众筹和PreOrder平台:Celery vs Shopify vs Kickstarter vs Indiegogo

众筹已经在最近变得非常流行,允许企业家和小公司从普通人那里获得资金,用于他们的项目,如电影,智能冷却器,有趣的游戏等。 众筹通过要求人们为活动做出贡献来进行工作,然后他们就“投资”获得奖励。

这是发明家,创意人士和电子商务专业人士为他们的新产品赚钱的绝佳方式。 但您也可以选择预购平台,例如Celery,它会提前收取您的初始制造成本。 预购和众筹平台都非常相似,除了像Kickstarter这样的众筹系统要求您在收到任何资金之前达到某个里程碑。 相比之下,预订系统会在每个人提供资金后将资金存入您的银行账户。

更不用说,预订通常会向客户保证产品(因为他们正在购买产品),而众筹并不能确保捐赠者能够看到项目实现。

然而,由于预订和众筹系统都带来了初始资本,因此比较最佳平台是有用的。

因此,我们将看看以下选项,以确定哪些适合您:

接口(设置您的活动)

毫不奇怪,Kickstarter和Indiegogo都非常容易使用。

Celery具有出色的集成选项,配置众筹和预订系统是轻而易举的。 但是,您有额外的步骤与您当前的网站集成。

Shopify是我最喜欢的包,因为你必须包含一个额外的应用程序(并通过第三方网站配置所有内容) 预购经理 or 预订我,但因为它太容易了 毕业于一个成熟的网上商店 一旦你完成了预订阶段,我想在这里简单提一下。

众筹 - 购物

有明显的赢家吗?

Kickstarter和Indiegogo仅用于众筹工具,但Celery赢得了托管网站解决方案。

收费

  • 芹菜 - 每笔交易2%+信用卡费用。
  • Shopify - 信用卡费用+您选择的任何预购应用程序的费用(每月最高$ 20)
  • Kickstarter的 - 成功为活动提供资金后,您可以支付5%的收款。 信用卡费用通过亚马逊处理,通常在3-5%之间。
  • Indiegogo - 您支付整个系列的4%,但这只是在您达到目标时。 至于信用卡处理费用,如果您正在运行非美国广告系列,则需支付3%费用以及25电汇费。

有明显的赢家吗?

Celery赢了很长一段时间,但Indiegogo拥有一个可以营销的社区平台的费率最低。

成功率是多少?

这里有点棘手。 在谈论Celery和Shopify时,您通常会尝试销售预订单,这不需要您达到成功的目标。 因此,所有这些成功率在技术上都是100%。 如果你只设法预售五个或十个单位,你可能会称之为失败,但至少你没有破坏银行。

但话说回来,如果你未能与Kickstarter或Indiegogo达成目标,你就不会失去任何金钱。 主要区别在于,像Shopify或Celery这样的预订系统在营销方面对您没有太大帮助。 如果您希望客户向您订购,您必须完成这项工作。

但是,只需在Indiegogo或Kickstarter上发布您的广告系列意味着该社区中数百万人最终可能会偶然发现它(或者可能会向他们推荐)。

因此,我觉得如果你想要更高的成功率,显而易见的选择将是像Kickstarter或Indiegogo这样的众筹系统。

但是你的Kickstarter或Indiegogo活动有什么机会成功?

截至本文,118,236项目已经在Kickstarter上取得了成功,212,298失败了。 那是36%的成功率。 请记住,这是Kickstarter在其自己的网站上提供的信息。

Indiegogo没有公布其信息,但第三方消息来源称成功率仅在10%左右。 现在,Kickstarter的成功率取决于您所看到的来源,但大多数都表明您有更好的机会与Kickstarter一起投资。

值得一提的是,Indiegogo在“固定资金”活动中的成功率更高(约为15%),其中必须达到保持资金的目标。 “灵活融资”计划远没那么成功,可能是因为有些人认为这是不道德的(基本上公司或个人即使没有达到目标也可以保留所有资金。)

有明显的赢家吗?

Kickstarter比Indiegogo给你带来更大的成功机会,但是如果你使用的是Celery或Shopify,我假设你已经拥有了一个你可以信赖的追随者。

什么时候你会使用预购平台而不是众筹?

众筹需要花费大量的时间和精力来设计一个精美的页面,其中包含视频,图像,副本和所有其他营销材料,这些材料将说服用户做出贡献。 所有这些都需要时间和金钱。 有些公司已经拥有以下资源,他们拥有扎实的营销资源,或者他们已经知道客户会购买该产品。

在这种情况下,没有理由经历众筹的麻烦。 公司和个人设置了预购系统,并开始进行购买。这累积了制造所需的初始资本,并且经常将人们留在您自己的电子商务网站上。

您应该使用哪种众筹或预订系统?

如果你有兴趣向一个庞大的饥饿贡献者社区宣传你的想法,我将不得不与Kickstarter一起去。 Indiegogo的费用较低,但Kickstarter仍然是这个舞台上的王者。

但是,如果您试图避免这些高额费用,并且您可以完成自己的众筹或预购活动营销,那么Celery就是明智的选择。

如果您已经拥有Shopify网站,Shopify可以很好地运行,但您必须集成一个单独的应用程序才能使其正常工作。

如果您对选择哪个众筹或预订平台有任何疑问,请在评论中告知我们。

特色图片礼貌 DKNG

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont是一位自由撰稿人,他创造了工具和资源,帮助其他作家提高工作效率并推销他们的作品。

Crowdfunding and PreOrder Platforms: Tilt vs Celery vs Shopify vs Kickstarter vs Indiegogo

Crowdfunding has become extremely popular in the recent past, allowing entrepreneurs and smaller companies to gain funding from regular people for their projects such as movies, smart coolers, interesting games and more. Crowdfunding works by asking people to contribute to the campaigns, who then receive rewards for their “investments.”

