处理PCI合规费用的终极指南

根据您的在线商店的信用卡处理器,您可能会被收取费用 PCI 合规费。 跑步的时候 电子商务商店 了解PCI合规性的实际含义以及如何保护您和您的客户免于丢失有价值的交易信息至关重要。

我建议退房 安全标准委员会的PCI合规指南 获取整个信息,但为了快速定义,PCI合规性基本上意味着您的客户付款信息正在通过安全网络进行处理,因此,如果尝试攻击您的在线商店,则无法访问该信息。

PCI安全标准

当您使用信用卡处理器注册时 支付网关公司,他们都必须遵循PCI标准,其中许多甚至超越了提供额外的PCI合规性服务和工具。

无论如何,如果您收到PCI合规费用,它可能会让您想知道这笔钱是用于什么的。 这只是信用卡处理商骗取您的更多钱,还是公司实际提供合法的PCI合规服务来保护您的商店? 继续阅读以找出答案。

PCI合规费用完全取决于公司收费

这个问题没有明确的答案,除了一些信用卡处理公司正在帮助你收取费用,而其他人则没有。

事实上,就PCI合规费用而言,您的信用卡处理器很可能属于以下类别之一:

  • 您的信用卡处理商向您收取费用但未提供任何支持。
  • 您的信用卡处理商向您收取费用并向您提供合规性支持。
  • 您的信用卡处理公司根本不向您收取任何费用,因为他们认为您不需要它。

所以,从某种意义上说,你必须完成自己的研究才能真正弄清楚闭门造车的情况。 处理器很有可能只是拿你的钱,但另一方面,许多处理器都有一种文化,只收取他们实际提供的支持。

您期望为传统PCI合规费支付什么费用?

您期望为传统PCI合规费支付什么费用?

再一次,这一切都取决于你的处理器,但我已经看到了每月和每年的费用 商人 账单。

根据我的经验,平均每年的费用约为150,但这可以达到每年$ 250的水平。 一般来说,我发现每月收费时收取的费用最高,因为分散付款更容易隐藏。

商家(您)在支付PCI合规费用时收到的回报是什么?

你收到什么作为回报

由于PCI合规性是一个新的,广泛而复杂的主题,因此信用卡处理器尝试在您身上偷一个快速的并不困难。 但是,如果您的处理器确实提供某种服务或产品以换取这些费用,它们通常采用以下形式:

合规教育

这是一个有趣的领域,因为这完全取决于您(商家)是否与信用卡处理器联系以获得有关PCI合规性的教育。 基本思想是教育商家日常保护持卡人数据的重要性。

这可能以博客,论坛,客户支持热线或甚至您可以下载和打印的指南的形式出现。 其中大部分是在处理器网站上免费提供的,但他们需要一种方法来维护基础设施以教育商家。

每月扫描和保险

其中大部分外包给第三方公司,第三方公司每月扫描您的网站,看看您是否合规,并了解如何提高安全性。 如果您的某些客户交易信息遭到入侵,您还可能会收到数据泄露保险。

不幸的是,这是处理器利用的灰色区域之一,因为大部分保险不一定能很好地弥补您的违规行为。 请务必联系您的处理器以了解保险条款。 如果它对您没有帮助,请找一个新的处理器。

总的来说,每月扫描和保险费用可以从每月$ 20到每年超过$ 100。

违规费用

这通常被比作警察发出醉酒驾驶票而不是将该人预订到监狱牢房中。

从理论上讲,违规费用是针对未正确保护客户财务信息的警察商家。 唯一的问题是处理器只是实施惩罚,而不是教育商人。

不合规费用的范围可以从每月$ 5到$ 30。 请记住,这是可以避免的费用,您应该能够联系您的信用卡处理商,了解如何在将来免除费用。 请记住,处理器很可能无法与您联系,教您上课。

如果您的声明中出现此类费用,请务必联系您的处理器。 总的来说,这是一个相当虚假的费用,但如果你采取行动可以删除。

主动PCI合规性支持

在PCI合规部门可能收取的所有费用中,这对您最有用,因为这意味着您的信用卡处理器正在积极地打电话给您并让您了解保持PCI所需的步骤兼容。

考虑一下您的信用卡处理公司给您打电话或通过电子邮件向您讨论PCI合规性的次数。 如果他们有,你的状态很好。 你的钱有用了。 但是,请记住,一些公司仍然对这些服务收费过高,或者他们只是坐下来不提供服务,因为他们知道你不会伸出援手。

你能完全摆脱PCI合规费用吗?

这个问题的答案是肯定的。 如果您认为没有为PCI合规性提供任何服务,请获得新的信用处理器。 如果您的网站不合规,请了解如何更改该网站。 如果您需要为每月扫描或保险付费,请要求处理者删除这些服务或检查它们以确定它们是否真的值得。

总体而言,PCI合规性仅仅是一些额外费用下滑的流行语; 然而,许多公司正在努力使您的在线商店更安全。 如果您对PCI合规费用有任何疑问,请在下面的评论部分告诉我们。

特色图片 保罗梅达

Catalin Zorzini

我是一名网页设计博客,在花了几周时间努力寻找出来之后开始了这个项目 最好的电子商务平台 为了我自己。 看看我的电流 顶级10电子商务网站建设者.

