中国电子商务市场的坚果

谈到全球电子商务市场,有一个竞争者正在迅速成为世界上最大的电子商务市场:中国。 根据Juniper Research的数据,中国的在线市场是世界上最大的,估计价值为450十亿美元(2014),远远超过美国的296十亿美元。 如果我们要从其多方面的成功中学到任何东西,那么理解它茁壮成长的结构势在必行。

了解为什么中国电子商务如此之大

我们看到中国游客在商场和百货商店疯狂,大量购买名牌包或婴儿奶粉。 很明显,没有人质疑他们的购买力,也不再怀疑他们对购物的热爱。 而且中国是如此蓬勃的消费人口; 大多数大品牌 - 无论是奢侈品还是消费品 - 都是针对中国消费者的,专注于沟通策略,和/或开发特定产品(例如美白化妆品)。

在向上海的中国同事询问他们的巴黎之旅的购物预算时,我经常会听到10,000 RMB附近的信息(大约是1,500 USD或1,300 EUR,是的,这只是购物而不包括旅行相关费用)。 作为对比:根据中国国家统计局的数据,中国2014城镇员工的年平均工资是56,339人民币(约为8,800 USD或7,800 EUR),这使得10,000人民币预算超过中国平均月薪的两倍。

虽然他们为国外购物分配了丰厚的预算,但在中国境内也有保留购物的机会,其中很大一部分是在网上进行的。 如上所述,中国的在线市场是世界上最大的在线市场,超过美国。 除了中国消费者对购物的热情之外,中国还受益于庞大的国内分销网络,可以为一线城市(如北京,上海,广州和深圳)提供快速的全国配送和同日或次日送货服务。 这些分销网络可以很好地促进电子商务,并有助于使在线购买在中国非常普遍。

我已经在中国生活了很长一段时间,我仍然惊讶于几乎所有东西都可以送到我的地方或办公室。 除了提供杂货外,还有很多智能手机应用程序和网站可以提供我的饭菜,包括麦当劳或 抹茶。 举一个简单的例子:在“让我们今天吃得健康”的日子里,我可以提供水果,可以预先清洗,并为我精心切割。 我基本上可以呆在室内,永远不会外出。

中国互联网巨头

就像西方世界拥有电子商务巨头一样,中国也是如此。 他们有eBay,Facebook,亚马逊,PayPal和谷歌的地方; 中国有百度,阿里巴巴和腾讯统称为英美烟草公司。 由于技术,平台和能力的差异使得一个人与另一个人的权重相等,因此无法将他们与“喜欢同样”的西方公司进行比较。

  • 百度,其名称翻译为“数百次”,是中国最常用的互联网搜索引擎。 百度首次在北京推出2000,其中不仅包括谷歌的在线音乐播放器,百科全书和自己的市场。
  • 阿里巴巴是中国最多产的在线零售平台,从多元化的商业模式中获利。 他们以与全球卖家直接接触中国生产商而闻名。 阿里巴巴还拥有中国广泛使用的支付网关支付宝(类似于PayPal)和淘宝/ TMall市场二人组。
  • 腾讯是中国领先的在线和移动市场力量之一。 腾讯以其在QQ(类似于MSN Messenger)和微信等社交媒体平台上的进步而闻名。 腾讯也有自己的安全支付系统TenPay。

百度,阿里巴巴和腾讯为中国自己的电子商务市场提供支柱。 由于中国在市场上是如此独特,他们也有自己的本地在线市场。

市场场所

中国的在线市场领导者是淘宝,TMall和JD。 您可以将淘宝与eBay,JD和TMall与亚马逊进行松散比较。 尽管产品真实性问题在过去成为头条新闻,但中国电子商务平台仍然取得了持续的业务成功。

  • 淘宝网的名称被翻译为“寻找宝藏的网站”,由阿里巴巴集团创立,提供的电子商务网站并不完全不同于eBay。 作为一个独家的中国C2C销售平台,几乎所有东西都可以在淘宝上找到; 但由于任何拥有有效中国身份证的人都可以开设淘宝店,因此遇到假冒产品并不少见(虽然有时很有趣)。

由于他们处理欺诈行为的历史悠久,中国消费者在选择产品时出人意料地挑剔,这也适用于他们选择购买商品的渠道。 因此,TMall和JD平台的成功并不令人意外,原因如下:

  • TMall(中国最受欢迎的B2C平台)要求拥有销售产品的许可证,这样可以减少假冒产品。 由于在注册过程中需要营业执照,因此只有公司可以在TMall上注册商店。 没有在中国站稳脚跟的国外公司也可以与TMall Global建立TMall商店。 TMall也归阿里巴巴所有,这解释了为什么用户在淘宝上搜索产品时可以最终使用TMall商店,而不是相反。
  • JD(JingDong)在2004上推出,很快扩展到销售各种电子设备,如手机和电脑。 JD也是B2C平台,想要在JD开设店铺的公司需要用官方文件证明他们拥有品牌和产品,或者至少他们需要证明他们是官方经销商。

微信的情况

即使你在国外,你也可能听说过微信。 如果没有,请不要担心,这里只需要知道:微信是一款社交平台应用程序,它是在1月2011上推出的,具有简单的信使功能,就像WhatsApp一样。 很快,添加了功能:QR码扫描(您可能认为QR码已经死了,请再次考虑它们 在中国很活跃),个人时间表称为“时刻”,朋友可以喜欢和评论帖子,电话和视频通话,贴纸商店,语音留言,微信支付,微信汇款和短视频捕获称为“景点”。 微信已经到了今年 600个月活跃用户 并且可能是中国最常用的应用程序。

让我们仔细看看这个微信支付功能。 微信由腾讯拥有,因此它背后的支付技术实际上是TenPay。 为了确保TenPay的数据上升,微信不允许阿里巴巴的婴儿如支付宝和TMall在其应用程序中出现。 另一方面,微信增加了他们与JD的合作伙伴关系(阿里巴巴没有感情)。 用户可以在商家允许的任何地方在线和店内购买商品,也可以直接从他们的微信钱包支付出租车费和支付水电费。 因此,当我早些时候说过,我基本上可以在不出门的情况下留在我的位置,这对我伸展双腿并不是很有帮助。

由于3提供不同的帐户,微信对公司也很有趣:订阅帐户,服务帐户和公司帐户。 订阅帐户是最基本的帐户,就像用户可以关注品牌新闻的渠道。 服务帐户更高级,并且像朋友一样显示在应用程序上(每条消息都作为推送通知发送),并允许品牌在WeChat中有一个商店,称为WeShop。 公司账户供公司内部使用,更侧重于项目管理和内部沟通。

微信如此独特的原因在于其“一种格式”,用户可以在不离开应用的情况下访问多种服务和功能。 随着微信支付和品牌在这个应用程序上有移动商务存在; 微信无疑在中国电子商务领域发挥着重要作用。

独立电子商务怎么样?

虽然中国市场占据了中国电子商务的大部分,但独立的电子商务存在却非常重要。 这样可以更好地控制在线到离线策略,新产品库存(相对于市场认可的新产品,这可能是一个漫长的过程)和设计灵活性。 然而,在中国推出独立的电子商务并非没有挑战。

支付网关:

中国喜欢与众不同的是付款方式。 虽然在西方国家被广泛接受使用信用卡,但中国消费者使用他们的银行账户信息(银联比Visa和MasterCard更受欢迎)。 因此,高度重视最高安全性。 支付宝和财付通提供支付网关解决方案,提供流畅,安全的在线交易,直接链接到用户的银行账户 - 就像PayPal一样。

支付宝或财付通在中国对PayPal的偏好是由于向账户持有人提供的免费功能的数量,例如购买公交车票,增加移动信贷和支付店内产品,仅举几例。

托管和加载速度:

根据他们的目标市场,企业需要选择哪个Web主机最适合他们。 当您的目标市场在中国时,托管欧洲网站将导致访问问题,从漫长的加载时间到最终糟糕的用户体验。

ICP备案号:

ICP(互联网内容提供商许可证)在2000中实施,并与国家的“中国大防火墙”一起实施中国的互联网保护法。 如果您想在中国境内运营网站,则必须获得ICP许可证。 这里我写的一篇关于这个主题的文章。

Magento的:

Magento的#1开源电子商务平台占我所代理的大部分项目。 在IT Consultis,我们是倡导者 Magento的 (以及四分之一的电子商务网站)因为它有免费的社区版和非常好的定制水平。 它的众多优势包括广泛的SEO营销选项,易于使用的插件,确保频繁更新的开发人员团队,出色的安全性以及不断扩展以满足公司不断增长的需求的事实。 最重要的是,它可以插入第三方系统,如WMS,包括中文系统。 最重要的是在中国独立电子商务:由于结合了令人印象深刻的设计和技术模块,这个平台也可以专注于中国。

我希望能够清楚地了解中国的在线情况。 在考虑应对中国市场时,企业需要选择多个销售渠道来充分利用其业务。 对于任何想要渗透这个巨大市场的人来说,我最大的建议就是找到合适的合作伙伴。 在 IT Consultis, 我们是您的理想合作伙伴,帮助您了解中国在线市场的复杂性,并为您的企业提供享受中国电子商务各种财务成果所需的一切。

标题图片由...提供 亚力克斯塔斯

Thomas Guillemaud

作为一名技术和设计爱好者,在获得企业家和数字商务双硕士学位后,Thomas开发了数字行业的技术技能和专业知识,包括电子商务和分析。 他选择离开他心爱的家乡在法国布列塔尼,前往中国。 在这里,他决定利用这个国家迷人的市场来创建他理想的网络代理商。在IT Consultis,Thomas管理公司的运营; 当他没有把时间花在关键客户管理上或推动团队获得高端成果时,他正在考虑采取策略,在保持最高标准的同时扩大代理商规模。在代理商的外部,你可能会发现他在某处拥有法国食品上海或在拐角处的酒吧享用葡萄酒(或啤酒)。

China’s Ecommerce Market in a Nutshell

When it comes to the global ecommerce market, there's one contender who's quickly becoming the world's biggest: China. China's online market is the biggest in the world with an estimated value of 450 billion USD (2014) which supersedes the US' 296 billion USD by far according to Juniper Research. Understanding the structure from which it thrives is imperative if we're to learn anything from its multifaceted success.

Understanding why China ecommerce is so big

We've seen Chinese tourists going crazy in shopping malls and department stores, buying designer bags or baby powder milk in bulk. It's obvious nobody is questioning their purchasing power nor their love for shopping anymore. And since China is such a booming consumer population; most of the big brands – whether it is luxury or consumer goods – are targeting the Chinese consumer with a focused communication strategy, and/or developing specific products (whitening cosmetics for example).

When asking Chinese colleagues in Shanghai what's their shopping budget for their trip to Paris, I often hear something around 10,000 RMB (around 1,500 USD or 1,300 EUR and yes, that's only for shopping and does not include travel related expenses). As a comparison: the annual average wage for urban employees in 2014 in China according to China’s National Bureau of Statistics was 56,339 RMB (around 8,800 USD or 7,800 EUR), making this 10,000 RMB budget more than twice the Chinese average monthly salary.

While they allocate a generous budget to shopping abroad, shopping is also kept for within China's borders, with a large portion transacted online. As mentioned above, China's online market is the biggest in the world overtaking the US one. Aside from Chinese consumers' passion for shopping, China benefits from a vast domestic distribution network enabling fast national deliveries and same or next day deliveries for top-tier cities (e.g. Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou and Shenzhen). These distribution networks facilitate ecommerce beautifully and help to make online purchasing incredibly common in China.

I've been living in China for quite some time now and I still am amazed how almost everything can be delivered to my place or office. In addition to having my groceries delivered, there are plenty of smartphone apps and websites to have my meals delivered including McDonalds or matcha tea. As a simple example: on the “let's eat healthy today” days, I can have fruits delivered which can be pre-washed and nicely cut for me. I could basically stay indoors and never go out.

Chinese Internet Giants

In the same way that the Western world has its ecommerce giants, so too does China. Where they have eBay, Facebook, Amazon, PayPal and Google; China has Baidu, Alibaba and Tencent collectively known by the acronym BAT. They can't be compared to the Western companies in ‘like for like' terms since the difference in technology, platform and capabilities make it too difficult to weigh one against the other equally.

  • Baidu, whose name translates as ‘hundreds of times' is the Chinese most used Internet search engine. First launched in Beijing in 2000, Baidu includes so much more than Google's offer like an online music player, an encyclopaedia and their own marketplace.
  • Alibaba is China's most prolific online retail platform, profiting from a diverse business model. They are known for putting worldwide sellers in direct contact with Chinese producers. Alibaba also owns the China widely used payment gateway Alipay (similar to PayPal) and the Taobao / TMall marketplace duo.
  • Tencent is another of China's leading online and mobile market forces. Tencent is best known for their advances in social media platforms like QQ (similar to MSN Messenger) and WeChat. Tencent also have their own secure payment system called TenPay.

Baidu, Alibaba and Tencent provide the backbone for China's own ecommerce market. And since China is so unique in terms of market, they also have their own local online marketplaces.

Market Places

China's online market leaders are Taobao, TMall and JD. You could loosely compare Taobao to eBay, and JD and TMall to Amazon. And despite product authenticity issues that made headlines in the past, Chinese ecommerce platforms have seen continued business success.

  • Taobao, whose name translates as ‘a site searching for treasure' was founded by the Alibaba group and offers an ecommerce site not totally unlike eBay. As an exclusively Chinese C2C selling platform, almost anything can be found on Taobao; but since anyone with a valid Chinese ID can open a Taobao shop, it is not uncommon to run into fake products (sometimes quite fun though).

Chinese consumers are surprisingly quite picky when choosing products due to the long history they have dealing with frauds, and this applies also when choosing on which channel they purchase goods. So the success of TMall and JD platforms comes with no surprise, and here's why:

Try-Shopify
  • TMall (China's most popular B2C platform) requires to own licences for the products sold, which is reducing fake products. Only companies can register for a shop on TMall since a business license is required during the registration process. Companies abroad who have not got a foothold in China yet can also create a TMall shop with TMall Global. TMall is also owned by Alibaba, this explains why users can end up on TMall shops when searching products on Taobao, but not the other way around.
  • JD (JingDong) was launched in 2004 and soon expanded to selling a variety of electrical equipment, such as mobile phones and computers. JD is also a B2C platform and companies wanting to open a store on JD need to prove with official documents they own the brand and products, or are at least they need to show they are official distributors.

The case of WeChat

You've probably heard of WeChat even if you are abroad. If not, don't worry, here's all you need to know: WeChat is a social platform app launched in January 2011 with a simple messenger functionality just like WhatsApp. Quickly, features were added: QR codes scanning (you might think QR codes are dead, well think again as they are pretty well alive in China), personal timeline called “Moments” where friends can like and comments posts, calls and video calls, sticker shops, voice messages, WeChat pay, WeChat money transfers and short videos capture called “Sights”. WeChat has reached this year 600 million monthly active users and is probably the most used app in China.

Let's take a closer look at this WeChat pay function. WeChat is owned by Tencent so the payment tech behind it is actually TenPay. And to make sure TenPay's figures go up, WeChat does not allow Alibaba's babies like Alipay and TMall to be featured on its app. On the other hand, WeChat has increased their partnership with JD (no hard feelings Alibaba). Users can purchase goods online and in-store wherever allowed by merchants, but also pay for taxi rides and pay their utility bills directly from their WeChat wallet. So when I said earlier I could basically stay at my place without going out, well this doesn't really help me stretching my legs.

