ما الذي يعطي قيمة NFT؟

من خلال لحظات الإنترنت الشهيرة ، والميمات الشهيرة ، والأعمال الفنية الآسرة التي يتم تحويلها إلى أصول رقمية عالية القيمة ، ربما تكون قد سمعت الكثير من الضجة حول NFTs. كيف لا تستطيع؟ من المنافذ الإخبارية ذات السمعة الطيبة إلى المشاهير المشهورين ، يتحدث الجميع إما عن هذه الأصول أو يتعامل معها بنشاط.

لكن هذا الانكشاف المفاجئ لهذه الأصول يفتح أيضًا الأبواب أمام عدد كبير من الأسئلة. بالضبط ما هو NFT؟ كيف يعمل؟ كيف تشتريه؟ والأهم من ذلك ، ما الذي يعطي قيمة NFT؟

لحسن الحظ ، ليس من الصعب العثور على الإجابات. من خلال بضع نقاط رئيسية فقط ، يمكنك معرفة كل ما تحتاجه حول هذه الأصول الرقمية سريعة النمو.

لمساعدتك خلال هذه العملية ، إليك معلومات حول NFTs ووظائفها وقيمتها المتراكمة.

ما هو NFT؟

على المدى NFT تعني رمز غير قابل للاستبدال، ويشير إلى نوع من الأصول الرقمية التي تعتمد على تقنية blockchain. تأتي هذه الرموز المميزة مع تعريفها الفريد من خلال البيانات الوصفية والتوقيعات المقابلة.

كما يوحي الاسم ، لا يمكن استبدال NFT ، مما يعني أنه لا يمكن استبداله أو نسخه بواسطة عنصر آخر من نوعه. هذا يجعل كل NFT أصلية في شكلها. هذا التميز هو ما يساهم في الحماسة حول هذه الرموز المميزة لـ blockchain.

لهذا السبب ، عندما يُنسب NFT إلى أصل تقليدي أو خاصية رقمية ، فإنه ينشئ رمزًا مميزًا فريدًا على blockchain مع البيانات الوصفية والتفاصيل المرتبطة به. هذا يسمح للرمز المميز بتمثيل الأصل المعني في شكل رقمي. علاوة على ذلك ، يمكن تبادل النموذج الرقمي بين المشتري والبائع للعقار المعني كدليل على الملكية.

هذا يعني أن أي شخص قام بإنشاء أو شراء NFT منفرد لعنصر معين لديه مطالبة كاملة بالأصل المرتبط. تنطبق مطالبة الملكية هذه سواء كان الأصل موجودًا في شكل رقمي أو في ملكية ملموسة. نتيجة لذلك ، أصبح النقل السهل لمطالبات الملكية أحد أكبر الأسباب وراء شعبية NFTs.

ما نوع الأصول التي يمكن تحويلها إلى NFT؟

عندما تفكر في الأصول القابلة للاستبدال ، يمكنك الرجوع إلى العملة المشفرة مثل Bitcoin ، والتي يمكن استبدالها بوحدة أخرى من نوعها. ولكن عندما تنظر إلى الأصول غير القابلة للاستبدال ، فإن قطعة من الممتلكات العقارية تبرز كمثال جيد لشيء فريد تمامًا في حالته.

هذا هو السبب في أن NFTs يمكن أن تُنسب إلى العديد من الأصول غير القابلة للاستبدال أو المتميزة التي تشمل على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ما يلي.

  • الأعمال الفنية مثل اللوحات الزيتية والرسومات الرقمية.
  • المحتوى عبر الإنترنت مثل منشورات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ومقالات الرأي.
  • محتوى الموسيقى مثل الأغاني وعمليات إعادة التوزيع والسمفونيات ونقاط الخلفية.
  • محتوى الفيديو مثل مقاطع الفيديو القصيرة والطويلة.
  • العقارات مثل العقارات السكنية والتجارية.