The Ultimate Guide to Dealing with PCI Compliance Fees

Depending on your online store’s credit card processor, you may get charged for something called a PCI Compliance Fee. When running an ecommerce store it’s essential to understand what PCI Compliance actually means and how it protects you and your customers from losing valuable transaction information.

I would recommend checking out the PCI Compliance Guide from the Security Standards Council to get the whole scoop, but for the sake of a quick definition, PCI Compliance basically means that your customer payment information is being processed over a secure network, so that no one can access that information if attempting to attack your online store.

PCI Security Standard

When you sign up with a credit card processor and payment gateway company, they are both required to follow PCI standards, and many of them even go above and beyond to provide additional PCI Compliance services and tools.

Regardless, if you receive a charge for a PCI Compliance fee it may get you wondering as to what that money is being used for. Is it just a scam by the credit card processors to pull more money out of you, or is the company actually offering legitimate PCI Compliance services to protect your store? Keep reading to find out.

PCI Compliance Fees Depend Completely on the Company Charging Them

There’s no clear answer to this question, except that some credit card processing companies are helping you out with the fee, while others are not.

In fact, your credit card processor most likely falls into one of these categories in terms of PCI Compliance Fees:

  • Your credit card processor is charging you a fee but not providing any support.
  • Your credit card processor is charging you a fee and providing you compliance support.
  • Your credit card processing company is not charging you any fee at all because they don’t think you need it.

So, in a sense, you must complete your own research to really figure out what is going on behind closed doors. There’s a good chance that the processor is simply taking your money, but on the other hand, many processors have a culture of only charging for support they actually offer.

What Can You Expect to Pay for a Traditional PCI Compliance Fee?

What can you expect to pay?

Once again, it all depends on your processor, but I’ve seen both monthly and yearly fees on merchant billing statements.

From my experience the average fee is around $150 per year, but this can go all the way up to something like $250 per year. In general, I’ve found that the highest fees come when you are charged on a monthly basis, because the spread-out payments are easier to hide.

Try-Shopify

What Does the Merchant (You) Receive in Return for Paying PCI Compliance Fees?

What do you receive in return

Since PCI Compliance is a new, broad and complex subject, it’s not that difficult for the credit card processors to try and sneak a fast one on you. However, if your processor is indeed providing some sort of service or product in return for those fees, they usually come in the following forms:

Compliance Education

This is an interesting area, since it all depends on whether or not you, the merchant, reach out to the credit card processor for education on PCI Compliance. The basic idea is to educate merchants on the importance of protecting cardholder data on a day to day basis.

This may come in the form of blogs, forums, customer support lines or even guides that you can download and print out. Most of this is offered for free on processor websites anyway, but they need a way to maintain the infrastructure to educate the merchant.

Monthly Scans and Insurance

Much of this is outsourced to third-party companies, where the third-party company scans your site on a monthly basis to see if you are compliant and to see how you can improve your security. You may also receive data breach insurance in case some of your customer transaction information is compromised.

Unfortunately, this is one of the gray areas that processors have taken advantage of, since much of the insurance will not necessarily cover you quite well for a breach. Make sure you contact your processor to understand the terms of the insurance. If it doesn’t really help you, find a new processor.

Overall, the monthly scans and insurance can cost you anywhere from $20 per month to over $100 per year.

Non-Compliance Fees

This is often compared to a police officer giving out a drunk driving ticket instead of booking the person into a jail cell for the night.

In theory, a non-compliance fee is meant to police merchants who are not properly securing customer financial information. The only problem is that the processors are simply implementing a punishment, instead of educating the merchants.

A non-compliance fee can range anywhere from $5 to $30 per month. Keep in mind that this is an avoidable fee, and you should be able to contact your credit card processor to understand how you can get rid of the fee in the future. Bear in mind that the processor will most likely not reach out to you to teach you the lesson.

Make sure you contact your processor if a fee like this pops up on your statement. Overall, it’s a rather bogus fee, but removable if you take action.

Proactive PCI Compliance Support

Out of all the fees that may come up for PCI Compliance, this is the most useful to you, since it means that your credit card processor is taking an active role in calling you and making you understand the steps you need to take to remain PCI Compliant.

Think about how many times your credit card processing company has called you or emailed you to discuss PCI Compliance. If they have, you’re in good shape. Your money is going somewhere useful. However, keep in mind that some companies still overcharge for these services, or they simply sit back and provide no services, because they know you won’t reach out.

Can You Rid Yourself Completely of PCI Compliance Fees?

The answer to this question is yes. If you don’t feel that any services are being provided for PCI Compliance, get a new credit processor that does. If your site is non-compliant, learn how to change that. If you’re being charged for monthly scans or insurance, ask the processor to remove those services or check into them to see if they are actually worth it.

Overall, PCI Compliance is just a buzzword for slipping in a few extra fees; however many companies are genuinely trying to make your online store more secure. If you have any questions about PCI Compliance fees, let us know in the comments section below.

Feature image curtsey of Paul Maeda

Catalin Zorzini

I'm a web design blogger and started this project after spending a few weeks struggling to find out which is the best ecommerce platform for myself. Check out my current top 10 ecommerce site builders.

1 Response

  1. My husband just noticed that for the past three months, $19.99 has been taken out of his checking acct. by something called PCI. He never authorized anyone that they could take this $. He contacted his bank and they gave him a new debit card and told him the $ would be reimbursed within 4- 10 business days. Can someone explain what PCI is and why they targeted my husband? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *