Amazon achète Whole Foods - Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour le commerce électronique?

Amazon a acheté Whole Foods Market pour $ 13.6 milliards et il a été largement rapporté. Je ne vais pas ressasser ce qui a été dit par de nombreux éditeurs. Recode et TechCrunch a écrit sur l'achat d'un vendredi qui hantera la vente au détail aux États-Unis pour les prochaines années 15-20.

Jeff Bezos a déclaré dans 2011: «Nous sommes prêts à penser à long terme. Nous commençons avec le client et travaillons en arrière. Et, ce qui est très important, nous sommes disposés à être incompris pendant de longues périodes. »C’est la raison pour laquelle Amazon peut innover contrairement à toute autre société de l'histoire.

Lire la suite ... Amazon achète Whole Foods - Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour le commerce électronique?

Alibaba - Une économie basée sur la Chine

Il y a quelques semaines, alors qu'il se trouvait à Détroit, Jack Ma tentait de convaincre les petites et moyennes entreprises de vendre aux clients chinois, il a dit une chose largement sous-déclarée. Alibaba espère devenir une économie au lieu d'être considéré comme un marché exclusivement.

L'idée est très simple en ce que Alibaba 2 servira un milliard de personnes et sa valeur brute de marchandise sera de 1 Trillion traversant ses marchés et ses millions d’entreprises seront vendues sur ses différentes plates-formes par 10.

Lire la suite ... Alibaba - Une économie basée sur la Chine

Pourquoi le commerce électronique transfrontalier est-il l'avenir du commerce électronique?

Le commerce électronique transfrontalier est un phénomène qui a tranquillement pris de l'ampleur, les clients achetant des produits en dehors de leurs frontières. Le dernier commerce en ligne 2 a vu commerce électronique distribué (boutons d'achat sur certains réseaux sociaux - Twitter et Pinterest) et, plus récemment, le commerce électronique conversationnel est devenu un concurrent pour l'avenir. Le commerce électronique conversationnel est considéré comme un cas d'utilisation potentiel pour le service client qui implique l'utilisation de la technologie pour faciliter la communication. Je les considère personnellement comme des modes où le commerce électronique transfrontalier pourrait devenir le futur du commerce électronique.

Lire la suite ... Pourquoi le commerce électronique transfrontalier est-il l'avenir du commerce électronique?

Les marchés chinois nous montrent-ils l'avenir?

Les marchés chinois nous montrent-ils l'avenir de logistique? La semaine dernière les deux Alibaba et JD.com ont annoncé d'importants projets qui auront une incidence sur l'avenir du commerce électronique en Chine. Le commerce électronique chinois est l’un des marchés les plus intéressants. Il s’agit de grandes entreprises publiques qui génèrent des milliards de dollars de revenus en fonction de leur place sur le marché. Alibaba, JD.com et VIPShop sont tous des leaders du marché mais en termes de propriété du marché Alibaba est de loin dominant dans l'écosystème de commerce électronique.

Lire la suite ... Les marchés chinois nous montrent-ils l'avenir?

L'impact du Brexit sur le commerce électronique au Royaume-Uni

Le commerce électronique européen est à la croisée des chemins puisque de nouvelles lois concernant le paiement et le géoblocage des produits sont en phase finale d'adoption. La décision de la Grande-Bretagne de quitter l'Union européenne (Brexit) au cours des années 2 va également changer l'écosystème européen du commerce électronique. Les entreprises basées en Grande-Bretagne peuvent utiliser le commerce électronique, car un canal aussi changera certainement.

Actuellement, pour les prochaines années 2, il y aura des discussions et des changements de politique et de législation pour le commerce électronique en Europe. Le statu quo reste intact jusqu'à ce que l'Union européenne et le gouvernement britannique s'entendent sur leur séparation.

Lire la suite ... L'impact du Brexit sur le commerce électronique au Royaume-Uni

Global Ecommerce News from June 22 to July 10

QVC has bought the remaining shares in its rival Home Shopping Network (HSN) for $2.1 Billion to consolidate the TV shopping industry.  We believe that this is yet another reaction to Amazon's acquisition of Whole Foods Market. We also analyze the impact on ecommerce after this record acquisition by Amazon.