عمليًا ، يمكن تحويل أي شيء فريد في شكله إلى NFT والحفاظ على حالته على blockchain. نظرًا لأن NFT هو تمثيل للأصل الفعلي وملكيته ، فإن هذا يمنح الأشخاص قدرًا كبيرًا من المرونة في نوع الأصول التي يريدون تحويلها إلى NFTs.

 

لا تقتصر NFTs على ترتيبات المالك الفردي

يُنظر إلى NFTs عمومًا على أنها ترتيب مالك واحد ، حيث يعتبر أي شخص لديه NFT هو المالك الكامل للأصل المرتبط. في حين أن هذه الفكرة صحيحة إلى حد ما ، إلا أنها لا تنطبق دائمًا. في كثير من الحالات ، يمكن تحويل الخصائص المشتركة بنجاح إلى عدة NFTs.

في هذه الترتيبات ، يمكن للمرء إنشاء NFTs متعددة لمجموعة من العناصر أو عروض الملكية المشتركة. وهذا يعني أنه يمكن للمبنى السكني إنشاء وحدات NFT مميزة لكل وحدة سكنية وبيعها لمشترين مختلفين. لكن المرونة لا تقتصر على قطاعات الملكية الفريدة في الممتلكات. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن أن تحتوي قطعة مجوهرات واحدة أو قطعة نادرة على العديد من NFTs المنسوبة إليها ، مع مشاركة كل واحدة في جزء بسيط من قيمتها وملكيتها.

تعمل هذه الآلية الخاصة على تحويل NFTs إلى أكثر من ترتيب رمزي واحد وتمنحهم قدرة هائلة على التكيف. هذا يفتح أيضًا الأبواب أمام استخدام NFTs في أشكال متعددة ، مثل ترتيبات الملكية الخاصة ، واتفاقيات المساهمين ، وتوزيع الممتلكات التجارية.

ما الذي يعطي قيمة NFT؟

بعد التعرف على أساسيات NFT ووظائفها ، فإن السؤال التالي الذي يتبادر إلى الذهن هو حول قيمتها أو سعرها أو تكلفتها. من الذي يحدد هذا السعر بالضبط هو سؤال شائع لأولئك الذين لم يتعاملوا مطلقًا مع تقنيات NFT أو blockchain من قبل.

لكي نكون منصفين ، إنه استفسار طبيعي تمامًا لأن NFTs لا تقتصر على الأصول النموذجية مثل اللوحات التقليدية ذات القيمة الواقعية المرتبطة بها. كما أنها تمتد لتشمل المحتوى الرقمي مثل منشورات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التي عادة ما تأتي بدون دفع ثمن.

هذا يعني أن قيمة NFTs تعتمد على نوع الأصل الذي تمثله على blockchain. إذا كان الأصل المعني هو ملكية ملموسة مثل العقارات السكنية ، فإن سعره في العالم الحقيقي ينعكس من خلال NFT على blockchain. لكن لنفترض أن الأصل عبارة عن جزء رقمي من المحتوى لا يأتي مع ملصق تسعير ، فإن قيمته تكون تخمينية بحتة. في جوهرها ، تعتمد قيمتها على السوق والعرض والطلب.

يمكنك التفكير في هذا على أنه التعامل مع نوع معين من الأعمال الفنية ، حيث يتم تحديد قيمة كل قطعة بناءً على معنويات السوق وما يرغب المشترون المحتملون في دفعه مقابل ذلك. هذا يعني أنه يمكن للبائع تعيين سعر أعماله الفنية المحددة على أي مستوى يريده. ما إذا كان المشتري سيدفع هذه التكلفة للحصول على ملكية الأصل أمر مختلف تمامًا.

ولكن عندما يتماشى هذان العاملان من حيث سعر طلب البائع والتكاليف المتعمدة للمشتري أو رغبته في الدفع معًا ، فإنه يقرر القيمة المضاربة لـ NFT. يغطي هذا جميع أنواع الأصول التي ليس لها علامة أسعار في العالم الحقيقي مرتبطة بها. يتضمن ذلك محتوى مثل منشورات الوسائط الاجتماعية وبطاقات التداول الرقمية والأعمال الفنية الرقمية.

يمكن بيع NFTs ذات القيمة المضاربة بأسعار ضخمة

ربما يكون أحد أشهر الأمثلة على المحتوى الرقمي الذي تم بيعه عبر NFT بقيمة كبيرة هو تغريدة عام 2006 بواسطة Twitter الرئيس التنفيذي جاك دورسي.

كأول تغريدة من Dorsey ، يُعتبر المنشور أحد أكثر أجزاء المحتوى شهرة على الويب. عندما تم تحويل هذا العنصر الرقمي إلى أصل رقمي على Ethereum blockchain ، فقد سمح لـ NFT المقابل للتغريدة أن يكون بيعت بأكثر من 2.9 مليون دولار في 22 مارس 2021. كمرجع ، بدأت العطاءات الخاصة بالتغريدة من 1 دولار مرة أخرى في 15 ديسمبر 2020.

توضح آلية المعاملة هذه حول تغريدة دورسي التي تحولت إلى NFT أن قيمة NFT يمكن أن تبدأ بالفعل من أقل مبلغ ممكن. ولكن إذا كان المشترون المهتمون على استعداد لدفع مبالغ أعلى ، فيمكنك توقع حدوث أشياء رائعة. طالما أن السوق يُظهر ارتفاعًا في الطلب على الأصل أو NFT المعني ، يمكن أن ترتفع المزايدة إلى أعلى ما يمكنك تخيله.

هذا يعني أن السماء هي الحد الأقصى لـ NFTs التي لا ترتبط أسعارها بأصل في العالم الحقيقي. نظرًا لأن قيمتها يتم تحديدها من خلال مدى رغبة المشترين في التخلص منها ، يمكن أن تتجاوز NFTs توقعات البائعين الأصليين.

مثال آخر على قيم NFT التي تتخطى خيال أي شخص هو Cryptokitالروابط ، وهي قطط رسوم متحركة رقمية قابلة للتحصيل موجودة في سلسلة Ethereum blockchain. تم تصنيف هذه القطط الرقمية القابلة للتداول على أنها "أطفال قبعة صغيرة رقمية" لـ الإثارة التي أحاطت بهم. لا يزالون يعتبرون شكلاً شائعًا من NFTs جنبًا إلى جنب أنواع أخرى من الفن الرقمي مثل بطاقات تداول NBA Top Shot لما تستحقه.

بصرف النظر عن التفرد ، يمكن للسمات الأخرى مثل توقيع منشئي المحتوى أو التفاصيل المميزة الأخرى في البيانات الوصفية أن تقطع شوطًا طويلاً في تحديد قيمة NFT للأفضل.

ولكن الأهم من ذلك كله ، أن ما يرفع قيمة NFTs حقًا هو أهمية الأصول المرتبطة به. كلما زادت الكثافة المحيطة بالأصل المقابل أو ممتلكاته المميزة ، زادت فرص البائع في تداول NFT بسعر أعلى. هذا ينطبق بشكل خاص على NFTs التي ليس لها قيمة بداية في العالم الحقيقي. بعض الأمثلة في هذا الصدد تشمل على سبيل المثال لا الحصر منشورات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، والموسيقى التي لم يتم إصدارها ، والأعمال الفنية الرقمية.

تعتمد القيمة بشكل أساسي على نوع الأصل الذي يتم بيعه

عادةً ما تعتمد قيمة NFT إما على سعرها في العالم الحقيقي أو المضاربة. يمنحك هذا قيمًا شديدة التقلب للأصول الملموسة والمحتوى الرقمي لأنواع مختلفة من NFTs.

في حين أن القيمة في العالم الحقيقي هي النقطة المرجعية للأصول الملموسة وتلعب القيمة التخمينية دورًا رئيسيًا في الخصائص الرقمية ، فإن هذا ليس هو الحال دائمًا. في كثير من الحالات ، يمكن أن يساهم كلا العاملين في قيمة الأصل المعني.

