.34.14 PM

This process is pretty simple, considering Shopify walks you through the necessary steps. Follow along with the Shopify guide and just make sure you paste in the desired domain when they ask.

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 9.34.21 PM

You may run into some problems with your hosting account or domain provider. In this case, learn how to modify your DNS settings to ensure everything is working properly.

Step 13: Redirecting Your Links

The final area that store owners struggle with while performing a migration is the old links. You have valuable old links to your products and pages, and they probably have built up some SEO power for you. What happens if someone navigates to one of those old links?

Screen Shot 2015-07-26 at 9.34.26 PM

You certainly don’t want them seeing an error page, so you need a redirect in order to send users to the corresponding page or post on your Shopify store.

Luckily, the Shopify App Store provides a $39 solution called Traffic Control – Bulk Redirects. It lets you redirect your links manually or upload a list of the links for a bulk redirect. Simply install the app and walk through the steps to make sure your links are set and you won’t waste any SEO link juice.

Over to You…

Are you ready to migrate your shop from Bigcommerce to Shopify? Drop us a line in the comments section below if you have any questions about the whole process.

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

5 Responses

  1. We have managed to start our Shopify store, we decided we did not want the previous images for most items and changing product details and currently moving our customers over with csv using the Shopify template. The next dilemma is- is there a similar way to migrate orders over without an app and if not, can you choose to only import orders with cart2cart without using it for products and customers? We also have been using sweetooth rewards (recently they changed names to smile.io) and we want to be sure that once we install the app with Shopify and switch our domain over when ready to go live that it will update and keep existing rewards credits for the e-mail addresses provided for/by individual customers – is that linked to domain name? Example – currently on the Shopify domain, install smile.io and it wants me to create a new account – but once I bring the domain over to Shopify, install it again (I deleted it) then I should be able to log in and keep it connected the way it already is, right?

  2. Thanks for this very helpful blog post.
    We want to migrate the data from BigCommerce to Shopify, but we want to migrate it and then make adjustments to the new site before going live. Can we migrate to the test site and keep the BigCommerce site live until we’re ready to go live? How do we do that?
    Thanks,
    Stuart

    1. Hello, you can import your products into your Shopify store and change the domain name only when you are ready. Untill then your Shopify Store will be on a sub domain like yourname.shopify.com

  3. I’ve a shop on Bigcommerce and thinking about to transfer to Shopify but I’m worried about loosing customer and seo…

    1. Hi Elena,

      If done right migrating from BigCommerce to Shopify should not affect SEO.

      Bogdan – Editor at Ecommerce-Platforms.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *