亚马逊收购Whole Foods - 这对电子商务意味着什么?

亚马逊以13.6十亿美元的价格收购了Whole Foods Market,并且已被广泛报道。 我不打算重复许多出版商的做法。 重新编码 TechCrunch 周五在15-20展会期间写了一篇关于此次收购的文章。

杰夫贝索斯在2011中说:“我们愿意长期思考。 我们从客户开始,向后工作。 而且,非常重要的是,我们愿意长时间被误解。“这就是原因所在 亚马逊可以创新 与历史上任何其他公司不同。

继续阅读 亚马逊收购Whole Foods - 这对电子商务意味着什么?

Alibaba –基于中国的经济

几周前,当马云(Jack Ma)在底特律试图说服中小企业向中国客户销售产品时,他说了很多话,但报道不足。 Alibaba 希望 成为一个经济体 而不是仅仅被视为一个市场。

这个想法很简单 Alibaba 将会为2十亿人提供服务,1 Trillion的商品总值将进入其市场,并且10会在其各种平台上销售2020百万个业务。

继续阅读 Alibaba –基于中国的经济

为什么跨境电子商务是电子商务的未来

跨境电子商务是一种随着客户从境外购买产品而悄然获得巨大动力的现象。 电子商务的最后一个2年 分布式电子商务(在某些社交网络上购买按钮 - Twitter和Pinterest)以及最近的会话电子商务已经成为未来的竞争者。 会话电子商务被视为客户服务的潜在用例,涉及使用技术来帮助沟通。 我个人认为这些是时尚,因为跨境电子商务有可能成为电子商务的未来。

继续阅读 为什么跨境电子商务是电子商务的未来

中国市场是否向我们展示了未来?

中国市场是否向我们展示了未来 后勤? 上周都 Alibaba 京东和京东宣布了重大项目,这些项目将影响中国电子商务的未来。 中国电子商务是最有趣的市场之一,它们是大型上市公司,根据其在市场中的位置产生数十亿美元的收入。 Alibaba,京东和VIPShop都是市场领导者,但在市场所有权方面 Alibaba 迄今为止在电子商务生态系统中占主导地位。

继续阅读 中国市场是否向我们展示了未来?

英国脱欧对英国电子商务的影响

由于有关产品支付和地理封锁的新法律正处于采用的最后阶段,欧洲电子商务正处于十字路口。 英国决定在2年度离开欧盟(英国退欧)也将改变欧洲电子商务生态系统。 英国的企业能够使用电子商务作为渠道也肯定会改变。

目前 - 在接下来的2年中,将讨论和修改欧洲电子商务的政策和立法。 在欧盟和英国政府同意分离之前,现状仍然完好无损。

继续阅读 英国脱欧对英国电子商务的影响

Global Ecommerce News from June 22 to July 10

QVC has bought the remaining shares in its rival Home Shopping Network (HSN) for $2.1 Billion to consolidate the TV shopping industry.  We believe that this is yet another reaction to Amazon's acquisition of Whole Foods Market. We also analyze the impact on ecommerce after this record acquisition by Amazon.

Try-Shopify

A look around the ecommerce globe, with selected highlights:

Continue reading Global Ecommerce News from June 22 to July 10

Amazon buys Whole Foods – What does it mean for ecommerce?

Amazon bought Whole Foods Market for $13.6 Billion and it has been widely reported. I am not going to rehash what has been put by many publishers. Recode and TechCrunch wrote about the purchase on a Friday that will haunt retail in the US for the next 15-20 years.

Jeff Bezos famously said in 2011, “We are willing to think long-term. We start with the customer and work backwards. And, very importantly, we are willing to be misunderstood for long periods of time.”  This is the reason why Amazon can innovate unlike any other company in history.

Continue reading Amazon buys Whole Foods – What does it mean for ecommerce?

Alibaba – An Economy that is Based on China

A few weeks ago when Jack Ma was in Detroit trying to convince small and medium sized businesses to sell to Chinese customers he said something that was largely under reported. Alibaba is hoping to become an economy instead of being a seen as a marketplace exclusively.

The idea is very simple in that Alibaba will be serving 2 billion people and have Gross Merchandise Value of 1 Trillion going through its marketplaces and have 10 million businesses selling on its various platforms by 2020.

Continue reading Alibaba – An Economy that is Based on China

Global Ecommerce News from June 12 to June 21

Last Friday Amazon shocked the entire retail and ecommerce market in the US by announcing their pending acquisition of Whole Foods Market for $13.7 Billion. The impact was felt by other retail stocks that lost value for the remainder of the day. Walmart's acquisition of Bonobos was silenced as media buzzed with the Amazon – Whole Foods Market news.

A look around the ecommerce globe, with selected highlights:

Continue reading Global Ecommerce News from June 12 to June 21

Why Cross Border Ecommerce is the Future of Ecommerce

Cross border ecommerce is a phenomenon that has quietly gained huge momentum as customers purchase products from outside their borders. The last 2 years ecommerce has seen distributed ecommerce (buy buttons  on certain social networks – Twitter and Pinterest) and more recently conversational ecommerce has emerged as a contender for the future. Conversational ecommerce is seen as a potential use case for customer service which involves the usage of technology to help with communication. I personally view these as fads where as cross border ecommerce has potential to be the future of ecommerce.

Continue reading Why Cross Border Ecommerce is the Future of Ecommerce

Are Chinese Marketplaces Showing us the Future?

Are Chinese marketplaces showing us the future of logistics? Last week both Alibaba and JD.com announced significant projects that will impact the future of ecommerce in China. Chinese ecommerce is one of the most interesting markets are their are large public companies that generate Billions of Dollars in revenue based on their place in the market. Alibaba, JD.com and VIPShop are all market leaders but in terms of market ownership Alibaba is by far dominant in the ecommerce ecosystem.

Continue reading Are Chinese Marketplaces Showing us the Future?

Do Ecommerce Marketplaces Have Tax Problems?

Marketplaces are a growing phenomenon in ecommerce at the moment but in 2 regions a similar story seems to be happening. “In 2007, only 10% of digital sales went to the 3rd party merchants listed on a marketplace. Steadily, and perhaps stealthily, the figure climbed to 35% in 2016, according to Euromonitor International. Retailers around the world are now reckoning with this new normal in digital commerce.” Marketplace tax collection seems to be coming a political topic and a potential generator of significant tax revenues for the US and UK governments.

Continue reading Do Ecommerce Marketplaces Have Tax Problems?

The Impact of Brexit on UK Ecommerce

European ecommerce is at a cross roads as new laws regarding payment and geoblocking of products are in the final stages of adoption. Britain’s decision to leave the European Union (Brexit) in 2 years time is going to also change the European ecommerce ecosystem. British based business are able to use ecommerce as a channel will also definitely change as well.

Currently – for the next 2 years there will be discussion and changes to policy and legislation for ecommerce in Europe. The status quo remains intact until the European Union and the UK Government agree on their separation.

Continue reading The Impact of Brexit on UK Ecommerce