Monzo评论(2021年XNUMX月):这种数字银行是否不辜负炒作?

这是适合您的网上银行吗?

移动银行是挑战者银行的新的和改进的替代方案。 时期。

手动跟踪您的收入和支出,到实体分支机构进行繁琐旅程的日子已经一去不复返了。 借助数字化的所有内容,在线银行服务可通过智能手机的便利性提供直观的资金管理功能。

我们已经涵盖了其他银行 像革命。 因此,在这篇评论中,我们通过透露您需要了解的所有信息来完善我们的网上银行系列 Monzo。 Monzo主要是一家英国银行,旨在为您提供无论您身在何处都可以完全控制自己资金的方式。

听起来不错? 让我们深入了解 Monzo может предложить.

Monzo评论:简要概述

monzo评论-主页

Monzo成立于英国,总部位于英国,是市场上首批基于应用程序的移动银行之一。 他们于2015年推出,现已成为近XNUMX万人的首选银行。

尽管Monzo向美国公民提供某些服务,但其大多数功能仅向英国客户提供。

Monzo 让您快速付款,创建联名帐户和共享标签,在青少年时期开设帐户并在返回时使用完整的旅行报告在国外花钱。 他们还提供具有一些精美功能的企业帐户。 如果您是一个崭露头角的企业家,那么无疑值得一试。

简而言之,Monzo提供了一整套移动银行功能,可轻松查看您在哪里消费和/或省钱。 您可以创建预算,密切关注自己的储蓄目标,并利用Monzo便宜的国际转账和现金提取(与传统的大街银行相比)。

Monzo利弊

让我们从特权开始:

Monzo的优点👍

  • Monzo提供了一个方便且易于使用的应用程序,其中包含许多用于节省,管理和支出资金的工具。
  • Monzo已向金融行为监管机构(FCA)注册,以提供全面的存款保护以及其他安全功能。
  • 您可以从储蓄中赚取利息,以使其缓慢增长!
  • Monzo允许您设置联名帐户,如果您是一个新家庭或想与伴侣分担费用,这将非常有用。

蒙佐的缺点

  • Monzo的储蓄率不是很高。 您可以从Monzo的一些竞争对手那里找到更好的报价,因此,如果节省是您的首要任务,那就去找其他地方。
  • Monzo使用万事达卡的汇率。 许多其他移动银行改为使用银行同业拆借利率,通常更便宜。 因此,Monzo并不是进行国际提款和交易的最实惠的选择。
  • 每次将现金存入Monzo帐户时,Monzo都会收取1英镑的费用。
  • 出国时可以免费提取的金额有每月限制。 如果您超出此限制,则将对所有提款收取3%的费用。
  • Monzo没有桌面应用程序。
  • Monzo不提供信用卡。

Monzo评论:Monzo的定价

像许多银行一样 Monzo 提供免费和付费帐户的组合。 您为Monzo支付的金额取决于您选择的卡和帐户类型。 不出所料,您支付的越多,解锁的功能就越多。

让我们更详细地看一下这些…

Monzo Current和Monzo Lite

这些是Monzo的免费个人和企业帐户。 但是,您应该注意以下费用:

  • 在国外时,您每月可以免费提取200英镑。 之后,您需要支付3%的费用。
  • 通过英国1 PayPoint之一将钱存入您的帐户时,您需要支付28,000英镑的费用。

Monzo Plus

这是一个每月花费£5的个人帐户,并随附:

  • 全息卡
  • 虚拟卡
  • 高级综述
  • 信用跟踪器
  • 高达400英镑的国外免费取款
  • 您可以从应用程序中概述多个Monzo帐户。
  • 您可以将付款分为多个类别,以便更轻松地了解在哪里消费。

最重要的是,您可以进行一次免费存款。 您还可以从余额中获得1%的利率,并节省高达2,000英镑的彩池。

请注意:最低期限为三个月。

保费计划

这个个人计划每月收费15英镑。 您在国外的每月提款限额提高到600英镑,并且您最多可以进行五次免费现金存款。 除上述所有内容外,高级计划还附带全球旅行保险,电话保险,1.5%的利息,打折的机场贵宾室使用权和高品质的金属卡。

请注意:最低期限为六个月。

专业账户

该企业帐户每月收费£5,为您提供:

  • 与第三方会计软件集成
  • 有限公司公司从多用户访问中受益
  • 您可以创建,发送和跟踪发票。
  • 您也可以打开税罐来保存报税表。
  • 免费享受六个月的Xero访问!

该计划还附带了Monzo的所有必需品,例如完整的英国现有银行帐户,Apple和 Google Pay,国外的免费支出和预算工具。 此外,您将获得一张商务借记卡和数字收据,以使您的业务费用管理更加轻松。

卡运送:

您的Monzo卡是免费运送的(如果您居住在英国)。 相比之下,国际运费为30英镑。

Monzo评论:注册Monzo

monzo评论英国电话

要注册Monzo银行帐户,您需要:

  • 成为英国居民
  • 超过16岁
  • 拥有智能手机-Monzo没有任何物理分支,因此您需要将Monzo应用程序下载到Android或iOS设备上进行注册。
  • 准备好您的身份证明和地址证明
  • 提供您的电子邮件地址,电话号码和出生日期。

该应用程序还将提示您提交五秒钟的自拍视频,以传递消息。 这将检查您的声音并识别您的脸。 这些是反欺诈保护措施,可帮助您保护帐户免受黑客攻击。

Monzo评论:该应用程序

正如我们已经暗示的那样,您可以通过其移动应用程序访问Monzo的所有银行服务,从而可以在旅途中通过智能手机或平板电脑进行银行业务。 但是,与某些竞争对手不同,Monzo不提供其应用程序的桌面版本。 这意味着您必须拥有智能手机或平板电脑。

热带地区的 Monzo 该应用程序易于安装,使用和维护安全。 实际上,在撰写本文时,该应用程序在4.8分评级上令人印象深刻。 谷歌 Play商店和iOS上的App Store中的4.9评分。 这充分说明了其服务质量和用户友好性!

Monzo评论:使用Monzo付款

monzo评论支出

您可以使用您的Monzo应用程序和卡轻松付款和发送转账。

通过该应用程序,只需设置一个安全的个性化链接,然后通过文本或电子邮件将其发送给目标收件人。 收件人只需打开此链接,输入他们的详细信息,即可立即获得付款。

Monzo还可以与Google和Apple Pay一起使用,并且您可以轻松设置直接借记和长期订单以保持账单上的最高水平。 当下个月的账单预计会比平时高时,Monzo甚至会通知您,这样您就不会遇到任何不愉快的财务意外!

Monzo评论:实体卡

Monzo经常账户都带有借记卡,您可以从中选择颜色-珊瑚色,蓝色和白色。 在Monzo的Plus计划中,这张卡是全息的–好玩,对吗?

相比之下,Premium Monzo用户会收到一张时髦的金属卡,其重量为16克,比Monzo的塑料借记卡重3倍。 该金属卡由单层不锈钢制成,具有更高的强度,并且非常令人满意。 徽标和卡片的细节均经过精密雕刻。 像塑料卡一样,金属卡也是非接触式的。

您可以使用实体卡在世界各地提款和消费。 最重要的是,在国外使用您的卡是免费的; 您只需支付万事达卡汇率。

Monzo评论:虚拟卡

Monzo的虚拟卡仅供Plus和Premium帐户持有人使用。 每个虚拟卡都有一个唯一的ID,因此您可以在线购物而无需重复使用相同的卡详细信息,从而使在线购物更加安全。 如果不幸的是您购物的网站遭到破坏,则您的银行帐户不会受到损害。

使用Plus帐户,您可以随时最多使用五个虚拟卡。 最重要的是,您可以在数分钟内动手做准备– Plus和Premium帐户持有人可以在Monzo应用程序中创建虚拟卡。

Monzo评论:安全性

2017年, Monzo 成为一家完全受监管的英国银行。 这意味着您的资金将受到金融服务补偿计划(FSCS)的最高85,000英镑的保护。

这是政府为保护人民首都而设立的独立基金。 如果Monzo或该计划下的任何其他银行破产,您将不会再有空缺。

最重要的是,您将从以下安全措施中受益:

  • 付款后立即发出通知。
  • 您必须批准在线付款并使用Touch ID,Face ID,指纹或PIN保护您的帐户。
  • Monzo不使用密码来避免网络钓鱼和不良的密码习惯。 相反,它会创建魔术链接并发送到您的电子邮件。 从这里,您只需单击一下即可登录您的应用程序。
  • 您随时可以屏蔽和解除屏蔽卡

最棒的是,与其他英国银行相比,Monzo在防止卡欺诈方面的能力要高出四倍,在阻止身份盗用方面的能力要高出三倍。

Monzo评论:Monzo客户支持

在评估Monzo的客户服务时,值得注意的是其品牌的声音。 Monzo的目标是讲客户的语言,因此您可以期望他们在技术信息方面保持透明,使事情变得尽可能简单和专业。

Monzo提供了一个在线帮助中心。 在这里,您会找到各种资源,包括有关紧急情况下的操作,如何管理帐户,进行移动支付,创建资金和预算,透支的指南。

还有一个繁忙的在线论坛,Monzo鼓励用户提出问题并提出问题。 阅读论坛也是获得该产品印象的好方法,因此,如果您想注册一个Monzo帐户,请确保访问它!

如果您还有其他疑问,可以通过应用内实时聊天或电话联系Monzo的支持团队。 对于紧急问题,可以24/7全天候聊天。 如有其他查询,Monzo团队可从上午7点至晚上8点进行聊天。

Monzo评论:功能

下面我们重点介绍了Monzo的一些主要功能:

锅和预算

monzo评论保存罐

Monzo 使您能够组织金钱。 “薪水分类器”将您的收入分为不同的类别,例如支出,储蓄,账单等。这样一来,您可以确切地看到钱的去向以及当月的可支配收入。

最重要的是,您可以设置单独的“储蓄罐”,从中提取资金以实现储蓄目标或账单。 当您以最低12英镑的押金启动Monzo的500个月固定底池时,您最多可以赚取 0.27% (固定汇率) 值得您花钱。 另外,如果您希望轻松获得储蓄,Monzo可以帮助您。 凭借其便捷的储蓄帐户,您可以在下一个工作日取钱!

为了帮助您节省开支,您甚至可以选择自动将零钱四舍五入到最接近的英镑,并将差额发送到您的一个储蓄罐中。 方便吧?

联名账户

monzo-review-joint帐户

如果您和您的合伙人分担费用并希望共同管理您的资金,那么Monzo的联名帐户非常值得考虑。 这使您可以完全控制和查看储蓄帐户和支出。

注意:联名帐户具有授予个人帐户用户的所有资金管理功能。

商务功能

孟佐评论银行

如果您选择Monzo的Business Pro帐户,则可以解锁一系列精美的业务功能。 例如,您可以在应用程序内创建和发送发票,如果您是有限公司公司,可以注册多个用户。 对于共享或委派银行相关任务的企业来说,这是一项出色的功能。

该帐户还与Xero,FreeAgent或QuickBooks等计费软件集成。 此外,您可以使用Monzo的“ pot”系统为税收留出资金。

即时通知

monzo评论支出

你花钱的时候 Monzo 交易完成后立即通知您。 您可以根据自己的喜好设置预算,无论是外出,购买杂货还是与朋友一起购物。 然后,如果您开始花费太快而无法满足这些预算,就会收到警告。 但是,如果您不想接收这些通知,则可以禁用它们-由您选择。

16-17个帐户

如果您还不到18岁,您仍然可以开设完整的英国经常账户,并提供帐号和分类代码。 您还将收到用于付款的非接触式卡。 此帐户具有Monzo的所有保存和预算功能,但无法让您购买XNUMX岁以下的违法物品。 例如,赌博。 您也无法创建透支。

透支和贷款

对于短期借款,您可以设置Monzo透支。 Monzo对透支设置了1,000英镑的限额,收取的税率为EAR的19%,29%或39%。 费率取决于您的信用评分,您可以在Monzo应用程序中查看该信用评分。 除此之外,Monzo不收取额外的透支费用。