على سبيل المثال ، أثناء التعامل مع عقار من خلال NFT ، يتم تحديد سعر NFT من خلال القيمة الحقيقية للأصل ، لكن تكلفة الأصول الفعلية تعتمد على عدد كبير من عوامل السوق. عندما يتم تجميعها معًا ، فإنها تمنحك القيمة الأساسية لـ NFT التي يتم تمثيلها على blockchain.

على العكس من ذلك ، عندما تتعامل في NFT مبني على محتوى رقمي أو وسائط ، فإن قيمتها لا تبدأ من سعر الممتلكات الملموسة. لاحظ أنه لا توجد قيمة ابتدائية ، لتبدأ بها. نتيجة لذلك ، فإن قيمة NFTs تخمينية بحتة وتعتمد على معنويات السوق المعنية. وهذا هو السبب أيضًا في أنه يُنظر إلى العديد من NFTs المستندة إلى التغريدات على أنها تبدأ عرض أسعارها من 1 دولار أمريكي.

سواء كنت تشتري NFT أو تبيعه ، يجب أن تضع هذه النقاط في الاعتبار. خلاف ذلك ، يمكنك شراء NFT بسعر مرتفع للغاية أو بيع NFT الخاص بك عند نقطة سعر منخفضة للغاية. من خلال مراعاة هذه العوامل ، يمكنك اتخاذ قرار مستنير يساعدك في الحصول على أقصى قيمة من NFT الخاص بك.

أين يمكنك التداول في NFTs؟

تعتمد NFT على تقنية blockchain ، مما يجعلها آمنة للغاية وتضمن تفردها على المدى الطويل. ولكن هذا يجعلها أيضًا تقف بجانب العملات المشفرة التقليدية التي تعتمد أيضًا على blockchain. تشمل هذه الأمثلة على سبيل المثال لا الحصر Bitcoin و Ethereum و Litecoin و Dogecoin.

نظرًا لكونها غير قابلة للاستبدال ، لا يمكن لهذه العملات المشفرة أن تحل محل NFT نفسها. ومع ذلك ، لا يزال من الممكن استخدام العملات المشفرة لتسديد المدفوعات لبائع NFT. على سبيل المثال ، يمكن لـ NFTs المستندة إلى blockchain Ethereum قبول المدفوعات في Ether ، وهي العملة المشفرة الافتراضية blockchain. ولكن إذا كنت تريد تدوين ملاحظة لقبول المدفوعات من خلال طرق أخرى ، فيمكنك إعداد ذلك أيضًا.

يعد إنشاء وبيع وشراء NFTs عملية مفصلة. اعتمادًا على نوع الأصل الذي تريد تداوله ، يمكنك تحديد منصة متخصصة في بيع وشراء نوع معين من العناصر.

على سبيل المثال ، إذا كنت ترغب في إنشاء NFT من تغريدة أو شراء تغريدة شخص آخر ، فإن منصة مثل Valuables by Cent ستكون مثالية لاحتياجاتك. ولكن إذا كنت مهتمًا أكثر ببيع الأعمال الفنية الرقمية ، فستكون منصة مثل Rarible أكثر ملاءمة.

وبالمثل ، إذا قمت بإنشاء NFT من أصل عالي القيمة مثل العقارات ، فقد تحتاج إلى المرور عبر منصات متخصصة للتحقق من سعر الأصل. في أبريل 2021 ، أ تم طرح منزل في كاليفورنيا للبيع على OpenSea باعتباره NFT والعمل الفني لإكمال الحزمة.

من خلال استكشاف الأنظمة الأساسية والمتطلبات والمنهجيات المختلفة ، يمكنك العثور على منزل لـ NFT الخاص بك أو مكان لشراء NFTs التي أنشأها الآخرون. نظرًا لأن المساحة قد بدأت للتو ، فمن الآمن القول أنه يمكن أن تظهر منصات جديدة مخصصة لأنواع مختلفة من المحتوى والخصائص والأصول. هذا من شأنه أن يضيف إلى عامل الراحة وسهولة الوصول لبائعي NFT والمشترين على حد سواء.