It's a wonderful way for inventors, creative people and ecommerce professionals to get money for their new products. But you also have the option to go with a preorder platform such as Celery, which collects money in advance for your initial manufacturing costs. Both preorder and crowdfunding platforms are pretty similar, except crowdfunding systems like Kickstarter require you to reach a certain milestone before receiving any of your money. In contrast, a preorder system puts the money right in your bank account after each person contributes.

Not to mention, preordering generally guarantees the customer a product (since they're buying it,) whereas crowdfunding does not ensure that the donors will see the project come to fruition.

However, since preorder and crowdfunding systems both bring in initial capital, it's useful to compare the best platforms.

Therefore, we're going to take a look at the following options to decide which ones are right for you:

The Interfaces (Setting Up Your Campaign)

Not surprisingly, Kickstarter and Indiegogo are both extremely easy to use.

Tilt and Celery both have wonderful integration options, and configuring crowdfunding and preorder systems is a breeze. However, you have the extra step of integrating with your current website.

Shopify is my least favorite of the pack, since you must include an additional app (and configure everything through a third-party site) like Pre-order Manager or Preorder Me, but because it's so amazingly easy to graduate to a full-blown online shop once you're done with the pre-ordering phase, I want to briefly mention it here.

crowdfunding - shopify

Is there a clear winner?

Kickstarter and Indiegogo tie for solely crowdfunding tools, but Celery wins for the hosted website solution.

The Fees

  • Tilt – There's an Enterprise plan for 5% transaction fee, plus credit card processing. The Enterprise Plus plan has a 1% transaction fee + $100K setup fee. Oh yea, and you still have to pay the credit card fees.
  • Celery – 2% per transaction + credit card fees.
  • Shopify – Credit card fees + fees for whichever preorder app you choose (up to $20 per month)
  • Kickstarter – You can expect to pay 5% of your collection when you successfully fund your campaign. The credit card fees are processed through Amazon, and those are generally between 3-5%.
  • Indiegogo – You pay 4% of your entire collection, but that's only when you meet your goal. As for credit card processing fees, it has a 3% fee, along with a $25 wire fee if you're running a non-US campaign.

Is there a clear winner?

Celery wins by a long shot, but Indiegogo has the lowest rates for a platform with a community you can market to.

Try-Shopify

What are the Success Rates?

Here's where it gets a little tricky. When talking about Tilt, Celery and Shopify, you're typically trying to sell preorders, which don't require you to meet a goal for success. Therefore, the success rate is technically 100% for all of these. You might call it a failure if you only managed to presell five or ten units, but at least you didn't break the bank.

But then again, you're not losing any money if you fail to meet your goal with Kickstarter or Indiegogo either. The main difference is that a preorder system like Shopify or Celery doesn't do much for you in terms of marketing. You'll have to complete the legwork if you want customers to order from you.

However, simply posting your campaign on Indiegogo or Kickstarter means that the millions of folks in that community may eventually stumble upon it (or it might be recommended to them).

Therefore, I feel that if you're looking for a higher success rate, the obvious choice would be a crowdfunding system like Kickstarter or Indiegogo.

But what are the chances that your Kickstarter or Indiegogo campaign will be successful?

As of this article, 118,236 projects have found success with Kickstarter, with 212,298 failing. That's about a 36% success rate. Keep in mind that this is the information Kickstarter has on its own website.

Indiegogo doesn't release its information, but third-party sources state the success rate only comes in at around 10%. Now, the success rates for Kickstarter vary depending on the source you look at, but most all of them state that you have a better chance of funding with Kickstarter.

It's also worth mentioning that Indiegogo has a higher success rate (around 15%) with “fixed funding” campaigns, where a goal must be met to keep the funds. The “flexible funding” scheme is far less successful, and it's probably because some people see it as unethical (basically the company or individual can keep all the money even if they don't reach the goal.)

Is there a clear winner?

Kickstarter gives you a far better chance with success than Indiegogo, but if you're using Tilt, Celery or Shopify, I'm assuming you already have a following you can rely on.

When Would You Utilize a Preorder Platform Over Crowdfunding?

Crowdfunding takes lots of time and effort to devise a beautiful page with videos, images, copy and all of the other marketing materials that are going to convince users to contribute. All of this takes time and money. Some companies already have a following, they have solid marketing resources, or they already know that customers are going to buy the product.

In this situation, there's no reason to go through the hassle of crowdfunding. The companies and individuals setup the preorder system and the purchases start rolling in. This accumulates initial capital needed for manufacturing and often keeps people on your own ecommerce website.

Which Crowdfunding or Preorder System Should You Go With?

If you're interested in getting the word out about your idea to a huge community of hungry contributors, I would have to go with Kickstarter. Indiegogo has lower fees, but Kickstarter is still king in this arena.

However, if you're trying to avoid those high fees, and you can complete your own marketing for a crowdfunding or preorder campaign, Celery is the obvious choice.

Shopify works well if you already have a Shopify site, but you have to integrate a separate app to make this work right. Tilt has similar functionality as Celery, but the fees are much higher, making it easy to choose Celery.

If you have any questions about which crowdfunding or preorder platform to choose, let us know in the comments.

featured image courtesy of DKNG

Joe Warnimont

Joe Warnimont is a freelance writer who creates tools and resources to help other writers get more productive and market their work.

4 Responses

  1. If this is my first time selling products online, will Celery provide the website domain, landing page design, and scale up capability later on? If not, do I need to change then switch everything to Shopify or Squarespace later?

    1. Hi Helen,

      With Celery you can only create and customize a checkout page for pre-orders. It will support all major CMS and website builders so you can embed the code onto your website.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rating *