Try-Shopify

A look around the ecommerce globe, with selected highlights:

Continue reading Global Ecommerce News from June 22 to July 10

Amazon buys Whole Foods – What does it mean for ecommerce?

Amazon bought Whole Foods Market for $13.6 Billion and it has been widely reported. I am not going to rehash what has been put by many publishers. Recode and TechCrunch wrote about the purchase on a Friday that will haunt retail in the US for the next 15-20 years.

Jeff Bezos famously said in 2011, “We are willing to think long-term. We start with the customer and work backwards. And, very importantly, we are willing to be misunderstood for long periods of time.”  This is the reason why Amazon can innovate unlike any other company in history.

Continue reading Amazon buys Whole Foods – What does it mean for ecommerce?

Alibaba – An Economy that is Based on China

A few weeks ago when Jack Ma was in Detroit trying to convince small and medium sized businesses to sell to Chinese customers he said something that was largely under reported. Alibaba is hoping to become an economy instead of being a seen as a marketplace exclusively.

The idea is very simple in that Alibaba will be serving 2 billion people and have Gross Merchandise Value of 1 Trillion going through its marketplaces and have 10 million businesses selling on its various platforms by 2020.

Continue reading Alibaba – An Economy that is Based on China

Global Ecommerce News from June 12 to June 21

Last Friday Amazon shocked the entire retail and ecommerce market in the US by announcing their pending acquisition of Whole Foods Market for $13.7 Billion. The impact was felt by other retail stocks that lost value for the remainder of the day. Walmart's acquisition of Bonobos was silenced as media buzzed with the Amazon – Whole Foods Market news.

A look around the ecommerce globe, with selected highlights:

Continue reading Global Ecommerce News from June 12 to June 21

Why Cross Border Ecommerce is the Future of Ecommerce

Cross border ecommerce is a phenomenon that has quietly gained huge momentum as customers purchase products from outside their borders. The last 2 years ecommerce has seen distributed ecommerce (buy buttons  on certain social networks – Twitter and Pinterest) and more recently conversational ecommerce has emerged as a contender for the future. Conversational ecommerce is seen as a potential use case for customer service which involves the usage of technology to help with communication. I personally view these as fads where as cross border ecommerce has potential to be the future of ecommerce.

Continue reading Why Cross Border Ecommerce is the Future of Ecommerce

Are Chinese Marketplaces Showing us the Future?

Are Chinese marketplaces showing us the future of logistics? Last week both Alibaba and JD.com announced significant projects that will impact the future of ecommerce in China. Chinese ecommerce is one of the most interesting markets are their are large public companies that generate Billions of Dollars in revenue based on their place in the market. Alibaba, JD.com and VIPShop are all market leaders but in terms of market ownership Alibaba is by far dominant in the ecommerce ecosystem.

Continue reading Are Chinese Marketplaces Showing us the Future?

Do Ecommerce Marketplaces Have Tax Problems?

Marketplaces are a growing phenomenon in ecommerce at the moment but in 2 regions a similar story seems to be happening. “In 2007, only 10% of digital sales went to the 3rd party merchants listed on a marketplace. Steadily, and perhaps stealthily, the figure climbed to 35% in 2016, according to Euromonitor International. Retailers around the world are now reckoning with this new normal in digital commerce.” Marketplace tax collection seems to be coming a political topic and a potential generator of significant tax revenues for the US and UK governments.

Continue reading Do Ecommerce Marketplaces Have Tax Problems?

The Impact of Brexit on UK Ecommerce

European ecommerce is at a cross roads as new laws regarding payment and geoblocking of products are in the final stages of adoption. Britain’s decision to leave the European Union (Brexit) in 2 years time is going to also change the European ecommerce ecosystem. British based business are able to use ecommerce as a channel will also definitely change as well.

Currently – for the next 2 years there will be discussion and changes to policy and legislation for ecommerce in Europe. The status quo remains intact until the European Union and the UK Government agree on their separation.

Continue reading The Impact of Brexit on UK Ecommerce