您还可以探索具有灵活还款和当日款项的几种贷款产品。 如果您提前偿还这些贷款,则不会收取任何费用! Monzo提供最高3000英镑的贷款,实际年利率为26.6%。

演员

除上述功能外,Monzo用户还可以期待以下附加功能(取决于他们选择的帐户):

账单拆分:使用共享标签轻松拆分账单。 无论您是外出吃饭,一日游还是分摊家庭开支,此功能都可以跟踪谁欠了什么。 您可以根据自己的喜好拆分选项卡,并在帐单出现时或在深夜结清帐单-选择权由您决定。

出差:以任何货币将钱花在国外而不产生任何费用。 您只需支付万事达卡汇率。 Monzo还随附旅行报告,让您知道您在国外花费了多少。 在高级帐户上,您还将获得高达5,000英镑的全球家庭旅行保险,以支付取消费用。

您准备好开始使用Monzo吗?

现在,我们已经涵盖了您需要了解的有关Monzo的所有信息,现在该由您决定了。

Is Monzo 最适合您的手机银行应用程序? 让我们回顾一些要记住的要点:

如果您不是英国居民,那么Monzo暂时不是您的正确选择。 尽管我们可以期待Monzo在将来的某个时间在国际上运作,但这一天尚未到来。

另外,如果旅行钱是您的主要动机,则Monzo可能不是您的最佳选择。 尽管Monzo在旅行中具有一系列出色的功能,例如旅行报告,额外的旅行保险和在国外免费使用卡,但万事达卡汇率(通常)并非最适合旅行者。 您在国外也有取款限额,此后每次进行ATM取款都要支付3%的费用。

尽管您获得的利息并不令人印象深刻,但Monzo在其贷款,透支和储蓄罐方面提供了一定的灵活性。

但是,总的来说,Monzo应用程序在保存,预算和管理财务方面非常有用,尤其是在您未满18岁或需要与合作伙伴共同开设帐户的情况下。 Monzo的各种储蓄功能非常直观,对于管理现金流量以及满足个人和商业用途的储蓄目标非常有用。

简而言之,我们认为Monzo的其他便捷功能(如账单共享,存款预测和自动零钱四舍五入)达到了目标,因此,我们建议使用此数字银行!

如果您选择注册Monzo帐户,请告诉我们您的想法! 或者,您是否正在考虑像Starling Bank这样的竞争对手之一? 无论哪种方式,我们都希望在下面的评论中听到您的想法,以及您的网上银行体验与传统银行相比如何。 快说吧!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves是一位专业的内容策略师,专门研究数字营销,B2B和生活方式方面的所有内容。 除了电子商务平台之外,您还可以在《读者文摘》,G2和Judicious Inc.上找到她的出版物。 罗西的博客 for more information.

Monzo Review (May 2021): Does This Digital Bank Live Up to The Hype?

Is This The Right Online Bank for You?

Mobile banking is the new and improved alternative to challenger banks. Period.

Gone are the days of manually tracking your incomings and outgoings and making tedious journies to physical branches. With everything digitalized, online banking services provide intuitive money management features from the convenience of your smartphone.

We’ve already covered other banks like Revolut. So, in this review, we’re rounding up our online banking series by divulging everything you need to know about Monzo. Primarily a UK bank, Monzo aims to provide you with full control over your money no matter where you go.

Sound good? Let’s dive into what Monzo has to offer.

A Monzo Review: A Brief Overview

monzo review - homepage

Founded and based in the UK, Monzo was one of the first app-based mobile banks on the market. Launched back in 2015, they're now the bank of choice for nearly five million people.

While Monzo offers some of its services to US citizens, most of its features and functionalities are only available to British customers.

Monzo lets you quickly make payments, create joint accounts and shared tabs, open an account as a teenager and spend money abroad with a full travel report when you return. They also offer business accounts with some nifty features. If you're a budding entrepreneur, these are undoubtedly worth checking out.

In short, Monzo offers a full suite of mobile banking features that make it easy to see where you're spending and/or saving money. You can create budgets, keep a close eye on your saving goals, and take advantage of Monzo's cheaper international transfers and cash withdrawals (compared to traditional high street banks).

Monzo Pros and Cons

Let's start with the perks:

Monzo's Pros 👍

  • Monzo provides a convenient and easy-to-use app that comes with plenty of tools for saving, managing, and spending your money.
  • Monzo is registered with the financial conduct authority (FCA) to provide full deposit protection alongside other security features.
  • You can earn interest on your savings to grow them slowly!
  • Monzo allows you to set up joint accounts, which is great if you’re starting a family or want to share expenses with your partner.

Monzo's Cons 👎

  • Monzo's saving rates aren't very high. You could find better offers with some of Monzo's competitors, so if saving is your priority, look elsewhere.
  • Monzo uses Mastercard’s exchange rates. Many other mobile banks use the interbank rate instead, which is often cheaper. As such, Monzo isn't the most affordable option for international withdrawals and exchanges.
  • Monzo charges a £1 fee every time you deposit cash into your Monzo account.
  • There's a monthly limit on how much you can withdraw for free when abroad. If you go beyond this limit, you'll be charged 3% on all your withdrawals.
  • Monzo doesn’t have a desktop app.
  • Monzo doesn't offer a credit card.

Monzo Review: Monzo’s Pricing

Like many banks, Monzo offers a mixture of free and paid-for accounts. How much you pay for Monzo depends on the card and account type you choose. As to be expected, the more you pay, the more features you unlock.

Let's take a look at these in more detail…

Monzo Current and Monzo Lite

These are Monzo's free personal and business accounts. However, you should be aware of the following fees:

  • You can withdraw up to £200 a month for free when abroad. After that, you face a 3% fee.
  • You’re subject to a £1 charge when depositing money into your account via one of 28,000 PayPoint’s across the UK.

Monzo Plus

This is a personal account costing £5 a month and comes with:

  • A holographic card
  • Virtual cards
  • Advanced roundups
  • A credit tracker
  • Up to £400 fee-free withdrawals abroad
  • You can overview multiple Monzo accounts from your app.
  • You can split your payments into multiple categories to make it easier to see what you’re spending where.

On top of that, you can make one free deposit. You also earn a 1% interest rate on your balance and saving pots up to £2,000.

Please note: There's a three-month minimum term.

The Premium Plan

This personal plan costs £15 a month. Your monthly withdrawal limit abroad is lifted to £600, and you can make up to five free cash deposits. As well as everything above, the Premium plan also comes with worldwide travel insurance, phone insurance, 1.5% interest, discounted airport lounge access, and a high-quality metal card.

Please note: There's a six-month minimum term.

The Pro Account

This business account costs £5 a month and provides you with:

  • Integrations with third-party accountancy software
  • Ltd company's benefit from multi-user access
  • You can create, send and track invoices.
  • You can also open tax pots to save for your tax returns.
  • Enjoy six months of Xero access for free!

This plan also comes with all the Monzo essentials, like a full UK current bank account, Apple and Google Pay, fee-free spending abroad, and budgeting tools. Plus, you’ll get a business debit card and digital receipts to make managing your business expenses easier.

Card Shipping:

Your Monzo card is shipped for free (if you reside within the UK). In contrast, an international delivery costs £30.

Monzo Review: Signing Up with Monzo

monzo-review-uk-phone

To sign up for a Monzo bank account, you'll need to:

  • Be a UK resident
  • Be older than 16
  • Own a smartphone – Monzo doesn't have any physical branches, so you’ll need to download the Monzo app to your Android or iOS device to sign up.
  • Have your identification and proof of address at the ready
  • Provide your email address, phone number, and date of birth.

The app will also prompt you to submit a five-second selfie-video delivering a message. This will check your voice's sound and identify your face. These are anti-fraud protection measures to help keep your account safe from hackers.

Monzo Review: The App

As we've already hinted at, you can access all of Monzo's banking services via its mobile app, so you can bank while you're on the go via your smartphone or tablet. However, unlike some of its competitors, Monzo doesn’t provide a desktop version of its app. This means you have to have a smartphone or tablet.

The Monzo app is easy to install, use, and keep secure. In fact, at the time of writing, the app boasts an impressive 4.8-star rating on the Google Play store and a 4.9 rating in the App Store on iOS. This speaks volumes as to its quality of service and user-friendliness!

Monzo Review: Making Payments with Monzo

monzo-review-spending

You can use your Monzo app and card to make payments and send transfers easily.

Via the app, just set up a secure, personalized link and send it to the intended recipient by text or email. The recipient can simply open this link, enter their details, and get paid in next-to-no time.

Monzo also works with Google and Apple Pay, and you can easily set up direct debits and standing orders to stay on top of your bills. Monzo even informs you when next month's bills are predicted to be higher than usual so that you don't suffer any unpleasant financial surprises!

Monzo Review: Physical Cards

Monzo current accounts all come with a debit card, of which you can pick the color – hot coral, blue, and white. On Monzo's Plus plans, the card's holographic – fun, right?!

In contrast, Premium Monzo users receive a snazzy metal card, which at 16g weighs 3x more than Monzo's plastic debit card. The metal card's made out of a single sheet of stainless steel for extra rigidity and makes an immensely satisfying ‘clink.’ Logos and card details are precision engraved. Like its plastic counterpart, the metal card is also contactless.

You can use your physical cards to withdraw and spend money all around the world. Best of all, using your card abroad is free; you're only charges the MasterCard exchange rate.

Monzo Review: Virtual Cards

Monzo's virtual cards are exclusively available to Plus and Premium account-holders. Each virtual card has a unique ID, so you can buy online without reusing the same card details, making it much safer to shop online. In the unfortunate event that a website you've shopped with is breached, your bank accounts aren't compromised.

With the Plus account, you can use up to five virtual cards at any time. Best of all, you can hit the ground running within minutes – Plus and Premium account-holders can create virtual cards from within the Monzo app.

Monzo Review: Security

In 2017, Monzo became a fully regulated UK bank. This means your money is protected up to £85,000 by the financial services compensation scheme (FSCS).

This is an independent fund set up by the government to protect the capital of the people. If Monzo, or any other bank under the scheme, goes bankrupt, you won’t be left with empty pockets.

On top of that, you benefit from the following security measures:

  • Instant notifications whenever a payment is made.
  • You have to approve online payments and protect your account with either Touch ID, Face ID, fingerprint, or a PIN.
  • Monzo doesn’t use passwords to avoid phishing and poor password practices. Instead, it creates magic links that are sent to your email. From here, you can log into your app with just a click.
  • You can block and unblock your card whenever you want

Best of all, Monzo is four times better at preventing card fraud compared to other UK banks and three times better at stopping identity theft.

Monzo Review: Monzo Customer Support

When it comes to evaluating Monzo's customer service, the voice of their brand is worth noting. Monzo aims to speak its customers' language, so you can expect them to be transparent about technical information, keeping things as simple and jargon-free as possible.

Monzo provides an online help center. Here, you'll find various resources, including guides on what to do in an emergency, how to manage your account, making mobile payments, creating pots and budgeting, getting an overdraft, and much more.

There's also a busy online forum where Monzo encourages users to raise concerns and ask questions. Reading the forums is also an excellent way to get an impression of the product too, so if you’re curious about signing up for a Monzo account, make sure to visit it!

If you have further questions, you can contact Monzo’s support team via the in-app live-chat or on the phone. For urgent issues, the chat is available 24/7. For other inquiries, the Monzo team is available to chat from 7 am to 8 pm.

Monzo Review: Features

Below we've highlighted some of Monzo's key features:

Pots and Budgets

monzo-review-saving-pots

Monzo empowers you to organize your money.  The ‘Salary Sorter' separates your income into different categories, for example, spending, savings, bills, etc. That way, you can see exactly where you're money's going and how much disposable income you have that month.

On top of that, you can set up separate ‘savings pots' where you siphon off money towards your savings goals or bills. When you launch Monzo's 12-month fixed pot with a minimum £500 deposit, you can earn up to 0.27% (AER, fixed) worth of interest on your money. Alternatively, if you would prefer easy access to your savings, Monzo's got you covered. With their easy access savings account, you can get your money the next working day!

To help kickstart your savings, you can even opt to automatically round up your spare change to the nearest pound and have the difference sent to one of your saving pots. Handy, right?

Joint Accounts

monzo-review-joint-accounts

If you and your partner share expenses and want to manage your money together, Monzo’s joint account is well worth considering. This allows both of you full control and visibility over your savings accounts and spending.

Note: Joint accounts come with all the money-management features granted to personal account users.

Business Features

monzo-review-banking

If you opt for Monzo’s Business Pro account, you unlock a range of nifty business features. For example, you can create and send invoices from within the app and register multiple users if you’re an Ltd company. This is an excellent feature for businesses that either share or delegate banking-related tasks.

This same account also integrates with accounting software like Xero, FreeAgent, or QuickBooks. Plus, you can use Monzo’s ‘pot' system to set money aside for taxes.

Instant Notifications

monzo-review-spend

When you spend money, Monzo immediately notifies you the second the transaction's complete. You can set budgets for whatever you like, whether it’s going out, getting groceries, or going on a shopping trip with your friends. Then, you’ll get warnings the moment you start spending too fast to meet those budgets. However, if you don't want to receive these notifications, you can disable them – the choice is yours.

16-17 Accounts

If you’re not yet eighteen, you’re still able to open a full UK current account complete with an account number and sort code. You'll also receive a contactless card to make payments with. This account comes with all of Monzo's saving and budgeting features, but it doesn't enable you to make purchases on things illegal to under 18s. For instance, gambling. You also can't create an overdraft.

Overdrafts and Loans

For short-term borrowing, you can set up a Monzo overdraft. Monzo sets a £1,000 limit on overdrafts, charged at a rate of 19%, 29%, or 39% EAR. The rate depends on your credit score, which you can review in the Monzo app. Beyond this, Monzo doesn’t charge extra overdraft fees.

You can also explore several loan offerings with flexible repayments and same-day monies. There are no fees if you repay these loans early! Monzo offers loans up to £3000 with a representative APR of 26.6%.

Extras

Besides the above features, Monzo users can look forward to the following extras (depending on the account they’ve chosen):

Bill splitting: Easily split bills with shared tabs. Whether you're eating out, going on a day trip, or dividing household expenses, this functionality keeps track of who owes what. You can split the tab however you like and settle bills as they come in or at the end of the night – the choice is yours.

Traveling: Spend money abroad in any currency without incurring any fees. You’ll only pay the MasterCard exchange rate. Monzo also comes with travel reports that let you know how much you spent abroad. On premium accounts, you’ll also get worldwide family travel insurance up to £5,000 to cover cancellations.

Are You Ready to Get Started with Monzo?

Now that we’ve covered everything you need to know about Monzo, it’s time for you to decide.

Is Monzo the right mobile banking app for you? Let’s recap some of the essential points to remember:

If you’re not a UK resident, Monzo isn’t the right choice for you at this very moment. While we can look forward to seeing Monzo operate internationally at some point in the future, that day hasn’t yet arrived.

Also, Monzo might not be your best bet if travel money is your primary motive. While Monzo has a range of superb features for traveling, like travel reports, extra travel insurance, and free card uses abroad, the Mastercard exchange rate (usually) isn't the most favorable for travelers. You also have a withdrawal limit abroad, after which you’re charged a 3% fee each time you make an ATM withdrawal.

Monzo provides some flexibility on its loans, overdrafts, and savings pots, although the interest you earn isn’t impressive.

But, overall, the Monzo app is incredibly useful for saving, budgeting, and managing your finances – especially if you’re under 18 or need a joint account with your partner. Monzo’s various saving features are intuitive and very useful for managing cash flow and meeting your saving goals for both personal and business use.

In short, we think Monzo meets the mark with its other handy features like bill sharing, deposit predictions, and automatic spare change rounding, and as such, we would recommend this digital bank!

If you choose to sign up for a Monzo account, let us know what you think! Or, are you considering one of their competitors, like Starling Bank? Either way, we’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below and how your online banking experience compares to that of traditional banks. Speak soon!

Rosie Greaves

Rosie Greaves is a professional content strategist who specializes in all things digital marketing, B2B, and lifestyle. In addition to e-commerce platforms, you can find her published on Reader's Digest, G2, and Judicious Inc. Check out her website Blog with Rosie for more information.