أين تتجه قيم NFT؟

نظرًا لأن المزيد من أنواع الأصول يتم تحويلها إلى NFTs أو يتم التعامل معها عبر blockchain ، يمكننا أن نتوقع رؤية المعاملات التي ستنتهي بمبالغ منتظمة وقيمة عالية بشكل استثنائي. تنطبق هذه الفكرة على المقتنيات التي يتم شراؤها من أجل المتعة بدلاً من الاستخدام الوظيفي ، فضلاً عن الوحدات العقارية أو عروض الأسهم المرتبطة بالاستخدام التجاري أو في العالم الحقيقي.

على سبيل المثال ، قد تُباع بعض الأعمال الفنية الرقمية مقابل تكاليف عادية ، بينما قد تُباع بعض التغريدات بقيمة عالية بشكل متزايد. وبالمثل ، فإن بعض العقارات قد تترك بصماتها نظرًا لمبالغ معاملاتها الضخمة ، في حين أن تكلفة بعض اللوحات الواقعية قد تتجاوز خيال بائعيها. كل هذا يتوقف على نوع الأصل المباع على blockchain والطلب المحيط به.

في كلتا الحالتين ، NFTs هنا لترك بصماتها ، خاصة بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يرون المقتنيات الرقمية أو المعاملات عبر الإنترنت هي الشيء الكبير التالي. من خلال الاستفادة من تجارة النوادر والأعمال الفنية وخصائص العالم الحقيقي ، ربما تكون تقنية blockchain قد وجدت الشيء الكبير التالي لبقائها وتوسعها في الوسط السائد.

بوجدان رانسيا

بوجدان هو أحد الأعضاء المؤسسين لشركة Inspired Mag ، حيث اكتسب خبرة تقرب من سنوات 6 خلال هذه الفترة. يحب في وقت فراغه دراسة الموسيقى الكلاسيكية واستكشاف الفنون البصرية. انه مهووس جدا مع إصلاحات كذلك. يمتلك 5 بالفعل.

What Gives NFT Value?

With iconic internet moments, popular memes, and captivating artwork being turned into high-value digital assets, you may have heard a lot of buzz about NFTs. How could you not? From reputable news outlets to famous celebrities, everyone is either talking about these assets or dealing with them actively.

But that sudden exposure to these assets also opens doors to a plethora of questions. Exactly what is an NFT? How does it work? How do you buy it? And most importantly, what gives an NFT value?

Fortunately, the answers are not hard to find. With just a few key points, you can learn all that you need about these rapidly growing digital assets.

To help you through the process, here’s a lowdown on NFTs, their functionality, and their accrued value.

What is an NFT?

The term NFT stands for non-fungible token, and refers to a type of digital asset that is based on blockchain technology. These tokens come with their unique identification through metadata and corresponding signatures.

As the name suggests, an NFT is not fungible, which means it cannot be replaced or replicated by another item of its kind. This makes each NFT original in its form. This distinctiveness is what contributes to the fervor around such blockchain tokens.

Due to this reason, when an NFT is attributed to a conventional asset or digital property, it creates a unique token on the blockchain with its metadata and associated details. This allows the token to represent the respective asset in a digital form. Further, the digital form can be exchanged between the buyer and seller of the property in question as proof of ownership.

This means that anyone who has created or purchased a sole NFT of a particular item has full claim over the associated asset. This ownership claim applies whether the asset exists in a digital form or a tangible property. As a result, the easy transfer of ownership claims has become one of the biggest reasons behind the popularity of NFTs.

What Type of Assets Can Be Turned Into an NFT?

When you think of fungible assets, you can refer to cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin, which can be replaced by another unit of its kind. But when you look at non-fungible assets, a piece of real estate property stands out as a good example of something wholly unique in its status.

That is why NFTs can be attributed to several non-fungible or distinct assets that include but are not limited to the following.

  • Artwork such as oil paintings and digital sketches.
  • Online content such as social media posts and opinion articles.
  • Music content such as songs, remixes, symphonies, and background score.
  • Video content such as short-form and long-form videos.
  • Real estate such as residential and commercial properties.

Practically, anything unique in its form can be turned into an NFT and have its status preserved on the blockchain. Since an NFT is a representation of the actual asset and its ownership, this gives people a lot of flexibility in what type of assets they want to convert to NFTs.

 

NFTs Are Not Limited to Single-owner Arrangements

NFTs are generally perceived as a single-owner arrangement, where anyone who has an NFT is considered the complete owner of the associated asset. While this notion is true to some extent, it is not always applicable. In many cases, shared properties can be successfully turned into several NFTs.

In these arrangements, one can create multiple NFTs for a collection of items or shared ownership offerings. This means that an apartment building can create distinct NFTs for each of its residential units and sell them off to different buyers. But the flexibility is not limited to unique ownership segments in a property. For instance, a single piece of jewelry or rare collectible can have multiple NFTs attributed to it, with each one sharing a fraction of its value and ownership.

This particular mechanism turns NFTs into more than a single-token arrangement and gives them immense adaptability. This also opens doors to the usage of NFTs in multiple forms, such as private equity arrangements, shareholder agreements, and commercial property distribution.

What Gives an NFT Value?

After learning about the basics of NFTs and their functionality, the next question that comes to mind is about their value, price, or cost. Who exactly sets this price is a common question for those who have never dealt with NFTs or blockchain technologies before.

To be fair, it is quite a natural inquiry because NFTs are not restricted to typical assets such as conventional paintings with a real-world value attached to them. They also extend to digital content such as social media posts that usually come without a price tag.

This means that an NFTs value depends on the type of asset that it represents on the blockchain. If the asset in question is a tangible property such as residential real estate, its real-world price is reflected through its NFT on the blockchain. But suppose that the asset is a digital piece of content that doesn’t come with a pricing label, then its value is purely speculative. In essence, it's value depends on the market, supply and demand.

You can think of this as dealing with a specific type of artwork, where each piece’s value is determined on market sentiment and what potential buyers are willing to pay for it. This means that the seller can set the price of their specific artwork to any level they want. Whether the buyer will pay that cost to gain ownership of the asset is a completely different thing altogether.

But when these two factors in terms of a seller’s asking price and a buyer’s willful costs or their desire to pay align together, it decides the speculative value of an NFT. This covers all types of assets that don’t have a real-world price tag attached to them. This includes content such as social media posts, digital trading cards, and digital artwork.

NFTs With Speculative Value Can Sell At Massive Prices

Perhaps one of the most famous examples of a digital content NFT being sold at a significant value is a 2006 tweet by Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey.

As the first tweet by Dorsey, the post is considered one of the most iconic pieces of content on the web. When this digital item was turned into a digital asset on the Ethereum blockchain, it allowed the tweet’s corresponding NFT to be sold at over $2.9 million on March 22, 2021. For reference, the bids for the tweet started at $1 back on December 15, 2020.

This transaction mechanism around Dorsey’s tweet-turned-NFT outlines that an NFTs value can indeed start from the lowest amount possible. But if interested buyers are willing to pay higher amounts, you can expect wonderful things to happen. As long as the market shows a high demand for the asset or NFT in question, the bidding can go as high as you can imagine.

This means that the sky’s the limit for NFTs that don’t have their prices tied to a real-world asset. Since their value is decided by how much buyers are willing to shell out, these NFTs can surpass the wildest expectations of original sellers.

Another example of NFTs’ values going way beyond anyone’s imagination is Cryptokitties, which are collectible digital cartoon cats that reside on the Ethereum blockchain. These tradable, digital cats were once labeled as “digital beanie babies” for the excitement that surrounded them. They are still considered a popular form of NFTs along with other types of digital art such as NBA Top Shot trading cards for what it's worth.

Apart from the uniqueness, other attributes such as the content creators’ signature or other distinct details in the metadata can also go a long way in deciding the value of its NFT for the better.

But most of all, what really drives up an NFTs value is the importance of its associated asset. The more intensity that surrounds the corresponding asset or its distinct property, the higher the chances a seller has for trading their NFT at a higher price. This especially holds for NFTs that do not have a starter value in the real-world. A few examples in this regard include but are not limited to social media posts, unreleased music, and digital artwork.

The Value Mainly Depends on the Type of Asset Being Sold

Typically, the value of an NFT is either dependent on its real-world price or speculation. This gives you highly fluctuating values for in tangible assets and digital content for different types of NFTs.

While real-world value is the point of reference for tangible assets and speculative value plays a major role in digital properties, that is not always the case. In many cases, both factors can contribute to the value of the respective asset.

For instance, while transacting a real estate property through an NFT, the NFT’s price is decided by the asset’s real-world value, but the actual asset’s cost depends upon a plethora of market factors. When put together, it gives you the NFT’s primary value that’s represented on the blockchain.

Conversely, when you are dealing in an NFT that is based on digital content or media, its value doesn’t start from its tangible property price. Note that there is no starting value, to begin with. As a result, the NFTs value is purely speculative and depends upon the respective market sentiment. That is also why many tweet-based NFTs are seen as starting their bid from as low as 1 USD.

Whether you are buying or selling an NFT, you must keep these points in mind. Otherwise, you can buy an NFT at too high of a price tag or sell your NFT at too low a price point. By being mindful of these factors, you can make an informed decision that helps you get the maximum value out of your respective NFT.

Where Can You Trade in NFTs?

NFTs are based on blockchain technology, which makes them highly secure and ensures their uniqueness in the long run. But this also makes them stand right beside conventional cryptocurrencies that are also based on blockchain. These examples include but are not limited to Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, and Dogecoin.

Due to being non-fungible, these cryptocurrencies cannot replace the NFT itself. However, cryptocurrencies can still be used to make payments to the seller of the NFT. For instance, NFTs based on the Ethereum blockchain can accept payments in Ether, which is the blockchain’s default cryptocurrency. But if you want to make a note to accept payments through other methods, you can set that up as well.

Creating, selling, and buying NFTs is a detailed process. Depending on the type of asset you want to trade, you can select a platform specializing in buying and selling a particular kind of item.

For instance, if you want to create an NFT from a tweet or buy someone else’s tweet, a platform such as Valuables by Cent will be perfect for your needs. But if you are more interested in selling digital artwork, a platform such as Rarible will be more suitable.

Similarly, if you create an NFT out of a high-value asset such as real estate, you may need to go through specialized platforms to verify the asset’s price. In April 2021, a California home was put on sale on OpenSea as an NFT and artwork to complete the package.

By exploring different platforms, requirements, and methodologies, you can find a home for your own NFT or a place to buy NFTs created by others. Since the space has just started to kick off, it is safe to say that new platforms could emerge that are dedicated to various types of content, properties, and assets. This would add to the convenience and accessibility factor for NFT sellers and buyers alike.

Where Are NFT Values Headed?

As more types of assets are turned into NFTs or transacted via the blockchain, we can expect to see transactions that will finalize for regular amounts and exceptionally high value. This notion holds for collectibles that are bought for joy rather than functional use, as well as real estate units or equity offerings that are tied to commercial or real-world utilization.

For instance, some digital artwork may sell for regular costs, while some tweets might sell for increasingly high value. Similarly, some real estate properties would make their mark due to their massive transaction amounts, while the cost of some real-life paintings may surpass the imagination of their sellers. It all depends on the type of asset sold on the blockchain and the demand surrounding it.

In either case, NFTs are here to make their mark, especially for those who see digital collectibles or online transactions as the next big thing. By tapping into the trade of rarities, artworks, and real-world properties, blockchain technology may have just found the next big thing for its survival and expansion into the mainstream medium.

Bogdan Rancea

Bogdan is a founding member of Inspired Mag, having accumulated almost 6 years of experience over this period. In his spare time he likes to study classical music and explore visual arts. He’s quite obsessed with fixies as well. He owns 5 already.