WeChat is also interesting for companies thanks to the 3 different accounts available: subscription account, service account and corporate account. Subscription account is the most basic one and is like a channel where users can follow brands' news. Service account is more advanced and appears on the app like a friend (with each message sent as a pushed notification) and allows brands to have a shop within WeChat referred as WeShop. Corporate account is for companies' internal use and is more focused on project management and internal communication.

What makes WeChat so unique is its “one format” where users have access to multiple services and features without leaving the app. With WeChat payments and brands have an m-Commerce presence on this app; WeChat definitely plays an important role in the ecommerce scene in China.

What about stand-alone ecommerce?

Although Chinese marketplaces take most of the Chinese ecommerce pie, a stand-alone ecommerce presence is yet incredibly important to have. This allows better control for online-to-offline strategies, new product inventories (vs new products to be approved by the marketplace, which can be a lengthy process) and design flexibility. However, launching a stand alone ecommerce it not without its challenges in China.

Payment gateways:

Something else China like to have different is payment means. While it is widely accepted in Western countries to use credit cards, Chinese consumers use their bank account information (with UnionPay more popular than Visa and MasterCard). Thus maximum security is highly appreciated. Alipay and TenPay offer payment gateway solutions that provide smooth and secure online transactions, directly linked to users' bank accounts – just like PayPal does.

The preference of Alipay or TenPay over PayPal in China is due to the number of free functions offered to account holders, such as buying bus tickets, topping up mobile credit and paying for products in-store, to name a few.

Hosting and loading speed:

Depending on their target market, businesses need to be selective which web host is best for them. Hosting a European based website while your target market is in China will cause access issues, ranging from lengthy loading times to ultimately poor user experience.

ICP:

The ICP (Internet Content Provider License) was implemented in 2000 and works along with the nation's ‘great firewall of China' to enforce China's protective internet laws. Obtaining an ICP license is mandatory if you want to operate a website within China. Here‘s an article I wrote on this topic.

Magento:

The #1 open source ecommerce platform of Magento accounts for most of the projects my agency works on. At IT Consultis, we're advocates of Magento (along with one-quarter of ecommerce sites) as it has a free community edition and a very good level of customization. Its numerous benefits include extensive SEO marketing options, easy to use plug-ins, teams of developers ensuring frequent updates, great security and the fact that it's constantly expanding to keep up with the growing demands of your company. On top of that, it can be plugged with third party systems such a WMS, including Chinese one. Last and most important of all for stand-alone e-Commerce in China: this platform can also be tailored to focus around China thanks to the incorporation of impressive design and tech modules.

I hope to have given you a clear picture of what's going online in China. When thinking of tackling the Chinese market, companies will need to choose more than one selling channel to make the most of their business endeavours. My biggest recommendation for anyone wanting to penetrate this giant market would be to get the right partner. At IT Consultis, we're the perfect partner for helping you understand the intricacies of China's online market and equipping your business with everything it needs to enjoy the varied financial fruits of Chinese ecommerce.

header image courtesy of Alex Tass

Thomas Guillemaud

Being a tech and design enthusiast and after graduating with a double Master Degree in Entrepreneurship and Digital Business, Thomas developed tech skills and expertise in the digital industry including e-Commerce and analytics. He chose to leave his beloved hometown in Brittany, France and head to China. Here, he decided to leverage this country's fascinating market to create his ideal web agency.At IT Consultis, Thomas manages the operations for the company; when he is not dedicating his time to key account management or driving the team for high end results, he is thinking strategy to grow the agency bigger while always keeping the highest standards.Outside of the agency, you may find him having French food somewhere in Shanghai or enjoying wine (or beer) at the bar around the corner.

3 Responses

  1. Do you know anyone (small companies/individuals) making significant money selling in China on eCommerce platforms?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *